I see lot of engineers with very low IQ. How is this possible?? My guess is as good as yours. I just do not trust anyone with a professional qualification unless I interact and figure our the person's true worth. Trust me, the hit ratio is very low. What a waste of time and energy.
RE:Quality of engineers
by Sonali Sharma on Jul 23, 2007 10:47 PM Permalink
copy paste masters.Dont call them programmers pluzzzzzzzzz.. They are code junkies!! not even coders.. cyber coolies.If anyone of you think we are respected in US of A.. pluzzzzzzzzzee visit Sanjose, you will face abuses,not because we are brown skinned because we lack in innovation,we are bad programmers but good copy paste masters!! Dont believe me? Never mind.You would believe if you visit SAN JOSE.Esp GULTIS(ANdhra and bongs,bengali guys have spoiled name of our country)
RE:RE:Quality of engineers
by ravi on Jul 24, 2007 01:52 AM Permalink
oye Harma ji...bheja fry kar ja ke.... tereko job kon dega? mera bartan dhona er khana bananeka kam korega?
by psycho on Jul 24, 2007 11:36 AM Permalink
relax guys i won't say she is right but i am also annoyed by andhra guys because they really fake a lot they are everywhere , not because of hard work but due to fake stuff this is really annoying all are not like that but most of them are they really don't know much , but still work in good companies
by srikanth kc on Jul 23, 2007 11:40 PM Permalink
Ms Sonali,I understand your bitter exp with our people there-may be some from less-standard institutes.Still they have time and skill to survive.Here in India,some like me,value your suggestions/ideas from professional view.Probably you wished your comments to be viewed by many ,in India.Ok-done-seeing so many replies of concern.You've won.But will you please reduce the words which spoil the sentences?True,this is an open forum and your ideas & comments are welcome again.
by Rajib Paul on Jul 23, 2007 11:13 PM Permalink
Sonali, pls justify your words here. I need your explanation on the context of your statement that "Andhra and Bengali guys have spoiled name of our country". If you fail to provide a satisfactory explanation, rest assured I am definitely going to raise a PIL against you.
by mbawmba on Jul 24, 2007 12:50 AM Permalink
He he. All generalization are usualy flawed. There could be a Bengali and Andhra Non Performer Association in a comany X. But this is not a rule. He he
RE:RE:Quality of engineers
by Sword Fish on Jul 23, 2007 11:21 PM Permalink
I have lived long enough in San Jose to know that the abusers are the ones who lost their jobs to Indians or are getting lesser salaries now.
RE:RE:RE:Quality of engineers
by debasis chakraborty on Jul 23, 2007 11:31 PM Permalink
Sonalii Reddyy kaaa!!!Do u knowbengalii Guyss!!Thy r most intelligent guys any 1 can say!!!Tu rendy haii Sonali!!!See me like Gold medelist!!!Check me in orkut any whrr!!!Bengalii r proud of India!!!
by Sword Fish on Jul 23, 2007 11:17 PM Permalink
Sonali, that's the stupidest thing I have heard. Stop cribbing and do some work yourself. Without a job, you must be jealous of the others.
by naresh pendem on Jul 23, 2007 11:46 PM Permalink
hey sonali.,i think u might know that darkness quits as light enters,so y cant u enlighten our countries pride by proving ur talent, i guess u cant do that , all that you can do is jus wooeing other guyz witnessing ur fate,hey my sincere request is u just keep quite there or jus quit n move back back,i think ths better thing U can do..
by Jagann on Jul 23, 2007 11:50 PM Permalink
this bloody sonali abuses our own bengalis and andhraiites. and she expects foreigners to give Indians a royal treatment.....wat a contrast...yeh kidr ka kaanoon hai?
I have seen some messages here, and I agree that people don't quit their jobs - They quit their managers. Job furstations, it is the wqork conditions that push people pout of their jobs. But why ? Not because the manager is tough, but because in the Indian set-up a manager is considered no less than GOD. by the management and by the manager hmself. No management would ever agree that its manager is wrong or has made a mistake. No surprise that the manager is literally playing with your career. If it is a saidistic, egoistic pig, you are done in- not just by the manager , but by the organization itself. It is sad fact. The remedy? separate the cadres of management and the professional. Make these parallel areas . Here, a senior engineer would earn more than a manager. and his manager cannot decide the engineer's career. Only then can merit have value and a stupid/ nepotistic manager cannot wag his dirty tail.
RE:why top companies are shoddy experiences.
by riya on Jul 23, 2007 10:05 PM Permalink
Hats off....u r absolutly rite. kick those baggas out of the companies.
