when you don't understand a good-looking crap call it sheer poetry. Watch a Hrishikesh mukherji film and try to figure out where the lights are kept. Problem with Indian film makers is that they make films for themselves. India needs films which represent our problems or society or sheer entertainment but people like SLB, YashRAj, RGV etc produce something which is completely out of context. RGV tries to make 'real' cinema but so much violence is not good for viewing. We need people like kukunoor, gowarikar who make 'real' cinema or people like vipul shah, farah khan etc who dont claim they are making film for artistic purposes. The idea is be honest in whatever you do. SLB and gang make dishonest cinema. Who cares where the lights are kept if you are bored to death or in Veer Zara SRK talks about a plane in jail which wasn't even bloody there the times he mentioned or singing 'aisa desh hai mera' with a girl on top of a bus will be considered a cheap indian act and surely a decent girl would actually slap the guy for his cheap 'harkat'.
RE:Assesment
by Narendra Tade on Nov 09, 2007 08:43 PM Permalink
I don't know about Sawariya or Om Shati Om but Hrishikesh Mukherji didn't make movies for pedestrian sensibilities....please accept my aplogies on his behalf.
by Anand YNI on Nov 10, 2007 06:47 AM Permalink
Dear Narendra,
This is what I also wanted to write. I support you wholeheartedly. No one has any business to comment about the great (est) Hrishida who gave movie after movie for the wholesome entertainment of the families and not the craps that are dished out these days in the name of movies
RE:RE:Assesment
by ravinandanprakash agrawal on Nov 09, 2007 09:16 PM Permalink
also Hrishikesh mukherji did make films where protagonists came from a modest background for example 'anari', 'biwi or makan', 'asli nakli' 'mem didi'. For those who came in he edited 'Coolie'.
by ravinandanprakash agrawal on Nov 09, 2007 09:10 PM Permalink
I dont believe in the concept of intelligent viewers, front benchers etc etc. If a film is good its liked by all. For example Golmal, chupke chupke anand. you will never find a rickshawalla who didnt like anand. Underestimating sensibility of other's is a crime. We all are sensible enuff to make out what's good and what's bad. another good example is david dhawan. all his initial works were liked by all and his current works are hated by all. my 70 years old dadi liked DDLJ becase it was a nice film. She has no clue where punjab or europe is. Sensibility is not a legacy of any class. we all walk the same road.
by Narendra Tade on Nov 09, 2007 11:13 PM Permalink
ha ha ha ha ha....I was talking about pedestrian sensibilities not pedestrians, a rickshaw puller is perfectly capable of having intellectual sensibilities....but I doubt whether every net user can rise above pedestrian interpretation.
by BHAGWAT SINGH on Nov 09, 2007 09:34 PM Permalink
Hello GAYS ravinandan& Jacob Well stevan spielbergs movies are Good ~ a few ones. But JAWS, ET, Minority Report are real time CRAPs. Jurrasic Park is OK but he always fancies animals keep on.......... hunting for Humans and that tooo very clever like u idiots who dont know anything but open ur S mouth and watch any foreign Psychos show they extraveganza...
by ravinandanprakash agrawal on Nov 09, 2007 10:19 PM Permalink
bhagwat bhai..soory for using harsh words. I apologise. kaam ki baat. aapne jin teen picturon ka naam liya apko malum hi hai wo teenon picturain kitni famous hain. Jaws actually changed the history of cinema. You or I can say that we didnt like it but the fact remains that it opened up a new world of cinema. There are things which may not be good but they have a big impact for example jahangir hasan was not a good musician but he was the first pakistani we indians accepted and hence.. apologies once again for my foolishness.
by ADITHI SHASTRY on Nov 09, 2007 09:44 PM Permalink
there are different genres in film making if u know. theres commercial cinema, art cinema, parallel cinema and so on. and u spoke about of yash ji, rgv, slb each of these have different sense of film making, and sanjay bansali or yash chopra or karan johar do not compell any of us to wacth their films, do they, the answer is no. its our choice whether we want to watch it or not. and hrishikesh again cannot be spoken with todays film makers. and i would like to ask u a question what is "real" cinema by the way? for kind information farah khan has made a movie that doesnt even touch the ground of reality 'main hu na' which is not reality. i do share ur concern but making statements such as "dishonest movie" is not done. lights, picturization music art direction all these are not things that u get in a packet in the super bazaar, they are concepts that visualised in different ways. u visualise one concept one way in a totally different manner somebody else does it.
