Total 357 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Agree with the Author
by Ramasubramaniam Iyer on Jan 11, 2008 07:51 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Its a start. I see the same revolution in India that the Ambanis brought about for the cell phones prior to which even the wealthy people used to shudder about cell Phone bills.
Ambanis made it so cheap that every common man can now have a cell phone.
Now some people may ask how come a cell phone feeds a mans hunger, I would say it need not but it can be a means for the man in the village to use it as a tool that provides him or her with an ability to raise his/her working income and hence provide for food and hence a tool to reduce his hunger.
I believe what Tata's have done here is a similar revolutionary idea which in turn will fuel infrastructure changes. No more buying a car will be a status symbol. May be 3 wheelers like Auto Rickshaws now will go off the roads and bring in the cars.
There is some environmental concern but I believe we will soon find a way to use Hydrogen fuel cells in these cheap cars.
Kudos to Tatas'. Its this thinking different that we need to make India a developed nation

RE:Agree with the Author
by Firelite on Jan 11, 2008 10:13 PM  Permalink
I think people still didn't get the importance of this event in India. But already people in west started talking about it. From London to Newyork, this event was mentioned in primetime news even though this is a Presendential primary season. Especially if you had read the article of Ratan Tata's interview on how he spins this business by allowing enterpruners take over this idea and make money out of this by manufaturing and improving the product, This is what sending the shivers to all the companies in west where they as usual wanted to use india a low cost cheap labour and afraid of this idea of enterpruners in every state and village of India.

by rexberry on Jan 11, 2008 08:07 PM  Permalink
I hope some builders take a cue from TATA and start building affordable flats @ 4 to 5 lakhs for one BHK in suburbs..... sahara, hiranandani kuch aisa karo aur kitna kamaoge....

by God on Jan 11, 2008 10:06 PM  Permalink
rexberry, why are you hellbound to kill ppl...? with the current scene, you have no idea what all things the builders are doing to reduce the cost of the apartment so that they can make millions...

I would try buying Nano.. but never on a "CHEAP" apartment..... he..he... I swear, I dont have that much guts....! Even you wont!!

by rexberry on Jan 11, 2008 10:35 PM  Permalink
@god
Still i feel prices of flats in mumbai is over hyped .... not just mumbai even navi mumbai and suburbs its too hyped... definitely even i wont prefer buyin a substandard flat... but due to high demand of flats in mumbai suburbs,not just in mumbai all cities in india builders are just using this opportunity to earn more and more profits... even in automobile segment people are now goin for even mid segment cars but still TATA had the audacity to bring this car and changed the whole scenario....but builders will never do this

by john prasanna on Jan 11, 2008 08:33 PM  Permalink
True man...We also welcoming like that...we need houses in some what affordable price.

by Ramasubramaniam Iyer on Jan 11, 2008 08:14 PM  Permalink
My Point exactly my friend. Thanks. Dont worry. It will come about soon.

Everything got a beginning
by saj on Jan 11, 2008 07:19 PM  Permalink 

Very good article. I always thought that Tata was relying on cheap labour in India. If this is based on effective/Smart management, it would create a new trend. Why Cars have always have to be expensive, we should have cheap cars. Now comes the argument of how green this could be.. obviously its not going to be as green you would expect. But i am sure Tata's have plans to make it more env-friendly. So this is possibly just a beginning.

What is the actual price now?
by Badri on Jan 11, 2008 06:23 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I'm surprised at the tone of Mr.Ratan Tata which is "ok! it will be a one lakh car at the dealer's end". It was his stated intention and Vision to make a car for 1 lakh and it is not that everybody begged him to make a car for that amount. There is no charity here. By saying that the dealer price is 1 lakh, if he thinks that he has delivered on his commitment, let him delude himself and many others who have gone gaga over this.

I am really keen to know what the on-road price of this car, say in the least expensive place New Delhi (where the taxes are low to pamper the inhabitants of the Capital).

Whatever it is, that will what the car ought to be known as? Not the ex-factory or the showroom or the dealer price!!

Well the car has just been unveiled and it is quite early to throw brickbats on the design or go gaga over its performance.

There is no publicly defined yardstick for any of the Civilian awards from the Padma Shri to the Bharat Ratna and so those with proximity to the powers-to-be can be and are awarded. We can debate about Bharat Ratna to Ratan when there is some official announcement.

