The car was launched as a one lakh car.. a car affordable to all .. But does the country need a car like this .. especially when the Road cover is just 6 % in average cities and pollution mounting.. The middle class can afford it but our lungs can't and the nation can't. Ratan Tata should forget this project and concentrate for improving the environment of the country .. perhaps he can build elevated cycling tracks etc .. I love the Tata Group for their contribution to nation building but I expect more and more from them. Sandip
Re: Does the country need a Nano
by vijay gophane on Sep 03, 2008 02:05 PM Permalink
Dear Sandip. I understand your concern.Definately,with introduction of NANO car, no of car over the road will shoot up and we do not have enough infrastructure.All of us know that every human being born with some dream and every body expect in a certain living standard. There are millions of middle class who really wish for car but cant coz of high price.TATA want to make middle call drean of car in reality.what will happen if people live short life becoz pollution created by car.Nothing.As told for millions it is dream to have car and there no other bad thing than killing our dream and feelings.Regarding infrastucture GOV has to think not TATA.Every thing have certain advantage and disadvantage.
by Swashbuckler on Sep 03, 2008 12:33 PM Permalink
status conscious people in cities won't buy it.Its for people in small towns and semi-rural areas.
by sujitkumar das on Sep 03, 2008 12:36 PM Permalink
No social contribution of TATA in Jharkhand. Pls come and see except Jamshedpur. even in jamshedpur no super speciality Hospital
by Swashbuckler on Sep 03, 2008 12:38 PM Permalink
There is one in telco colony.Great hospital.moreoverover they give free medical service for retitired employees of Tisco.
by Das on Sep 03, 2008 12:41 PM Permalink
How much job did they created for you ? Do u have any count on that. Its not only Jamshedpur. Indirectly they have given much more than what you see. TCS -- How much revenue did they gave to our country...
by amit sharma on Sep 03, 2008 12:42 PM Permalink
then what do you want......Tata should bulid another hospital for u......my dear u are paying the Tax to Govt. & not to TATA & i.e why u should ask this qustion to Govt
where is she taking calcutta, already the state is in poverty, and what kind of employment she is assuring to her people. if she come into power . God know what she will be doing with all the remaining industries in her state .
Re: where does mamta wants calcutta to be ?
by Praveen Menon on Sep 03, 2008 12:36 PM Permalink
If somebody come to your home and asked to vacat for factory what you will do. Think on the sides of these farmers. For each and every problem Industries is not a solution. Suppose if all land are converting for Factory, what you eat, spare parts of car ? Why govt not relocating these poors ? Why they silent on these issues ?
Re: where does mamta wants calcutta to be ?
by Swashbuckler on Sep 03, 2008 12:31 PM Permalink
cal can only give her lok sabha seat.She want's the farmers' votes to become bengal CM
Re: Re: where does mamta wants calcutta to be ?
by Indeeyan on Sep 03, 2008 12:45 PM Permalink
Mamta may not have got her money (commission) from the Tata..hence she creats problem for them using poor farmers.
Tata Plant may be shifted to Phaltan in Satara district of Maharashtra. recently Tata Cummins have started work on a plat there. This area of Maharashtra is drought prone and any big industry initiative would be welcome with open arms. I call upon all those from Satara to support this request and send mails to Mr. ratan tata to initiate discussions with Maharashtra Government for land near Phaltan.
Mamta needs psychiatric treatment. She's loosing it badly. Tata is the best thing that could have happened to WB. Tata has done tremendous Social work and helped millions of poor Indians. See their track record. She could have bargained for good benefits for the poor instead of this confrontationist attitude. May God help WB
Re: Send Mamta to a psychiatrist
by bobby on Sep 03, 2008 12:29 PM Permalink
One fails to understand why people are blaming mamta banerjee & her party for exit of tatas from singur.When she was on indefinate strike Buddhadeb gave her assurance of talking & than she broke the jinx of her fast,when initailly being asked by buddhadeb babu why before making any commitment to tata he did not consulted oppostion or gained their confidence his reply was'WE ARE 235 THEY ARE 30'.This man's (buddhadeb) over confidence,self ego had brought bengal in black listed state for industrial development not mamta alone.
