Total 531 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Older >
Better movies out there?
by venkatesh babu on Apr 02, 2007 01:54 PM  Permalink 

Veyyil is a good movie no doubt.. I think 23rd pulikesi could have been a better choice. There is a good message conveyed to the people watching the movie and contrary to most of the movies who take a serious note for delivering social messates, this movie would have done it in a hilarious and light hearted way.

RE:RE:Tamil movies are worse than Mizo movies!
by Jithin Sankar on Apr 02, 2007 02:11 PM  Permalink
A bunch of loosers

Movies of substance
by Ethos K on Apr 02, 2007 01:48 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Why do you guys have a south-north divide for any topic that comes up on rediff...come on guys...get a life...at the end of the day its Indian cinema that is successful. Cannes is not going to be like its a Tamil movie, its Bhojpuri or Kashmiri...for them its all Indian.

Yes I do agree that Tamil movies (many of them) are way beyond realism...they are meant for the masses..who probably like a lil tittilliation or problem some fun...!! in the same way there are movies being made which have substance in them...i havent seen this particular movie called veyyil - but i am sure if it has to be selected for Cannes - then it wud have substance in it and please note that Cannes is jus one step below the Oscars...and the jury at Cannes are people from international movie, not like our critics or censor board...they know what realistic cinema is..

I am not trying to bring a divide here between North and South...please realise that in the history of national awards...other languages have won more awards than Hindi ones...There are more Bengalis and Mallus who have won national award than any other sect of people. This year's biggest money grosser of Hindi film - Guru - was made by a South Indian. Every movie of Priyadarshan which we all enjoy watching is copied from a Mallu movie...every movie he has made except Malamaal Weekly has been copied from Malayalam...why do Bollywood heroes/heorines do special appearances in S.Indian movies...Big B himself has acted in a Kannada movie..while on the topic of Big B let me also add that...he has made a special appearance in probably the biggest movie ever made in Indian history...called Shivaji which is Rajnikanth's latest and to be released sometime in the month or prolly the next...

Its a known fact that Malayalam films probably depict reality than any other film industry, thats becoz the Mal crowd wants realistic cinema. In the North, people watch movies to remove tensions and hence movies are bigger than life...each film industry caters to different segments of the society..learn to respect it...for every Tamil movie like Baba that is released there is a Pitahmagan...for every Hindi movie like Raja Babu that is released there is a Kabul Express...

Discussion forms need to be used with substance and not jus to above North and South...i know writing this is of no use..coz no one is going to change...because we expect politicians and GOD to do the change for us...we wont do anything ourselves..!!!

RE:Movies of substance
by shrinivas sharma on Apr 02, 2007 01:57 PM  Permalink
Ethos..good post but no use really..i guess people just enjoy abusing others over here as they can hide their real identities...shame, in place of good debate, we hurl abuses in fake identites and get virtual ecasty...

by hee hee on Apr 02, 2007 01:59 PM  Permalink
Hmm.. ppl like enjoy discouraging others

by Ethos K on Apr 02, 2007 02:01 PM  Permalink
i like the word VIRTUAL ECSTACY...!!!

by Muthuveeranan SivaAnanth on Apr 02, 2007 01:55 PM  Permalink
I totally agree with what Ethos has said "each film industry caters to different segments of the society.."LEARN TO RESPECT IT"...

Learn to respect is the one, few members lack here.

by lakshmi rajagopal on Apr 02, 2007 02:03 PM  Permalink
well said ethos..

even i always find ppl fighting over each other in every discussion forums.. either its between hindu-muslim or north-south..

try to appreciate what we have.. and stop pulling others legs.

by shrinivas sharma on Apr 02, 2007 02:08 PM  Permalink
yeha ethos... i did a spell error there..read it as ECSTASY... i give up now... i saw the same stuff happening in many boards.. it doesnt look healthy at all.. may be our folks are not matured to debate on this kind of open forum...:(

by Ethos K on Apr 02, 2007 02:16 PM  Permalink
shrinivas...we indians keep crying that we dont have freedom of speech in india...i have lived in the Gulf for about 16 yrs...these guys shud go there...and talk crap like this and one fine morning, they will find certain parts of their body missing...dont wish to name it here...we abuse and rape our freedom of speech in india and still kp complaining that there is no freedom...

by shrinivas sharma on Apr 02, 2007 02:28 PM  Permalink
i agree Ethos... i havent been to Gulf, but i have been to US and Europe.. you might know in US, they give award under "Worst" category.. like Worst movie...Worst Dress, Worst director etc etc.. people attend it and take the award as well.. that is the kind of spirit they have...so simple, they are ahaed if us...we waste most of our time in critising others, blamming politicians, abusing others and finding new way to avod tax...god bless this country!!!

by Ethos K on Apr 02, 2007 02:57 PM  Permalink
oh yes the worst awards...happen a nite before the oscars...u bet thats the spirit...here one jus wants to bring down the other...no hope only...!!