RE:What is the actual price now?
by animesh singh on Jan 11, 2008 07:38 PM  Permalink
Hey Badri, You seem to be bitter man.... Chill out man. I wonder what TATA has done to offend you to this extent. We should be proud about TATA efforts into bring a luxury item like car to masses... Why get hooked to 1 Lakh figure. Pretty stupid....your post I mean

by Dara sooden on Jan 11, 2008 06:31 PM  Permalink

Agree Badri its a hype and market tactics .. no body is doing anybody a favour .. we just flow with the emotions .. there are better people to confer Bharat Ratna Awards but thats not the debate right now

by SK on Jan 11, 2008 06:36 PM  Permalink
Why are you fuming in anger and helplessness dude...drink some water and relax

by Ramasubramaniam Iyer on Jan 11, 2008 08:20 PM  Permalink
Dear Friend
I agree that Bharat Ratna should not be given to RT but my friend please explain why Rajiv Gandhi was given one, a person who said that if a big tree falls there are consequences when sikhs where getting butchered.
Anywasy beside the point.
The point here is RT is a businessman not a Philanthropist and we Indians have a bad attitude of expecting rich wealthy innovative people to give away everything for free.
Giving something away for free reduces its value.
Even after taxes the base model should cost about 1.3 Lakhs which is still cheaper my friend.
It can go a long way in replacing Autorickshaws/Cycle Rickshaws etc. Now we need to concentrate on the next problems
Infrastructures/Parking Spaces, Widening of roads.

by JK on Jan 11, 2008 08:54 PM  Permalink
Badri just think.

the heat in rajasthan's small town and village.
rain in kerala,bihar's small village.
winter in north indian villages and think if you have 2 little child waiting for bus or going on a scooter..or think your own 3 wheel auto riksha park out side yr home... and then u can realise the true value of 1 lakh car...lol..

Nano Car by Tata Motors
by Mandar Raravikar on Jan 11, 2008 05:24 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This is indeed a good achievement by tata and his great commitment to the society. He kept his word and he really mean it. I think Ratan Tata's vision behind this is to really serve the middle class by giving this opportunity to make their dreams come true and make their lifes easy. I don't think every toms-dick and harry run after this car as it needs money to to maintain and drive the car. It is only a selected segment of people from middle class who really think of buying a car for their comfort, could be a used second hand one, but Tata gave them a brand new option. I think this will have a reverse impact in terms of mass thinking. As the middle class and the lower class take this pride to own a small car they soon will realise the importance of good infrastructure, good roads which will make their and their car's life more easy. So far, only the educated and the urban population have been raising concerns about our infrastructure; now India will have lagre population of vehicle owners and drivers who demand a good infrastructure to the government and the local rulers.
If this car proved to be robust and fuel efficient, then surely will make a big difference to the lifes of rural and urban population, and also Nano Taxi is not a bad alternate to Indian traditional Auto Rickshas as they are closed (more safety to passengers) and more power more fuel efficient and for just Rs. 100,000.

RE:Nano Car by Tata Motors
by Dara sooden on Jan 11, 2008 05:29 PM  Permalink

The demand for better Road Infrastructure is from time immemorial but we are slow and now the gap will widen uncontrolably ..

RE:Nano Car by Tata Motors
by Ramasubramaniam Iyer on Jan 11, 2008 07:58 PM  Permalink
No Dara. I dont agree with you.
From my view point, the infrastructure has not been improved because there is no incentive for non vehicle owners or bike riders to press for infrastructure changes, Same for Autorickshaws as well.
Initially no one will make a big noise but soon as more and more people start coming to roads in their vehicles they will realise a glaring need to change the infrastructure, Even to ensure there seats are still intact the local politicians will try to do atleast something to give better roads to villages. I think in the next five years we will see a sea change in our infrastructure

AN Open Letter to MR Tata
by Dara sooden on Jan 11, 2008 05:21 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Mr Tata we need Cheap cycles Cheap Electricity cheap Water Cheap Hospitals Cheap Schools Colleges, Not a bloody cheap cars .. Under stand the priorities ... Why you care of all this.. roads get conjested or total jammed . you can always go abroad and settle tehre comfortably After all you are just another Industrialist !!!