by santosh datta on Sep 03, 2008 12:35 PM Permalink
She went on record saying she will never meet the Chief Minister. She even insulted Nirupam Sen (Oi faltu lokta!), who is at least 10 times more learned than she is.. What can you do with such narcissist megalomaniac? Bobby, please get your facts right.
by Samish Guha on Sep 03, 2008 01:11 PM Permalink
She can only blindly oppose. She is very emotional and short sighted.
by ravindra kp on Sep 03, 2008 12:32 PM Permalink
send both mamta & Commies to Psychiatrist with recommendation to Mental Asylum
by Das on Sep 03, 2008 12:31 PM Permalink
Send all the protester along with Mamatha to Maharastra. So that Thackery can kick all Bengali staying in MH. Again the WB people need leave their home ground due to some bad political scene. Commpn People please try to understand that you are the Looser not the A%% Mamatha.
by lalit kedia on Sep 03, 2008 12:41 PM Permalink
sir, it is not only mamta, she repeated what GUru dasgupta, M K Pandhey, Mr abani Roy etc were doing to bengal since 1970. finally Bengalis need to decide whether by voting for these parties for three decades , what have they got in return. A state which was proud of its intellectual people like Raja Rammohan, vidyasagar,Bankim chandra,rabindranath has degraded to a third grade state who do not care for well being of their state subject. it is time that a new political group takes over bengal and put all these criminal politician behind bar.
May the people of WB gather & beat the shit out of mamta, at least that will be a lesson for all these kind of shit politicians who encash on poor people & keep them in darkness for ever. Alongwith mamta, beat the shit out of of all those so called progesive NGOs & artists, who were indulged in all sorts of nautanki for last few days.
Re: teach her a lesson
by Tamal Basu on Sep 03, 2008 12:28 PM Permalink
Mamata is simply looking at that so that at the cost of few deadbodies, she may continue her agitation till next election. Long live Mamata.
Re: West Bengal; the next Bihar
by ajit pandey on Sep 03, 2008 12:38 PM Permalink
I guess,Bihar is lot better to WB afterall you elect ppl like Mamta and throw all the industry out of WB ,political murders are on rise ,crime is at its peak ,Bihar is ten times better than WB now.
Re: They shud
by Bhupendra Singh on Sep 03, 2008 12:25 PM Permalink
no way their are enough car makers and cars in India. Hope U are aware of Traffic situations in Mumbai and delhi.
Re: They shud
by Young DB on Sep 03, 2008 12:40 PM Permalink
i agree with that.. if General Motors can choose to built all its brands available to india at North Gujarat without a problem, TATA's can do the same smoothly.. forget WB.. its a complete waste of TATA's money and time.
CPI took money from TATA's and handed over CULTIVABLE land.. when farmers protested CPI men raped their females to demoralise the farmers..
It was a dumb move from TATA group to take land at such a location.. there is enough uncultivable land in India.. also the current SEZ scene in India is very bad all cultivable land is handed over to SEZ developers at peanut prices at the cost of cultivable land..
What will happen to India if the entire country is turned into a big manufacturing unit.. the food crisis would be colossal.
AT THE CURRENT SCENARIO THE GOVT. SHUD ENSURE FOODGRAIN GROWTH to counter attack the inflation....
The curse of the victimised farmers has hit the NANO plant saying NA NO!!
Im sure the CURSE would carry on to the people who buy NANO.
Re: tit for tat!!
by Das on Sep 03, 2008 12:37 PM Permalink
Good Protest !!! But why dont you protest conversion of land for investment purpose... EX : Builder Convert all the Farming Land to Residential and sell to Common man. People never build any house there; those are just for investment. You loose the Farm land but with out a resident there. These again leads to decreasing the farming land. Now tell me why Mamatha is still quite in this issue. If TATA could have made this plant, at lease 5000 people could have save their family...
by sujitkumar das on Sep 03, 2008 12:26 PM Permalink
really. I all must protest against SEZ. SEZ devaste our agriculture land, culture even society.
by Nishant on Sep 03, 2008 12:31 PM Permalink
"Im sure the CURSE would carry on to the people who buy NANO":Awesome!! "CURSE" will also follow anyone who reads the above message or forwards the above message to 10 or more people ;)