yes, ok agreed with u (on some points only!) that india has defects...well thatz why u all categoerize it as a developing nation don't u? and i am very sure that we all indians know where India is weak..so u don't have to rub it in ok? even tho it has defects and negative points..well tell me which country doesn't have that?? Each and every nation has some or the other things ppl don't approve of..but still everybody has to criticize India only! why? (sorry i am being rude, but this topic did make me angry.) well whatever ppl want to say i don't care..i jus want to say that EAST OR WEST INDIA IS THE BEST..!!!
Pls enlighten us by telling 10 good things you love about France. I am sure that with those ten things also you will not get a coutry like india and persons like Indians. Nobody on this earth can match the hospitality and warmth of Indians. We are very happy to live here with even 1000 more things you do not love about India.
I am not giving any justification here.... but the attitude is important. I think Indians have to learn & start respecting others. Money is not everything. Bad Attitude & Corruption is spoiling our country's reputation. Power cuts: there are many but its only due to stealing & wasting of much required electricity. Can you tell us when & how have you saved electricity? Always keep tv on stand-by, computers on stand-by, fridge is open half the time!!! Babus: are indeed corrupt n lots of unwanted bureaucracy & paperwork. Constitution of India was made in the 1950's but technology is not considered even after 56 years & changes are very difficult to implement in the Law system. People have a "dont care attitude" unless "it happens to them". Politicians: total waste show me 1 politician who is really good. Even a dog can be politician, if he's got links with the Indira Gandhi or Bal Thackeray families!!! We dont care about our rights & freedom, nor do we fight against anything wrong...."kiske baap ka jaata hai...." We need to grow, each & every person, currently only Indian Army is capable of ruling India. No wonder Brain drain is still on & puppets rule in Madam's reign!!!
As usual negative talks. Yes I am also accept that some problems are in our system but the way its described above was not appropriate. Currently I am living in UK, media here is strongly critising their systems failures..... So all we have own advantages and disadvantes.
And instead writing these types of articles, we should have articles such as 'I have done this good thing for better INIDA' so readers also tend to follow that....
I absolutely disagree with certain points mentioned above. Being an Indian born woman settled in France I have observed the same aspects as the author mentions. First of all, Indian Babus, for any foreigner who reads would have the impression that Indian Babus are some special sect working in Indian Government, in their own bull-headed way completely oblivious to rules, regulations and laws of the constitution. Bureaucracy has been a part, no one denies that but to think that Indian constitution has not been evolving at all since the antique bases of the British area is wrong.
Discrimination of White tourist: The first thing I admire about France is the efforts they take to preserve, present their heritage, their monuments and art. The attention they give to every little detail and make it an aesthetically pleasing thing from every aspect. I myself have remarked on many occasions that India should make more efforts in that direction. Maybe some places in India, they have actually asked a foreigner to pay more than an Indian tourist because they have to recuperate enough funds to maintain the monument and at the same time also make it accessible to the common man in India. Lets f
Please do not complain and find out bad points. We citizens are responsible for whatever happens. Each one of us can really do something instead of just sitting at home and saying 'I hate India'.
After three years in the developed world (US and Switzerland), me and my family (with two kids) are looking forward to go back to India. Claude has very rightly vented his frustration and i completely agree to his statements ...though i am not aware of the inaccessible historical literatures. What is becoming important is that that our country needs some good LEADERS ...so called politicians. Someone rightly mentioned ...we are collectively at fault. The problem is ...who will bell the cat. Each one of us is busy feeding our own family ...who has the time for the country. I am sure, if the like minded people like us ....even 5% start contributing to the development by any means ....imparting education, doing environment training within their community where they live, etc, will bring in some +ve changes in coming years.
Think about the huge starving population with no house, shelter and food. We have a lot to do and achieve.
Corrupt should be SEVERELY punished. May be, we need to re-define the meaning of democracy.
I am not sure where India is heading to ...but anyway we have decided to go back as i always remember 'Saare Jahan Se Achchha.. Hindustan Humaara'.