Veyil is a wonderful movie
by Muthuveeranan SivaAnanth on Apr 02, 2007 01:44 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

It can be called a classical film, which exactly depicts the people's life sytle in Tamil Nadu. Leaving the story apart, the way it was picturised ,it almost submerges your mind in the movie.
If you are an elder brother from a middle/lower class family, you can surely understand what they are trying to say. It's as simple as that.

This movie is very emotional, also it's violent.
But that's the way it works in Tamil Nadu.
No stupid heroics, only realism.

These days, Tamil movies are more realistic and quite appreciated by the people too.

RE:Veyil is a wonderful movie
by Dr.Susana on Apr 02, 2007 02:08 PM  Permalink
Girish Rao is a either a kannadiga or a telugu moron ! Who watched kannada movies,even kannadigas dont ! They so substandard fit to be played in streets ! So are telugu movies either is fully paraded rajamundry prostitutes or jokers from hyderabad with pan parag coloured dresses ! Bollywood and Kollwood are the next best production houses to hollwood in India, the world knows that Girisha !

by Kiran Vure on Apr 03, 2007 11:55 AM  Permalink
f**k what u about telugu movies and kollywood, if u dont know open ur ass

by hee hee on Apr 02, 2007 02:11 PM  Permalink
Susana..u being a doctor..should cure patients .. U on message board is funny..Go do ur work ..U left patients to die and came running to message?

by arun sr on Apr 02, 2007 02:18 PM  Permalink
Dr susana is a doctor, nice analogy, then what is hee hee Stands for??? he he heeeeeee

by shrinivas sharma on Apr 02, 2007 02:19 PM  Permalink
your names says you are a doctor..and you post this? sad...just based on the sair name "Rao" your abused millions of Kannadigas and Teulugu people.. what did you get?? nothing rite?? c'on yaar...someone has to mature first...why cant that be you??? and FYR - I am an Indian first and then i say i belong to Karnataka...

by Jithin Sankar on Apr 02, 2007 02:09 PM  Permalink
:) ^^^ what a big time tosser twat^^^ 8|

by sandeep on Apr 02, 2007 01:58 PM  Permalink
yes..Only by Tamilians, such great movies can be created..Not by cowards like in your state who only goes for remakes.

RE:RE:Veyil is a wonderful movie
by hee hee on Apr 02, 2007 02:01 PM  Permalink
he ehe...u know which state i m in boss? Why u do open ur big mouth when u hav zero facts..Accept the truth

by arun sr on Apr 02, 2007 02:16 PM  Permalink
he hee is not even daring to reveal her[might be His as well] identity, so no matter in trying to know the State, But from the posts s/he made, we can easliy identitify the cowardice charector with in. :) No hurt feelings please!

by Dr.Susana on Apr 02, 2007 02:14 PM  Permalink
Girish Rao is a either a kannadiga or a telugu moron ! Who watched kannada movies,even kannadigas dont ! They so substandard fit to be played in streets ! So are telugu movies either is fully paraded rajamundry prostitutes or jokers from hyderabad with pan parag coloured dresses ! Bollywood and Kollwood are the next best production houses to hollwood in India, the world knows that Girisha !

Veyil
by sakthi kumar on Apr 02, 2007 01:43 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

and one more thing . 'Veyil' is a very low budget film...we have to cheer for its selection in cannes. Hats-off to Vasantha Balan!