RE:AN Open Letter to MR Tata
by Vishal Jain on Jan 11, 2008 05:37 PM  Permalink
U talking to GOI???? C'mon, this guy RT is just an industrialist and not a Philanthropist. What he has achieved is truly amazing. If u want other things cheap then ask netas/blame GOI and not him. FYI, RT is also planning an ultra cheap water purification system. What do u say 2 this uh!!

by Dara sooden on Jan 11, 2008 05:51 PM  Permalink
Vishal You have not read the things properly ... Its the priorities !!! .. He has not invented a car so no need to go ga ga over this great achievement .. For I know he may be offering this car at loss and then jack the price ..Fisrt he wants to pollute and then offer cheap purification systen ..and u fall for it

by Aalok Kapoor on Jan 11, 2008 06:15 PM  Permalink
Chal bhai Dara,if u have so tension for pollution than kal se paidal jana har jagah.

by Dara sooden on Jan 11, 2008 06:24 PM  Permalink
Not me alone mere bhai Aalok you will give me company for walk .. there will be no free road to drive .. foget pollution !!!

RE:RE:AN Open Letter to MR Tata
by sonny on Jan 12, 2008 09:42 AM  Permalink
lekin ekmahine to paidal chaklna plz.. ab itna bola hai to kuch kar ke bhi dikha do

by Ramasubramaniam Iyer on Jan 11, 2008 08:01 PM  Permalink
Dear Dara
I can assure you that if infrastructure is given for private ownership you will see a host of changes. As per you if RT has to do everything then lets make him the PM and also chairman of tatas.
You will see a change not becuase Tatas are philanthropists but very good businessmen who understands the need for these things you mentioned

by Sampath Kumar on Jan 11, 2008 05:26 PM  Permalink
Thats because RT cannot give cheap electricity and cheap water.

He did what he can in his line of business. Full stop.

by Dara sooden on Jan 11, 2008 05:36 PM  Permalink
Agree Sampath He is just another business man .. At least dont give him Bharat ratna Award !!!

by Devils Own on Jan 11, 2008 10:08 PM  Permalink
What have you done till now for the masses.. you pig

by bkchatterjee on Jan 11, 2008 06:39 PM  Permalink
It must not be forgotten that to achieve ALL the listed items & many more, it is essential to make average Indian MOBILE. This is only the first step & others would follow hopefully to make INDIA really happy and great Nation.

by ATUL on Jan 11, 2008 05:37 PM  Permalink
YOU HAVE YOUR GREAT LEADERS FOR THESE THINGS .
You have your political parties and govt. employees etc. etc. who do lot of corruption and wrong things in each project. Why are u crying on TATA ? Why don't u ask this question to your great and lovely leaders ?

RE:RE:AN Open Letter to MR Tata
by Dara sooden on Jan 11, 2008 05:55 PM  Permalink
Atul I cant go to leader because they are mostly like you illogical and jump to conclusions ... dancing at tatas tune for free I wonder what u will do if he offerd u this 1L crap as a compaigner

by kalyan venigalla on Jan 11, 2008 06:59 PM  Permalink
Well, If you dont like the idea dont buy one and ask your friends not to buy... But I dont see a reason why a man should not provide you an option? If people are so concerned about environment dont buy it... But I guess those people who already own a car are the ones who are crying a lot..

by SK on Jan 11, 2008 07:09 PM  Permalink
I also agree with your views...But do you think guys like Dara has knowledge to understand your message. If you say yes, you are a great optimist. If a meal costs 50 rupees today and if someone comes up and says that he can sell a quality meal for 30 rupees, these guys get jealous that lot of people will get food. They use some other problem as cover and crib and question, "is 30 rupee meal is the paramount importance for the country?" (as if they worried about the country all the time)

Kudos to Ajit Balakrishnan............
by Bakul Diwekar on Jan 11, 2008 05:12 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear Ajit,

Your style of narrating on any issue is very unique and worthy of mention. The flow is such that its like watching a movie on how-it-was-in-those-days-to-now and what-next.

I always read your articles whenever I catch them on Rediff.

Wish you all the very best.

Regards

Bakul

RE:Kudos to Ajit Balakrishnan............
by Sandeep Kumar on Jan 11, 2008 05:36 PM  Permalink
hii,

I fully agree with my friend.... KEWL Article.

The industry would remember Rattan for ever.
by chanakya maurya on Jan 11, 2008 05:10 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The first Indian who dared the daredevils of the auto ring.

Now they will all crowd this segment.

And that will be good for the Indian consumer.

He will have the choice.

No more take it or leave it.

Maruti made money from the Indians.

Now Rattan is replacing Maruti.

And the people of India would gladly pay Rattan the price for which he and his confidantes toiled so hard.

Salute to Rattan and his able team.

