I believe the work pressure and work culture in IT in India is better than any other jobs....This is just my wild guess since I live in Australia and Here there is no work pressure or bossism. Everyone is treated in all jobs and they hardly sack people.
RE:Indian work pressure
by Bhajiya on May 01, 2008 12:31 PM Permalink
I worked in Africa and now in Middle East similar case with me nowork pressure no bossing good pay and only 8 hours work and five days week only working strictly followed plus all holidays and weekends are compulsory not even annual holidays are also compulsory no encashments allowed. THis is much better life compare to Indian Companies offered in India.
RE:RE:Indian work pressure
by Bhajiya on May 01, 2008 12:34 PM Permalink
I want to explain how work enviornmen in india is diferent from the other countries of the world. How easy to exploit Indians and how difficult is here in outside India to exploit people because government and corporate obeys laws.
by Gomtesh on May 01, 2008 12:25 PM Permalink
here in india we must learn to respective small labour jobs. the work of a sweeper is also as important as work of a banker or engineer.
by timepass on May 01, 2008 12:28 PM Permalink
The issue is not about disrespecting smaller jobs. The issue is about mapping right jobs to right profiles. I dont know abt Australia but nowhere in the world would an engineer be asked to play the role of a sweeper. We need not follow anyone, just excercise some common sense.
We should not be wreckless in our industrial pursuits and neglect or wipe out agriculture. It is a dangerous trend and we must realize agriculture supports more than 60% of our country even now. While urbanization and industrial growth is important, it should be carefully planned to not hurt agriculture. Also, priorities for our nation should be - 1. Population Control 2. Spread education 3. Maintain self sufficiency in food 4. Infrastructure development, more subways and rail road dev 5. Environment and pollution control. Rate at which cars are increasing, we will all soon die of lung cancer, inspite of the lakhs in the bank.
RE:Agriculture is more important than industry
by lonely_planet on May 01, 2008 12:26 PM Permalink
dude..It is really painful for being agriculture graduate in India..How many people know that there is branch called agriculture engineering in india ??.. This course is taught in IIT Kharagpur..where people burn there asses for software jobs..because really very few core companies turns up there...and pay less than 20k p.m.
by tathya on May 01, 2008 12:49 PM Permalink
And AP govt is planning to start IIT with agricultural engineering as speacilisation(after so many controversies regarding locations,land aquisations etc)..So much for our planners,politicians etc..Less written better...Time waste....
by timepass on May 01, 2008 12:34 PM Permalink
It is a sad reality and honestly we cannot blame engineers moving to IT for double salary. The only solution I can think of is scale up our engineer production as well as maintain quality. We still need people to go through strict entrance exams to qualify for engg seats, but we can increase the number of seats and ranks so enuf skilled labor is produced.
yeah...guys....MBA is worth only when u do it from a top college...MBA from poor of average college will not take u anywhere....I m BE and working in a decent company.... MBA from average college is not worth.....
RE:MBA from a top college
by Bhajiya on May 01, 2008 12:42 PM Permalink
Babu Bhai, MBA or any qualification has no problem unless and until your mind is sound and healthy to imbibe education and deliever. There is nothing like average or good schools or Universities. Your Big B Schools or IIT and IIM has never ever produced any Nobel Prize Lauriates or aScholers or ieven nominee for Nobel Prize forget of winning Nobel price. All these IIT,IIM and Big B Schools are farce and Joke of modern Indian education system thsy delievered nothing to the society or humanity in thier last 60 years existance. It not education system or Institution but a student who is product not institution.
HI ALL WHAT ARE WE DOING I DONT BELIEVE IN REDIFF GIVING THIS NEWS AS IT THINK THIS IS ALL FAKE AND THEY ARE MAKING US FIGHT ON THIS FORUM AND SAY BAD ABOUT OUR ORGANISATIONS WHO HAVE GIVEN US AN OPPORTUNITY NO MATTER HOW BAD THEY MIGHT HAVE TREATED US BUT ATT HE END OF THE DAY THEY GIVE US OUR BREAD. I ONT UNDERSTAND WHAT REDIFF GAINS BY CAUSING THIS THEY HAVE NOT GIVNE ANY KIND OF INFORMATION ABOUT THE INCIDENT.
RE:INDUSTRY versus AGRICULTURE
by Gomtesh on May 01, 2008 12:28 PM Permalink
you are absolutely right. in the name of industrialisation land sharks are grabing the large land chunks.
RE:RE:INDUSTRY versus AGRICULTURE
by Manu j on May 01, 2008 12:42 PM Permalink
You certainly use a tractor, TV, Radio and of course a computer to write your message, don't you?
RE:INDUSTRY versus AGRICULTURE
by Manu on May 01, 2008 10:17 PM Permalink
Depending just on agri land was what people a few hundred years ago. You want to go back and the difficulties that people face, try for a year to use just the agri land and nothing else.
See how much problem you will face. Agri is important and sustains food for life, but the advances in science and technology have made the world easier and smaller. Science has contributed enough back to agri.