RE:Veyil
by Muthuveeranan SivaAnanth on Apr 02, 2007 01:45 PM  Permalink
when you even don't have the courage to show your name, I reckon you are a clown

Veyil
by sakthi kumar on Apr 02, 2007 01:39 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Veyil is a class movie. though there are some crap Tamil movies , there is always good movies coming out Kadhal , Veyil , Paruthiveeran , Poi are recent movies of substance . Pls dont criticise something of which u dont know.

by hee hee on Apr 02, 2007 01:41 PM  Permalink
Wats new in Veyil?

by sakthi kumar on Apr 02, 2007 01:46 PM  Permalink
Very simple low budget, not really any message...yet touching movie. A film of human emotions.

by hee hee on Apr 02, 2007 01:51 PM  Permalink
ok even hindi, telugu, kannada and others hav hell of low budget movies. I know no tamil movie can ever send a good message. Wats touching? Human emotions? So tat means u dont watch serials..Even they are emotional dude.

by Srividhya on Apr 02, 2007 02:17 PM  Permalink
Don't murmur

by Siva Kumar on Apr 02, 2007 02:06 PM  Permalink
This reply shows how biased you are. I am a South Indian living in North. I have seen both forms of movies. The Movie Industry is always driven by the mass acceptance. Most movies which do nt have a box office are in general have good substance. This is a generalised statement and may let be. To name some good Movies in recent times in Hindi... (Only which I have seen) 1971, Kabul Express, Anwar, Nishabd, Black, Risk, Guru, Dor.

Similarly there are equal amount of Tamil Movies which had come out. Some have been already listed in one of the posts.

There is no point in criticizing with just watching some movies.

And its not perceptions which should be discussed but ground realities.

Regards
Shiva

by hee hee on Apr 02, 2007 02:08 PM  Permalink
I m a southiee living in north dude. SO wat?

Kill the Oxygen supply
by Appu Shaji on Apr 02, 2007 01:38 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

People being over-passionate over something is quite a natural process (be it cricket or be it movie: the two things people in our country are so passionate about). But before you add into the every increasing few bytes that will abundantly flow around in www, be a bit more responsible. A film (one of the complex of art forms) is a culmination of lots of thought and perception of beauty which has originated from varied sources and parts of the world. So let's not try to discover the non-existing segregations in them and give un-due (infact rather dangerous) communal aspects over it. I have only but extreme pity (and contempt) if people still wants to carve out grotesque feelings out of this.

It is common knowledge that for fire to sustain you need constant supply of oxygen. So let's not provide the trolls with ever necessary oxygen by counter reacting to them. They are pretty harmless and in popular language: "big time losers". That is why they are barking out here, at the first place.

RE:Kill the Oxygen supply
by rajeev nair on Apr 02, 2007 01:52 PM  Permalink
Well Shaji, did you by any chance just saw a movie of Aravindan, Adoor , Shaji Karun , TV Chandran, Karnad or anyone of that kind.. You sound like one of their characters (lol) .

RE:RE:Kill the Oxygen supply
by Appu Shaji on Apr 02, 2007 02:58 PM  Permalink
Yes. I indeed had the privilege of watching some of the movies made by the people mentioned in your post :-).

substance
by Ethos K on Apr 02, 2007 01:36 PM  Permalink 

jj

RE:How come humans watch tamil movies?
by ramesh on Apr 02, 2007 01:37 PM  Permalink
hee hee
sale, hasne ke liye mu hoga magar danth nahi hoga.Hahahahahaha

RE:How come humans watch tamil movies?
by Arvind Padmanabhan on Apr 02, 2007 01:36 PM  Permalink
Idiot... dont continue posting nonsense stuff.. what knowledge you have of Tamil movies? First learn and then comment.

Moderators... Cant you pls stop this crap guy from posting such idiot stuff????

RE:RE:How come humans watch tamil movies?
by laxmikant godbole on Apr 02, 2007 01:41 PM  Permalink
dare you again say a word
i will chop of your organ and stuff that into your mouth

RE:Crappy stuff alias tamil movies
by thiaga rajan on Apr 02, 2007 01:41 PM  Permalink
Dear friend

i would like to know you have seen the movies,if you have seen this movie you might have not spoken like that.another thing which language movie not making masala movies.even englidh movies are all making crap but sametime they produce good movies.so first simply dont talk out of your mind.first learn & study anything before you comment.

by vimal on Apr 02, 2007 01:40 PM  Permalink
It shows how ignorant you are?I don't know which part of India you are from but defenitely you should be a nut to comment on tamil movie and cannes

by ramesh on Apr 02, 2007 01:38 PM  Permalink
hee hee
sale, hasne ke liye mu hoga magar danth nahi hoga.Hahahahahaha

Total 531 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Older >