Total 13 messages Pages | 1
Retaining Employees..!!
by LOGESH R on Jan 16, 2007 10:23 AM  Permalink 

Many of our Indian HR managers think, Money is the only Tool to retain employees..!! But as described n the above article there are many more things than the Money..!! There should be Motivation, REspect, Clear Definition of Role, Future prospective, Added value to the Organization, schemes like ESOP, DVi, etc will definitely boost the Employees to stick to their employer.
But many new generation Companies are making kind of Agreement with the Employees for 2 / 3 / 4 yrs with the Bond breach amount of min Rs. 1,00,000.00. This is an unethical culture & in fact its against th human rights!!
If an employee is leaving an organization, then there is something wrong with the Employer!!

Best Way
by Akshay Goel on Jan 14, 2007 01:24 PM  Permalink 

I think the best way to retain them is to motivate them and give them the work of their own interest. If that is not possible, let them pick up the work best for them.

retaining employees
by Ramdas Iyer on Jan 14, 2007 12:12 PM  Permalink 

the population of india is the curse of india and a boon for other countries. while countries like finland with a population of 5 million can sell 5 million mobile phones in the indian market, indian employers also need not worry much about retaining employees. u employ one drink all the juices out of him and spit him out then retain another from among the 100 crores out there. The indian government knows that if a barrel of diesel or a ton of steel is used up its gone for ever. but a new employee is born every 37 seconds. moninder pandher the industrialist from noida did it physically but other employers in india do it everyday. recruit, abuse, kill, cut and throw in the drain.

Retain employees ???
by Ashok Sharma on Jan 14, 2007 11:20 AM  Permalink 

Now, no question of retaining employees. Mostly manager are interested in makeing money for himself using umemployement as a tool. Most of Indian managers has negative thinking about their juniors they are expert in just using juniors.

Process are more important
by desi investor on Jan 14, 2007 08:32 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Put processes in place and quality will follow. People are merely follow processes.

RE:Process are more important
by on Jan 14, 2007 11:43 AM  Permalink
Wrong. Process is no match for people. Infy and Wipro continue to face attrition; too much focus on process and too little focus on people could be a reason. And the processes most technology companies talk about are only on paper in many divisions of these companies.

RE:Process are more important
by Anand C on Jan 14, 2007 09:42 AM  Permalink
Processess without caring for people is nonsense. First people should be cared for and then make then understand the importance of processes. Then see the processes falling into place automatically. Trying to force processes will only make people find ways to evade one.

Question to all HR.
by Hitesh Vijayvergia on Jan 12, 2007 09:30 PM  Permalink 

They are continuously recruiting a talent people. HR%u2019s will recruiting them by accepting all the condition. But they are fail to fulfill the desire of ther employee that%u2019s why the employee will leave the company. Can any HR will comment on that?

Values
by Susheel Bhat on Jan 12, 2007 01:40 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

I have worked for 15 years in different Indian companies and still continue to do so in a well known company with a global presence.
I really admire the clarity with which the individuals´values and organisational values, their mission and vision statements etc have been discussed.
I would only like to add to this a one liner far from idealism but closer to reality based on my personal experience so far which is...

BEING AN EMPLOYEE MEANS TO BEGIN TO TELL LIES, REPORT LIES, FOOLING YOURSELF, FOOLING OTHERS AND YET TALK OF VALUES TO OTHERS AND THE SMARTER YOU ARE IN DOING ALL THIS, THE HIGHER YOU GO IN THE ORGANISATION. STICKING TO HONESTY AND TRUTH WILL MAKE YOU REPORT TO SOMEONE WHO WAS SMARTER THAN YOU.
I am not sure how many honest and how many smart people are going to comment on my comments....

I still dont know what I am.... but my guess is I am still fighting with myself between the two ends and probably would retire by the time I make a decision...

RE:Values
by vijay barthwal on Jan 14, 2007 09:11 AM  Permalink
Quite interesting observation. I must say it is coming from someone who has seen it all, not from some HR consultant or someone who has just started working filled with idealism. Very true observation of someone with 15 years of REAL EXPERINCE

RE:Values
by on Mar 26, 2007 02:06 PM  Permalink
Highly debatable observation. Yet, why do I smell a stink of frustration here? I have spent 20 years working for others and now being self employed. HONESTY is un conditional and that's it.

babaababa ramdev ki jai
by suppandi on Jan 12, 2007 01:23 PM  Permalink 

you should send all employees to yoga sessions by baba ramdev is you want to retain them for life

Aspirations: Individual and organizational
by venkatesh bhattacharya on Jan 12, 2007 01:06 PM  Permalink 

The actual problem comes when individual aspirations conflict with those defined by the organization. If an employee is good in one thing, it need to be that he is good in everything. Teams/organizations end up drawing a value chart of expectations from each and every employee. But, where they fail is to evaluate the abilities and above all, the aspirzations of the individual It's possible that an individual wants to do something else whereas the team wants him to do something else. It's not a case of an individual being wanted in the team but it's a case of individual wanting to do a thing assigned to him.
It would be appropriate from the individual's perspective to set his aspirations and desires right from the beginning. Then, try and evaluate if he/she can achieve it by staying in the current team/workplace. If yes, then strive for it by going beyond the expectations set for him. If no, discuss it with managers/superiors and try to land up on a solution. Every employee is valuable. It's just a matter of valuing our needs. Finally, if you feel that the work environment is great despite the fact that it might not give you what you want, then it's time to modify your aspirations to suit what your employee wants and also to ensure that you stay focussed. It's all in the rigidity of the mind. We think we are good at this, so let's continue with this, else we would end up being a failure. Not at all true. It's a matter of being self-conscious and knowing what we can do, and not what we are doing.

Total 13 messages Pages: | 1