RE:RE:Assesment
by ravinandanprakash agrawal on Nov 09, 2007 10:10 PM Permalink
you make a film on north east problem where the protagonist is an AIR reporter who dances on the top of a train. or with Veer zara where you are dealing with a problem like foreign jail birds and you end up showing them dancing. Its not sensible from any angle. Thats what I call dishonest. either you take up an issue and take it seriously or just make an om shanti om. My american freind after watching dilse said 'is this film about khajuraho'. thats what i call bad cinema.
by ravinandanprakash agrawal on Nov 09, 2007 10:08 PM Permalink
adithi..there are diffrent genres of cinema but they are not commercial, art etc etc. geners are sceince fiction, comedy, new wave, neo-realism etc etc. Films like arth, manthan were artistic and huge commercial hits which genre would you put them in? I would put 'Arth' in Drama and 'manthan' in neo-realism. when I said 'rea' i meant films in which the characters are real like for example sharukh in swades, satya in satya. I like RGV because he is good at it. for example the character of urmila is very real in 'rangila' when she is talking to her mom, brother and father and then all of a sudden she becomes a star during her dance performances or romantic scenes. Its very difficult but RGV can do that. I have problems with RGV because he has a taste for violence which is not good for the society. we dont need to see blood drops even if they are a reality. That way we are trivializing crime. I did not put farah khan in the category of 'real' cinema. she is good at larger-tahn-life drama and its fine as long as you dont call it art. I have problems with films like 'KANK' where you take up an issue like post marriage affair and trvialize it songs and fake endings. Either u take up a serious issue and deal ith seriousness or make an enteraining film. Same is with dil se. you make a film on north east problem where the protagonist is an AIR reporter who dances on the top of a train. or with Veer zara where you are dealing with a problem like foreign jail birds and you end up show
SLB lives in his own PERIL dream world...like the Science fiction Psycho "Stevan Spielberg"..if u remove the sets created by SLB... THE movie will be back to SLBs home within minutes. The movies so far SLB created all have either no stories or old stories.. ex the DEVDAS movie is nothing but "Old wine in new bottle". Hm...people why watching this type of story fiction is not understable...but SLBs exit will be very soon
RE:SLBs PERIL
by ravinandanprakash agrawal on Nov 09, 2007 08:09 PM Permalink
I know this guy has no sense. Comparing steven speilberg with SLB. Probably you should know that Speilberg is venerated as a genius by not only intellient film viewers but also by the film makers. Science fiction Pscho. hahaha. Stop watching films dude. you don't deserve this intelligent media of entertainment/information. By the way SLB was never a film maker so don't bother too much if he produced another crap.
RE:SLBs PERIL
by BHAGWAT SINGH on Nov 09, 2007 09:25 PM Permalink
Hello GAYS Well stevan spielbergs movies are Good ~ a few ones. But JAWS, ET, Minority Report are real time CRAPs. Jurrasic Park is OK but he always fancies animals keep on.......... hunting for Humans and that tooo very clever like u idiots who dont know anything but open ur S mouth and watch any foreign Psychos show they extraveganza...
RE:Sir Dard kar chala Gaya Saawariya
by AshKaAbhi on Nov 09, 2007 08:54 PM Permalink
Black was dark, and requires 2 sittings minimum to finish it (A BIG MELOOOOWDRAMA hullaballooo)
RE:Sir Dard kar chala Gaya Saawariya
by monalisa mohanty on Nov 09, 2007 09:30 PM Permalink
"wrost film that I have ever seen in my life.The complete movie is in sets with black and blue lights.So may call this movie as Black part2 also.You will feel asif the movie is shooted in Cherapunji as throughout the movie you can see its raining and raining and at the end snowfall.Still if you want to go and watch the movie please go there with a crosin tablet... Enjoy
How many of us understand poetry, classical music, ghazals, opera or a broadway musical! If anyone of you likes even a single of these and have the patience to watch a placid poetry in motion, then please do watch Saawariya. The movie is undoubtedly slow paced. But so was Raincoat, Dor and many other amazing movies which didn't get their due. Saawariya is sheer poetry in motion. "Sanjay Leela Bhansali" is a pure artist. When you are watching Saawariya look out for these aspects instead of the flaws and the pace of the movie. 1. Light effects 2. Sets 3. Cinematography 4. Acting - Ranbir and Sonam are newcomers. Still they did a pretty good job. Both look beautiful and the chemistry is really tender and innocent. 5. Screenplay. 6. Last, but obviously not the least - Direction.
I find it ridiculous to compare Om Shanti Om and Saawariya. OSO is a "masala-movie". In it's genre it's probably a great movie. I have not seen it, so can't comment upon it. Would be watching it next weekend.
All in all, watch Saawariya with a sensitive and romantic heart. Don't watch it for the "paisa-wasool" kind of cinema.
RE:Saawariya - Fantastic : My Rating 3.5*
by Aanchal Khanna on Nov 09, 2007 07:16 PM Permalink
u r soooo absolutely rite.dis movie is meant for those ppl only who can understand true love.
by sandeep on Nov 09, 2007 07:59 PM Permalink
AANCHAL: I understand true love, but true love do not understand me. SAMEER: Liked your deep understanding of SLB and assessment skills. But on top of all the deep assessment, we compare 2 movies based on the terminology "paisa basool". U r absolutely right that these 2 movies can not be compared but comparison can give liberty to a reader to decide which movie to watch based on his taste. am i right?
