Maximum Indians have full faith is Tata products and quite rightly Tatas have always delivered as promised. Many of us will certainly agree that we change salt of Rs. 9.00 at our shopkeeper if he gives salt othere then TATA ka NAMAK. Long back in my village people used TATA KA OK DHULAI KA SABUN...They used it for washing clothes, used it as alternate to shampoo, used as bath soap (3 in 1) with belief that TATA ka OK will never harm. It never harmed any one. So we are proud that TATA is an Indian company with quality products and a global business house. Coming to TATA NANO, in press conference at launch in Autoexpo Mr. ratan Tata answered all querries. Whole world (especially US & Europe) is no more concerned about TATA quality, environment etc. etc. They are discussing Indian engineering power and future impact of Indian growth on world economy etc. Strangely some of our own contrymen doubt themselves and TATAs. They must open eyes and feel pride on something an Indian had given to world......
Long years back a dedicated pharmacist created El Nano like effect in the world of medicine. His name is Dr.K Anji Reddy of Dr.Reddy's labs. launching the basic antibiotic CIPROFLOXACIN at half the cost to that of MNC. Ditto process was implemented for Ibuprofen, which was later exported to Boots in Germany who were themselves leading producres of the same. However, I think now expansion has taken front seat and delivery to people back seat. Simillar magic was created by Handa brothers in Ahmedabad by launching Core Parenterals. Core reached levels of thrid largest IV makers in world , largest in India ( International Products sold at half the price ). Here internal squabbings and ego took front seat. Tata is a generation of its own. Others are not worth his shadow.
The author probably has never ventured outside a Boutique or a designer store to purchase a shirt. It is amazing that he has never heard of Rs.100 shirts being available across the country for the masses. Such people should remain confined in their Caviar and champagne air conditioned rooms and not venture out with their views in public especially when there is a high disconnect with reality in their examples being used.
RE:Sitting on a High Horse
by venu gopal on Jan 31, 2008 10:30 AM Permalink
not exactly bhai. author suggesting to go create global recognition with low pricing aur good enough quality. can we export that 100/- shirt to anywhere kya? lekin we can export Nano na. kya bolte hai aap. tho woh point hai author ka
by PINAKI BHATTACHARYYA on Jan 31, 2008 11:10 AM Permalink
I agree what "luvonlyme" has retorted. He is absoulutelt right. The author not only is ignorant about waht is happening around him in this country, I feel he is a person residing in some other country and writing for rediff. He should know that the cottonwears available in Fashion Street in Mumbai are also quality products but quite cheap.
by Arnab Bandhu Guha on Jan 31, 2008 10:42 AM Permalink
Dear Venu, Appreciate your thoughts. For one, yes, we definitely can make and export Rs. 100 shirts. Simply stop paying the actors like shahrukh astronomical figures for 10 sec spots in the tv and channelise the money in both enhancing quality and distribution network. Take a walk around Fashion Street Mumbai, Lajpat Nagar New Delhi etc and you will come across some of these stuff which are definitely wearable by the masses which is exactly for whom the Nano has been made. I am sure a person who can afford a Audi A8 will not buy a Nano similarly as a person buying a Dior will not buy the Rs.100 shirt. Cheers!!!
This absolute nonsense. While this "achievement" is commendable, the impact of this is yet to be seen. And I seriously doubt whether it's going to be a success. First of all the price of raw material is going to increase and tata assures 20kmpl which is almost same as a maruti alto or 800. If stretch a bit even a santro (without ac) will give 16 kmpl. What matters is the running cost not the price of the car
RE:NO NO
by jayakrishnan on Jan 31, 2008 10:36 AM Permalink
If a white man would have come out with such a car people like you would have bent over backwards to praise them
With a positive frame of mind and "Yes! we can do it" determination, definitely it is possible. It is absolutely important that atleast We Indians should not be critical and finding loop holes with apprehensions and fear of competitions.
road clearance is too small for nano car.wheels too are small.our roads are full of pot holes.look towards the mumbai roads.our pwd deptt. shall develo roads and maintain them free of potholes.this is not a difficult job.perfect drainage and dense mix carpets are the right answer.minister shall hold the chief engineer of the state responsible for the poor quality of roads.wide spread correction in pwd shall be checked.involve private sector for yearly maintenance contract.