Total 311 messages Pages    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7   Older >
Calcutta will beat Ahmedabad hands down in IT and services industry
by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 11:33 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Calcutta ( and West Bengal ) has the country's best educated people studying in the finest colleges - IIT Kharagpur ( mostly calcuttans ), Jadavpur Engineering college, Presidency college and Bengal Engineering college. Gujarat has not ANY good college to talk about ( IIM Ahmedabad has only outsiders who leave after graduating ).
Trade unions do not make a difference to this industry. Moreover Calcutta is a center of culture and excellence and a real city where one can drink and dance not a sanitised college dorm. Calcutta rocks.

Gujarat is good for traders and manufacturers.

RE:Calcutta will beat Ahmedabad hands down in IT and services industry
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:40 AM  Permalink
Why is that West Bengal's illiteracy is greater than the illiteracy in Gujarat?

RE:RE:Calcutta will beat Ahmedabad hands down in IT and services industry
by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 11:47 AM  Permalink
Bengal has a higher population of minorities and Bangladeshis. The intellectual and spiritual contribution of Calcutta to this country is more than the rest of the country put together.

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:52 AM  Permalink
But bengal has more lok sabha seats and gets more grants than gujarat? What were you doing with all that? After 30 years of CPM rule, Bengal has the third largest number of illiterates in India.

Shame on the communists

by mktm on Dec 11, 2007 01:09 PM  Permalink
Gujarat is way ahead of Bengal in terms of development (see the growth rate figures of the last three years).. Ahmedabad (5.1 million population) has more millionaires than Kolkata (14 million population). Agreed, Ahmedabad doesn't have BEST colleges as Kolkata has.. does it really matter? Gujarat has always been a state of Entrepreneurs.. Dhirubhai Ambani.. he never graduated from a IIT or the Presidency College or a IIM.. You don't consider all those things my dear friend...

by rajesh h on Dec 11, 2007 11:52 AM  Permalink
what us eis intellectual and spiritual contribution when Bengalis do not have job in your own state, sit and read is it?

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:53 AM  Permalink
Intellectual and Cultural Contribution means organising strikes, hartals, telling america is evil 24 hours a day and telling capitalism is bad, Mao is great, Stalin is great etc

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:40 AM  Permalink
You left strikes, hartals and trade unions... Kolkatta is the Hotspot of all these in Asia.

And yes, with all the drink and dance, how come Kolkatta people have the energy to work? That is why CPM organises bandhs and strikes to help people to avoid work !!!

Modi and Buddha
by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 11:27 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Looks like both have a lot in common ....

RE:Modi and Buddha
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:42 AM  Permalink
Modi is an OBC.
Buddha is a atheist, Beef Eating bramin.

That is one small difference between the two.

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 11:45 AM  Permalink
So who is better ? I would rather have a steak and a glass of beer with Buddhadeb and discuss Kurosawa with him.

RE:RE:Modi and Buddha
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:50 AM  Permalink
Kurusowa wont feed the millions with bread and butter.

Only hard work will feed the millions. Of course, the Communist approach is to send some of those millions to concentration camps.

But this is 21st century and people dont want to be fooled by myths of Mao and Stalin and Castro

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:48 AM  Permalink
You can also discuss how to kill millions with Buddha. Whether the Stalin approach (sending people to Gulags) or Mao approach( starving millions to death using artificial famines) is better.

Keep chatting and drinking, rest of India is progressing and we dont want to become a B-Team of China like you and your CPM masters want to be.

by abboral boral on Dec 11, 2007 11:53 AM  Permalink
nonsense .Actually beef ,moton ear=ting is not crime and more over it is veg cause cattle and goat eats veg so when people eat them it is also eating veg so why people after them when some body eats beef and moton .Actually eating veg now a days is dangerous because of high degree of pesti cydides .Morweover eating non veg like moton ,fish gives your brain healthy .That is the reason 4 nobel prise winner came from Kolkata alone

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:58 AM  Permalink
Why do you want to reveal your ignorance over here?

Ok tell me, why is that with all those nobel prize winners, Bengal is today behind most Indian states in many things? Bengal has the third biggest no of illiterates after UP and Bihar. Are you not ashamed?

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 12:06 PM  Permalink
I told you - uncontrolled immigration from Bangladesh and a huge minority population ( nearly 25% ) which is ill educated due to their cultural issues. And that will continue to be a problem forever.

RE:RE:RE:Modi and Buddha
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 12:10 PM  Permalink
You have revealed your communal mindset here....

I think there is no point talking with a bigot like you.

