Total 135 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5
Fight on
by Dipak Bose on Jul 18, 2007 07:05 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

If somebody will take your job, kick you out of your flat, paying you peanut to compensate, what will you do??
Farmers in Singur, Nandigram, Kalinganagar, and in Maharastra are doing what is natural because they will lose everything-- profession, land, house, for peanuts.
India is only for MBA, people with computers,with fat salary in Bangalore---others 80 percent are not human being.

RE:Fight on
by Prem Kumar on Jul 18, 2007 09:51 PM  Permalink
Well said Dipak. You made my day!

The "economists" and "intelluctuals" who support SEZ on above posts should be subjected to the treatement you suggested. Jobs taken away, their premier condo snatched & sent to deep jungles to live - thats how it is a for a tribal of Kalinganagar and farmer of Singur to live in slums of Delhi & Mumbai.

We are selling our souls to corporate criminals like Ambani & TATA and will reap dearly for our mistakes.

War is between Corporate India Vs Rural Bharat and let's see who wins. people's power is NEVER defeated, mind you!

Then why are they committing suicide?
by Manoj M on Jul 18, 2007 07:00 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

If the farmers are so well settled, people working on farms depend on it for their livelihood, fishermen depend on it, etc, yet they keep committing suicide. These corrupt NGOs themselves want money in the name of farmers. Pay them & all would be fine with SEZs. I also have the same questions, 99% of all taxes paid in India on which the country runs are paid from urban areas, eyt, the farmers who are dependent on our taxes don't want our say in anything else. An acre of land on which they woould make 50000 in an year in a good year, for which they are getting 10 lakhs is not enough. Ask them how much they sell this land to the money-lenders for drinking? It may not even be in single digits. This is the only agricultural land in the country fetching a million rupees & you have people agitating. They should be put in jail.

RE:Then why are they committing suicide?
by Mahasabha on Jul 18, 2007 07:06 PM  Permalink
Monoj,
Farmers in Vidharbha who are 600 km away from raigad, place in question doing sucide. Another question, will you let Mr. Ambani to sleep with your wife if he pays you 10 lakhs. Its same with love of land.

RE:Then why are they committing suicide?
by Manoj M on Jul 18, 2007 07:11 PM  Permalink
With people like you we would still be living in caves. Why do you & the farmers just don't totally depend on you so-called love of land? Why do they need free electricity & no income taxes?

Regarding Ambani sleeping with wife, I guess you know your wife's value, thanks for sharing. I don't have such meaningless examples to share.

raining jobs....
by ROFL on Jul 18, 2007 07:00 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

..actually these SEZs are creating jobs even before starting of....now every day we have atleast one new activist born ..along with 10-15 supporters...btw the WTF is this new mahajan??

RE:raining jobs....
by crashtestdummy on Jul 18, 2007 08:22 PM  Permalink
spoken like a true Naive immature obnoxious city slicker Indian,

by Prem Kumar on Jul 18, 2007 09:54 PM  Permalink

Well said Crash. He must be an American born in India who sees dirt in poor's lives.

One person getting job in SEZ = 100 farmers losing livelihood but wat does he cares? His pockets are full!

by Vipin Gupta on Jul 19, 2007 01:45 AM  Permalink
its not like that, its 1 farmer losing his land = 100 people gaining employment.... talk logical man

by Saurabh Nirantar on Jul 19, 2007 09:37 AM  Permalink
The poor of India are parasites who get free access to electricity, water, pesticides, guaranteed prices etc. All this money comes from urban taxpayers like us. It's high time that they made some contribution to national development. With such a mindset, how can you build roads or ports? These activists won't be happy until we're all sitting in mud huts weaving khadi underwear.

by sampath mohapatra on Jul 19, 2007 10:24 AM  Permalink
For your BIG BEN you do not even need an underwear. It should be left dangling.

Ulka Mahajan Please Answer this ?
by Sunit Kumar on Jul 18, 2007 06:21 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Ulka Mahajan, if you are reading this, please answer this simple question if reliance doubles up the compensation say 26 lakhs per acre will you stop the agitation and if not than why ?