by Sameer Kulkarni on Nov 09, 2007 10:05 PM Permalink
In that case why not watch both movies. Why do we have to compare to things that do not relate at all. They are movies. Besides this commonality both movies do not have anything in common. Won't you watch "Matrix" and "King-Kong Lives" if they were released on the same day? At least I would. I watched Saawariya... Loved it...cause my perspective was different and less critical. Next weekend Om Shanti Om...
by sandeep on Nov 09, 2007 10:19 PM Permalink
I am not comparing these 2 movies. I am comparing which movie i enjoyed most. It is all depends on the indivisual taste and the situation in which an indivisual lies in at that perticular timeframe. I used to like patriotic movies but not any more. I like comedy and sensitive movies now may be in future something else. That is why i said knowing the reviews on a film can guide a person to decide according to his or her taste.
by Sameer Kulkarni on Nov 09, 2007 10:27 PM Permalink
We have a group of friends and relatives who are thorough movie buffs. When one of us watches a movie, we let all the others know via SMS. Our opinions are based on these reviews ONLY. None of us believe on reviews by any publisher. It works fantastically for us. May be you could try out this way with your close ones, if you are a movie buff like us.
by sandeep on Nov 10, 2007 12:13 AM Permalink
I know my likes and dislikes. I know what to see and specially what not to see. I am kinda person who can watch HAHK, Company, gangajal 20 times but can not watch Masti or other poorly crafted craps ones.
by ravinandanprakash agrawal on Nov 09, 2007 08:21 PM Permalink
when you don't understand a good-looking crap call it sheer poetry. Watch a Hrishikesh mukherji film and try to figure out where the lights are kept. Problem with Indian film makers is that they make films for themselves. India needs films which represent our problems or society but people like SLB, YashRAj, RGV etc produce something which is completely out of context. RGV tries to make 'real' cinema but so much violence is not good for viewing. We need people like kukunoor, gowarikar who make 'real' cinema or people like vipul shah, farah khan etc who dont claim they are making film for artistic purposes. The idea is be honest in whatever you do. SLB and gang make dishonest cinema. Who cares where the lights are kept if you are bored to death or in Veer Zara SRK talks about a plane in jail which wasn't even bloody there the times he mentioned or singing 'aisa desh hai mera' with a girl on top of a bus will be considered a cheap indian act and surely a decent girl would actually slap the guy for his cheap 'harkat'.
RE:RE:Saawariya - Fantastic : My Rating 3.5*
by Sameer Kulkarni on Nov 09, 2007 10:14 PM Permalink
Tell me something... and be honest in your reply... dint u watch Matrix, Sholay, Deewar, Shawshank Redemption ...and all the legendary movies of hollywood and bollywood? Did any of these movies resemble reality in any way! They are great movies and they have rocked the boxoffice. Cinema isn't always necessarily about realism. People watch movies to live 3 hours of "Dreams". Hrishikeshda is a legendary director. But he represents a technically backward era. In those days he created magic out of very little resources. SLB, Yashraj, SRK, weave dreams out of huge amounts of resources. So for once lets grow up and stop being critical just because someone elses opinions sounded more legitimate. We have a cerebrum and we can analyse for ourselves.
RE:RE:RE:Saawariya - Fantastic : My Rating 3.5*
by ravinandanprakash agrawal on Nov 09, 2007 11:56 PM Permalink
technically backward era..he he..hee heee.. goldy anand ka naam suna hai?? film institutes main padhaya jata hai uske framimg. Satyajit ray ka naam to shayad nahin malum hoga apko uske baare main bhi US main. SLB ke baare main kisee institute main koi baat nahin hoti..aise hi socha thoda gyan de doon apko agar picturon main thoda interest hai to..
by ravinandanprakash agrawal on Nov 09, 2007 11:52 PM Permalink
sameer.. you are taking me wrong. i dont mean film should only be real. I mean they should be honest. all the films you mentioned are great and honest. problem arises when you take up a real issue like north east problem in 'dilse', post marriage affair in KANK etc and make a crap. either dont touch real issues or address them proprly. adha adura latakne ka problem hai. vipul shah's films are entertaining and i have no problems with that same as farah khan because they dont claim they are making some artistic statement. people like SLB don't fall in any category. making silly refrences of Raj kapoor? you can ask the PM of India to grow up. bolne ke paise nahin lagte india main bhai lekin pahle socho kya defend kar rahe ho..
Have not seen the film. Almost have been feeling like the Aliens have attacked the country and taken over all fm channels and all tv channels ( and even the logos in some case) and painted everything blue. And with not a tinge of hint on what it is all about. Even if it means not watching favourites Neetu Singh,Rishi and Anils wards in action. navindutt
RE:where is the review of oso
by padmanabhan ashok on Nov 09, 2007 08:17 PM Permalink
Its all the media creating this hype.. oso is really an movie which can be rated one star...
But dont know how rediff has rated three stars.. Deepika is a good pick.. she is really Gorgeous ... otherwise.. not much...
RE:Saawariya....V/S OSO
by sandeep on Nov 09, 2007 08:58 PM Permalink
I think u r bachha who is trying to compare SRK to ranbir. Ofcourse he is bachha, this is his 1st movie. Remember how SRK used to look in his 1st movie.