PS- The 100% literate Kerala has 48% minority population. Turkey, a 100% muslim country is also 100% literate. Your attempts to defend yourself make you sound like a joker. Take care

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 12:34 PM  Permalink
Mr Anurag Srivatsava, I call a spade a spade. Your statement just reveals ur communal mindset. What else? Infact VHP folks are better, atleast they are open and honest in admitting they dont like minority people, not like you folks who pretend to be communist, intellectual but hate some people.

Even if we agree that infiltration is a problem, what was the CPM doing last 30 years to stop it? 30 years is a long period. Police, intelligence is always a state subject. 30 years what were you doing? There is no infiltration in Meghalaya, another state having bangladesh as border . Why? And as far as tearing fabric is concerned, Bengal's CPM has done it the best way by destroying all enterprise and business in the state.

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 12:25 PM  Permalink
I suppose MGR fan - you use communal word according to your convenience. This is a conclusion from Sachchar committee report on Bengal and some other states. Look at the stats and then talk here- and that has a lot to do with Bangladeshi migrants and tearing of the fabric of minorities in that state.

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 01:02 PM  Permalink
Well MGR Fan ... I don't support communists anyway so you are barking at the wrong tree. I support Calcutta and Calcuttans not the dregs from Bangaldesh. India is a democracy and unfortunately these migrants are huge votebank none can ignore. Modi does not have to worry about this votebank and hence can say whatever he feels like. Politics is an art of winning elections and making money. Nothing more. Nothing less. Bengal is suffering because of immigration which none can stop.

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 12:34 PM  Permalink
And just for your knowledge - read page 32 and page 160 of the Sachar report on demographics and poverty levels. In Bengal - while the general population has a poverty level 0f 6% ; that for muslims is 27% in urban areas. gap elsewhere in rural areas is more. This is because the Bangaladeshi migrants form a big % of minorities in Bengal and they are poor and illiterate. Comparison in Kerala is silly because everyone there is fully educated local people.

by abboral boral on Dec 11, 2007 10:06 PM  Permalink
To MGR Fan; unlike some hardcore Tamilians like you, the rest of us are not inward-looking, nepotism-oriented, Hindi-hating religious hypocrites. Thank You.

by abboral boral on Dec 11, 2007 10:33 PM  Permalink
You're talking of electricity? Water? I've been in Kolkata this year itself and lived in suburbs - we had 24 hour electricity (without blackouts) and also 24 hours water supply. None of the locals ever had complaints in this regard. I've also been to Hyderabad (last month) and Bangalore (two months back) and both these cities face electricity blackouts almost on a daily basis (including sundays). Not very appealing is it? I won't comment about Chennai as I haven't been there since so many years but Chennai does have water shortages.

Moral of the story: please don't talk about human development. Truth is Kolkata has a high living standard that can be afforded at 1/2 the income of Bangalore/Mumbai. It does have its sore spots (as Anurag mentioned about immigration from Bangladesh and local minorities which refuse to integrate).

No Bengalis have EVER supported communal/caste/regional feelings. It simply doesn't exist. In the 1960's Kolkata invited Marwaris and Gujaratis to set up businesses in its heart (an area called Bara Bazar) and they have flourished ever since. True, Communist rule stagnated growth for almost 30 years but today, Bengal is looking up silently.

by MURLI on Dec 11, 2007 12:39 PM  Permalink
Bengal is better than gujarat in human index.
Bengal is better in overall development compare to gujarat , though gujarat is very very rich with naturak resource compared to bengal ( 1 : 20). the govt has not used it.it lags in most recentlty compared to 10 years back in percentage

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 12:41 PM  Permalink
Forget Gujarat. Bengal is no match before south indian states when it comes to Human Development.

bengal has the 3rd largest number of illiterates in India. 40% of houses in Bengal dont have electricity connection.

Also Bengal is one of the blessed states in India w.r.to water resources, but has the worst governemnt ever

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:56 AM  Permalink
This is the biggest joke i have read anywhere.

So if eating veg is harmful because of pesticides, what do the cattle and chicken eat? Do they eat cockroaches and snakes?

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 12:00 PM  Permalink
I think MGR Fan - you seem the biggest joker of them all and shooting yourself on the foot by bring such a silly thing to picture.

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 12:05 PM  Permalink
Srivatsava, you simply cannot answer my points, so try to sideline them by teling somethine silly.

Agree that you cannot disprove my points, and give up... carry on drinking beer and whisky and feasting on steak and dont forget taking health insurance with United india Insurance (a Kolkatta based company), you will surely need it some day.