You don't have to think of always eating including NUTS AND BOLTS.
Today everyone is running after post Gradtuation like MBA.Therfore company gets higher qualified candidates for job.Moreover this candidates take up the job because there is no alternative to it. Recently few months back one bank ccall the candidates from Bsc to Eng to MBA at Bandra Krla Complex and there was mad rush of candidates for walk in interwiew. Otherwise this Enge,MBA how they accept the job/ Are they not checking what work are they going to do? But they accept for experience thinking they will get better opening. Today in IT sector candidates from otherfaculties are also taken other than computer. This is the situation in Shining India today.
RE:Dark side of the jobs boom in India
by Prasad Potdar on May 01, 2008 12:18 PM Permalink
till recent time en enggr usde to get at the most 10-15 k as starting pay now any TDH wants at least 20-25k start are the companies mad to pay u without making u work? simple man.... if u want 20 k company shoule earn at least 2-5 lakh from u!
RE:Dark side of the jobs boom in India
by Bhajiya on May 01, 2008 12:28 PM Permalink
Potdar Bhai, IIT and IIM grads paid 13 lacs per month package by Bunugululuru MNC COmpany this year his name id Vujay Gupta from KOLKATA. He was offered 13 lacs do you believe without experience and delievery of goods howz that? Is India gone mad or become Fad?
The emphasis on young MBA's and graduates in various disciplines in our industry today is a sure shot recipe for disaster in the near future as the highly experienced senior executives are not being consisdered for employment by corporates even when they meet all employment criteria. This will result in a speedy demise of our Industry and economy in the short term. Industry captains, please make a note of this seriously flawed trend and take corrective action immediately, before any more damage is done.No College degree can substitute years of hard work and experience that senior executives possess. Sanjiv Madane
RE:Even more darker side of India's job boom:
by Bhajiya on May 01, 2008 12:24 PM Permalink
Madne Sabeb, Today in India executive or Professionals over 45 plus are garbage. On the other hand youth are abondoned to exploit who will pay these 45 years plus experienced people in indian corporates because no one is genious like aristotal or pluto or socretis
Expolitation will happen if there is nothing to control or regulate employers. US has a labor department which sets the minimum wages to be paid and also wages as per qualification, experience and knowledge. They also have guidelines on number or hours of work and many companies and bound to pay workers overtime. Unless Govt impose such regulations, exploitation will continue.
On the other side, it is important to fix the system to roll out smarter graduates, better soft skills and improve productivity and efficiency and let ppl enjoy life after work. I think people are far more efficient when set free than with strict controls. Planning properly and reducing waste or redundant work can reduce work times by at least 30-40% today. My biggest wonder is what are the teaching at the much touted IIMs today?? Why employee dissatisfaction is so high inspite of high salaries??
The problem is people have a rosy picture when they join college for a professional degree. They feel after completing graduation/post graduation they would sit in an air conditioned cabin with moolah flowing into their bank accounts and when these notions of security and a relaxed life gets busted they crib.The second problem is that out here we don't encourage kids to work till they finish college, in developed nations kids start working since 10 , it could be delivering papers/manning a grocery store till and by the time they do a proper job their outlook towards money and dignity of labour changes. We keep children protected for a long time thats the major issue.If an individual travels to office at 8 reaches there at 10 and leaves at 6 again taking 2 hours of commuting he would say that I worked for 12 hours.This running around for job security is the major problem we are a complacent lot and unless we don't change our outlook we would be a nation of cribbers.
RE:Job security a myth
by E P on May 01, 2008 12:34 PM Permalink
Sweety, I don't work. Im an entrepreneur. I have around 15 direct employees and I haven't touched 30.My company has got a decent turnover which is more than enough for me.My plan is invest my earnings now to stop working by 45-50.Wake up dear and don't crib is my advise to the people in the article.Join a company with the intention to learn first, looking for comfort after getting out of college wont take you anywhere.Slog it out initially then you don't have to slog in the last overs.Well thats my way of life I don't want to be a liability when I'm old and im working towards it.
RE:Job security a myth
by E P on May 01, 2008 12:19 PM Permalink
I know I have a long way to go but its definitely up whereas a frustrated soul like you wont go anywhere :-D You are one of the many soldiers in the army of cribbers.
Smitha's in this case need not pay any money to break her bond before the 'defined' period. Employment is not 'bonded' in India and she can just leave her job. 'Employment bonds' are no good in the 'court of law' and Smitha can seek employment with other employers by just using her proofs of employment like payslips, job offer letter, if her current employer refuses to relieve her or issue her a salary certificate.
Bonds will only hold good if the employer had spent a substantial amount on the training of the employee (not on-the job).
RE:Employment is not bonded!
by Bhajiya on May 01, 2008 12:21 PM Permalink
You are genious! this is correct answer. THe bond has no validity in any court of law and she can sue the employer for recovery of her overtime paid and wrong practiced recoveries for non performance without proper reasonings