RE:Ulka Mahajan Please Answer this ?
by sudip bhattacharjee on Jul 18, 2007 06:29 PM  Permalink
Good Question Sunit

All this agitation is for money

by Jarnail singh on Jul 18, 2007 06:48 PM  Permalink
baby moshay can you tell me why reliance wants land near mumbai@ why they do not go to the backward areas@ the main interest of reliance is to get cheap land on the name of SEZ. till the land is for farming it will not cost more than a few lacs. the moment it will become SEZ the land will be worth crores of rupees. not only crores thouosands of crores. to get this land reliance and other industry people have bribed kamalnath, our industry minister. he has invented this SEZ policy to bear expenses of next election. this is what all game is. do you know under the SEZ policy industry will have a right to build residential complexes and they can sell them. but a farmer cannot do this. this is why he will not get crores of rupees for his land. if they want a fair deal on their land whats wrong in it. if reliance will make money then nothing bad and if farmers wants more money then it is a sin, crime. the way you have write "all this agitation is for money" reflects as they want money for others land. what a hyporcrat reply. shame on you people.

by on Jul 20, 2007 03:09 PM  Permalink
If Reliance is so much for India's growth, why are they not making the cost benefit analysis public?
Why are they not making farmers (who are investing their land) as pertners into the venture?

by crashtestdummy on Jul 18, 2007 09:00 PM  Permalink
aren't we self-righteous today, here's eomeone fighting for the poor and Mr Sudip can only think of money, tisk tisk

by agnibha das on Jul 18, 2007 08:59 PM  Permalink
RIL and double up compensation.....haaaa....never will....
3G CDMA-Tin Gujju Chor Dhiru Mukesh Anil

by Siddhartha on Jul 18, 2007 06:42 PM  Permalink
Actually Usha wants to make some quick money out of this. But her dreams will not be fulfilled. Ambanis are doing the right thing. Trying to be Medha Patkar will not help.

RE:RE:Ulka Mahajan Please Answer this ?
by Dipak Bose on Jul 18, 2007 07:02 PM  Permalink
If somebody will take your job, kick you out of your flat, paying you peanut to compensate, what will you do??
Farmers in Singur, Nandigram, Kalinganagar, and in Maharastra are doing what is natural because they will lose everything-- profession, land, house, for peanuts.

RE:RE:Ulka Mahajan Please Answer this ?
by praveen kumar vemula on Jul 18, 2007 07:11 PM  Permalink
Its not the money paid to farmers who own lands,
"Reliance will only pay the landowner but when you wipe out villages after villages and create SEZs, what about the small and marginal people? What about those who don't own that land but have depended on that land since ages? So many people lose their livelihood, homes, shops, temples, schools and many other things."

think about the pepole dependent on the land indirectly

by Sachin Pimple on Jul 18, 2007 08:51 PM  Permalink
Dude..Siddhartha;
Try to be Medha patkar at least for one day...forget about knowing the meaning of your own name..Siddhartha...

by Simply Human on Jul 18, 2007 07:46 PM  Permalink
By statistics alone, the market value of any land is about 10x the book values. SO let reliance pay Rs 1.3 cr per acre to fairly compensate the landowners and 5 years worth of income to all the other people who livelihood is based on this land. All money should be given over a 5 year period to prevent any misuse. At that point, yes, the compensation could be called fair.

India shining? Or WHINING?
by Kishore Sharma on Jul 18, 2007 06:05 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Yes, I do press my clothes everyday
I do clean my toilets, sink etc.
I do clean my food plates.
I cook food myself.
I'm not at all cribbing about the above! I love to do my own work! But...Read on...

The govt here takes away 33% of my salary as tax. I mention this coz someone talked bout natioanl insurance abroad. The autowallahs are unruly. The bus conductor keeps the change. It's hot and humid. The common man cannot afford an A/C coz an A/c is still a luxury in India! Black marketing everywhere. The traffic always sucks. We have cows and buffaloes on major thoroughfares. I almost hit them on my way to work everyday. We live by chance on Indian roads, not by choice. Civic amenities are just a temporary thing. I've never seen them work for even 4 days at a stretch. But we have a lot of pseudo pride and call ourselves an economic superpower. Only 0.00000008 % making money...dat too folks in metros. I live in a major metro. Just check the state of public transport anywhere in India. It sucks BIGTIME. No discipline. We still need cops monitoring traffic signals coz even though there are traffic lights, ppl jump signals if there is no cop around. That is if the signals work. They don't work half the time coz there's seldom electricity power supply even in the silicon valley of India. What do u know dude? The lies spread by the media to keep us happy that India is SHINING? PFFFFFTTTTT!