RE:The industry would remember Rattan for ever.
by Dara sooden on Jan 11, 2008 05:16 PM  Permalink
Yes give him award to make Indica the worst road polluter on the roads .. No technical knowledge to most of us including me .. but we praise the Nano ho high heavens let it prove itself first.. in india any shit sells as long as it has 4 wheels.. even Indica .. Mr Tata is a lucky business man... so many volunter for free .. even some of us offered Bharat Ratana Award .. Bharat ka kya hoga

by Vishal Jain on Jan 11, 2008 05:43 PM  Permalink
Yaar Dara, What have u achieve? Nothing i guess!! Except critizing other people who do something. Indica is not a failure. It may have its shortcomings but remember it was Tata's first family car. Also, a lot of people still like their Indica. If that for u is riding on their shit than be it. Atleast, its better than yours!!!

RE:RE:The industry would remember Rattan for ever.
by Dara sooden on Jan 11, 2008 06:11 PM  Permalink
Do one thing Vishal jain .. You can worship Tata and their family .. But i spent money on this shit Indica and I dont care if its Tatas family car because its a monster, I know tata is not using this shit for himself .. may be a Merc or BMW

by Amar Jain on Jan 11, 2008 07:48 PM  Permalink
Ratan himself drives indigo marina

by supriyo das on Jan 11, 2008 05:41 PM  Permalink
indica is better in emission standards than all the outdated ambassadors and padminis running still after their death warrant has been issued. It is better than the trucks and busses running on highways without any maintenance. I own an indica xeta GLS since last 2 years(20000km ) and have pollution checks every 2-3 months. I so far have nod had to spend a single penny for any emission related problems.

by Dara sooden on Jan 11, 2008 06:06 PM  Permalink
You said it Supriyo, indica has better emission standards than ageing Abassador and fiat Padmini but thats all .. I have an indica and I got the emission stcker now and then beleive me every now and then the oil leaks from the sump and makes poodle on the floor .. the fuel efficiency is worst ever a diesel guzzler .. i cant even find a 'bakra ' who will buy it from me!!!

by sonny on Jan 12, 2008 09:47 AM  Permalink
now i know why you will oppose RT untill the last breath

by santosh satpathy on Jan 11, 2008 05:12 PM  Permalink
Why so much celebration?
And wats the demand of Bharat ratna all about??

Did Mr Tata find any cure for cancer or what??

He just launched a car whose USP is its cheapness.U think thats why we gonna give him Bharat Ratna.Wats new about it,we indians copy & make cheaper version of everything ,be it medicine,movies,software or car.

by manish kaushik on Jan 11, 2008 05:24 PM  Permalink
its not his job to find any cure for the cancer. if it was his job, he must have done that too.

by Sampath Kumar on Jan 11, 2008 05:20 PM  Permalink
Did Sachin Tendulkar invented cure for Cancer?

Dream Merchants
by Dara sooden on Jan 11, 2008 05:08 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Before the City was made the Beggars were first to arrive .. Mr Tata is making the car .. Govt has roads serious problem and here we decide to Give Tata Bharat ratan award .. Jumping to conclusions

RE:Dream Merchants
by supriyo das on Jan 11, 2008 05:44 PM  Permalink
hav a look at the list of bharat ratna recepients. There are many whose contribution to india is debatable. For instance what great had Rajiv Gandhi done for india as a PM which other PMs didn't? but why only he received a bharat ratna? So there is no harm if Ratan Tata gets one. What difference does it make ?

by Ganesh Chandrasekaran on Jan 11, 2008 06:18 PM  Permalink
Ratan Tata is Worthier than Rajiv Gandhi

by Sampath Kumar on Jan 11, 2008 05:12 PM  Permalink
Vox populi Vox dei

RE:RE:Dream Merchants
by sonny on Jan 12, 2008 09:51 AM  Permalink
dude.. businessmen world over get national recognitions.. if opioin is that the person has contributed to the society.

but teri car ka oil leakage theek hua ya nahin..go get a life

Signs of Good Year ahead
by on Jan 11, 2008 05:07 PM  Permalink 

The year has just started and it gives a boost especially to middle class to work hard in coming time and to earn & turn dreams true. Although half of it has been done by Mr. Ratan Tata. It gives a pleasure & feels pround that Nano is India's car, not any foreign company who has come from outside. I think to earn money for people like Mr. Ratan Tata is no big deal, he doesn't care about money, but by fulfilling his promise he has earn a respect in each & every Indians heart. This new thinking of Industralist who are keen to give better living standards to middle class by increasing employement, better living standards & business oppurtunities sets up a example to politicians that we hardly require them if they work the way they are doing.

Total 357 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>