RE:why top companies are shoddy experiences.
by on Jul 23, 2007 10:33 PM Permalink
Hahaha lol. you cannot kick them all, you need managers to run the company. And the guidance of them is a must for junior or senior engineers.
I did BE in one of the Best non IIT. I was a topper and wanted to do core job in Engineerng. My starting salary? 3500/ at 1997. The last guy earned more than 10K. I did Masters from IISc and joined GE corporate research and Earned take home less than 25k. Still wanted to do core engineering. HR guys with crappy MBA earned more than double to 3 times than me. Decided enough is enough. Going to join Finance with salary double than what I earned after MBA from IIM. Its the situation that forced me to move out from engineering. Until the crappy HR policies are improved in India, core engineering is no longer a good career path!
RE:My story!
by husain hameed on Jul 23, 2007 10:13 PM Permalink
Ravi you are absolutely right . That is why we people move out from core engineering and also from our subjects.
I am a mechanicla b.tech degree holder now in software industry
every company wants to make more profit in a shortwhile..their present quarter profit should be something more than the Lastquaters profit..So they have to bargain more money from their clients by showing their resources...resourses are mainly 2 types..1>Infrastucture...obviously they vil have very good infrastrucures....2>Manpower...in order to get good amount they have to show their client that their manpower is so skilled....so they will prefer only exp people but not freshers in main domains like SAP..So every top MNC need exp people in thousands..their stratagic managers and even the CMD's will forget a simple strategy that every company needs 2 or 3 exp people where do these thousands work in the first 2 or 3 years so they..even they know that those many people are not available in the market..then why dont they take people with good domain exp and train them up in technologies..(their requirement much more than the no. of people trained in SEImens or Genovate)....then also in ads they will write that people trined from local institutes please excuse...how funny it is?...if the client believes the company 100% then why do the professional should face a client interview even after finishing company interview...from the above it is clearly visible that the TOP MNC's are creating Fake employees .. but unfortunately if they catch any fake employee they vil harass them by putting cases........... So Now tell me which is not a fake Company?.....
It is perfectly natural that your boss takes all the praise from mangement and pass the shortcommings to the teamates.
Here's some basic advice about getting ahead on the job. The only hope you have of getting ahead in the workplace is to make your boss look good. Do you think if you manage to do a good job that the senior management is going to promote you all the way up skipping over everone else? This does not happen in real life.
Only hope you have to be promoted is to make your boss look good so that he is promoted.
Salary rise is not the prime factor for quit. Employees are known by the organization in which they work. They devote years to the organization and are emotionaaly attached most of the time. Quitting is not a day when we make merry out of it. It is like end of a relationship. The main reason is the behaviour and policy of the immediate managers and HR which forces us to quit. Dirty politics is played by the managers among the team. Managers consider team-mates as secondary. They take the entire praise from the management and pass the shortcommings to the teammates. But Senior management does not look into this very aspect.
Do one exercise. Attend a walk in of your organization without letting them know that you are one of the aspirant. you will realize the reality how HR behave with people. Most of the time HR team consist of young girls who don't even know how to behave.
It is very easy to point at the teammates but ever a senoir management guy has a word with the last end of the hierarchy chain.
i have worked in few MNC's when i was in India , HR is mostly too inefficient and too close to Top Management , also Training is considered as Liability , Also Managers never have work ethics , Regionalism and Caste are always above Merit. i have seen that in Mumbai , Bangalore and Calcutta , and it happens every where . Professionalism is missing every where.IT was growing due to tremendous opportunity in West , but Indian companies are very Baniya in their attitudes too bad but true
I can see the same happening in India, what I witnessed and went through in late 90s in the US. A booming career with no barriers to entry will attract hordes of people, driving down the profit margin and increasing competition. Software programming is one such field where a zoology graduate, an accountant or an electrical engineer all of them can perform equally well. Any one can enter the field. This increases competition. Coding is not a rocket science. Most companies in India are mainly doing the software application development work. This is a repetative work and depends mostly on client in US who are looking for cheap source of labor. The frustrations are inevitable. Indian companies and general work atmosphere means, more working hours, more competition for workers. This means more stress and no quality of life. Remember a zoology graduate cannot become a lawyer next day if he thinks that pay is good there! You need a law degree and experience. Not so with coding. Seeing this I moved to finance once I had my green card. Others who did not want to study are still stuck in the rut. So do not blame the situation, evaluate first what you want in life, what you like doing. If you go after good salary without liking the job, this kind of frustrations are obvious.