RE:India shining? Or WHINING?
by arungopal agarwal on Jul 18, 2007 06:23 PM  Permalink
We have many things without discipline? If you want a character certificate from DM or so, you will have to spoil your character 1st. In public life, there is no accountability. Our hard earned money given in taxes are wasted by Politicians/Babus.

by Gaurav Lohiya on Jul 18, 2007 06:45 PM  Permalink
well... well.. u wrote a lot of things and I feel that nasically you rally vent out your frustration...

Now, would you like to re-read your words yourself and tell me how much of it was true (based on facts)??

OK, let me give u some hints:

Even if there is a power cut in the city, power to the traffic signals is supplied and they do not stop working because of POWER-CUTS...

Similarly, not all civic amenities are non-functional. Some work at a brealy satisfactory level around 80% of the time, some work always while some do not work at all or work sporadically... So, do not say that NO civic amenities work...

Public transport in India differs a lot from city to city, state to state... So, please explain that which place you are refferring to.

by chandan sarma on Jul 18, 2007 06:09 PM  Permalink
spot on!!1

by Joseph George on Jul 18, 2007 06:33 PM  Permalink
The real India is going to disappear in to slums. Where else are these displaced people going to go? Ulka says 70% is real India - It was 90% in my textbook 20 years back. 70% is not bad considering most of it is semi urban. I earn 28 lakhs per year and paid Rs.62 in taxes inadvertantly. There is such a thing called Tax Planning Kishore. Indirect taxes have however eaten up 60.041% of my spending. This year has been good so I have been able to donate twice my tithe. One tithe = 10%. I still have to provide for my child's education.
I have cheated on tax only due to compulsion once - The seller of the only landed asset I purchased this year insisted on underquoting for registration purposes. Does India belong to me - No. It belongs to the elite purely.

RE:RE:India shining? Or WHINING?
by Sunit Kumar on Jul 18, 2007 06:17 PM  Permalink
Kishore Sharma, bitter but TRUTH 100%

by J_Lo on Jul 18, 2007 08:43 PM  Permalink
Looks like one SEZ is not going to make you happy Huh!!!

by sandipan das on Jul 18, 2007 06:29 PM  Permalink
If you have so much problem...Why dont u join politics and change India.. Stop cribbing !!

by rama REDDY on Jul 18, 2007 06:39 PM  Permalink
sandipan, do you mean for small things like rude behaviour and bus conductor not giving change we need to be politician.

by arungopal agarwal on Jul 18, 2007 06:40 PM  Permalink
Dear Sandipan, I do not have any problem, one is to learn, how to live in indisciplined society.Cribbing is done by unfit people.
What we are sharing is in national spirit and for improvement.

carry on mam...
by chandan sarma on Jul 18, 2007 05:57 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The fight is on.....u r not alone....its time we start thinking about BHARAT... and not about INDIA with 9% growth......

RE:carry on mam...
by Gaurav Lohiya on Jul 18, 2007 06:51 PM  Permalink

Hi Chandan,

Both the BHARAT of your dreams and the INDIA I aspire for, go hand-in-hand. Bharat and India can not exist without each other.

We need the soul, the spirit, the culture of BHARAT while the growth, the success, the innovation of INDIA if we want to be respected in the World whether or not a Superpower.

If India is the body then Bharat is the soul.

:-)

RE:carry on mam...
by Ishtiaque Ahmad on Jul 19, 2007 01:06 PM  Permalink
Dear gaurav
the two (which is actually one) india's cannot survive together as one of them is the parasite and the other one which is the rural india is bound to feed the evergrowing greed of the so called 'India'.

India and Indians
by CarrotAndStick on Jul 18, 2007 05:53 PM  Permalink 

India definitely belongs to all Indians, but taxpayers must have a say on how tax money is spent. Over the last 60 years, the government hasn't done too impressive a job of spending tax-money wisely.

Total 135 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5