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 12:07 PM  Permalink
I have bought my insurance from a private company and also from my own company !so do not worry.

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 11:58 AM  Permalink
True - Indians have the highest heart problem rates in the world and that has direct relationship with high calorie food eaten such as rice , chappati, puris, sweets and the like and not having sufficient proteins. And our sports records is a good evidence of the poorness of our diet.

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 12:09 PM  Permalink
Why is the sports record of Pakistan and Bangladesh no better than India? (both countries have high per capita beef consumption)

Sports records have nothing much to do with diet. it is all to do with sporting facilities. The facilities are non existent in India. The facilities are poor in many countries and their records are bad.

Why is that most performers in Winter Olympics come from cold countries? Because winter sports facilities dont exist in tropical countries.

So try to do logical reasoning, instead of blindly memorising the script written by Mao, Marx, Stalin and Buddhadeb

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:59 AM  Permalink
Sports record of Bengal is no better than rest of India why?

Why is that lots of bengalis also suffer from those cardiac problems?

Ok, is it that there are no cardiac problems outside India?

Your logic falls flat

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 12:00 PM  Permalink
Sports record of several countries eating plenty of protein is worse.

Bangladesh is a good example... how come?

How come cardiac problems exist in places like USA, etc where people generally eat only proteinous food?

by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 12:03 PM  Permalink
When you grow 75 years old - you will have cardiac problems and Americans live a little longer than that. Do some studies on cardiac issues and then comment.

Bengalis do not eat enough non-veg everyday due to poverty - maybe a small piece of bony fish everyday. And so also Bangladeshis. A good example of sporting prowess of non-vegetarians are the keralites....but still not good compared to other countries which have similar race but better diet than us.

by naqi imam on Dec 11, 2007 11:38 AM  Permalink
Good observation yaar

REDIFF
by Sanjana Mohta on Dec 11, 2007 11:25 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

HAVE A POLL!! How many think Kolkata is a hot spot?? .......wait wait...thats too easy and predictable. For academic interest, instead you can ask how many think... Calcutta can EVER become a hot spot??

RE:REDIFF
by Sandipan chakraborty on Dec 11, 2007 11:35 AM  Permalink
Yeah...sum evil people like u will b Jealous bcos of this...u just want some particular areas to develop and others to stay stagnated..ur dreams will neva eva come true..bcos evil has to b destroyed one day..God will prevail.

RE:RE:REDIFF
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:37 AM  Permalink
CPM is saying it wants to industrialise Bengal but CPM workers are againt industries like POSCO,SEZs everywhere...

RE:REDIFF
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:35 AM  Permalink
Depends on hotspot in which category?

For strikes, hartals and bandhs, nothing can beat Kolkatta. The CPM r ulers are commited to give a stress free work environment to its govt employees.

RE:EVIL at it's Best..
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:21 AM  Permalink
Yup, Kolkatta is a paradise for trade unions, strikes and hartals. You can have an entire life of fun (provided you have a govt job) in Kolkatta , without doing work. Can you think of such a peaceful life in Ahmedabad?

RE:EVIL at it's Best..
by Sandipan chakraborty on Dec 11, 2007 11:27 AM  Permalink
Yeah that's true as well...i don't stay there but i know the city was suffering from these probs before...but not now..not atleast to that extent...
but anyways let all cities come up..I want Ahmedabad to grow as well..akhirkar India ka hi cities hai..just i didn't like the way the article started and the comparison..Evil intentions no doubt.

RE:RE:EVIL at it's Best..
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:34 AM  Permalink
Yes I too want all cities to grow well.. But how can Kolkatta grow when it is ruled by people against India's well being ? CPM's heart lies with the Chinese Communists of Beijing.

The topic of Kolkatta becoming a hotspot should be written after 2011, when CPM should be out of power.

Oh Calcutta...Oh Rediff??
by Sanjana Mohta on Dec 11, 2007 11:13 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

This Copy-Pasted article is meant for NRIs and foreign Investors. Things can't be more removed from reality.
Stranded on innumerable occassions at the airport due to strikes, stuck every other day in traffic jams due to morchas, prime business localities still facing power cuts in the middle of the day...., HELLO PEOPLE...what HOT SPOT????
Not to mention a grudgingly frustrating end to what is the otherwise the happiest time of the year - DIWALI.., and who says there are no Unions??
Err..did someone say Rajarhat?? Ok, may be Rediff can do another article... Just as Calcutta has been identified as a Hot spot, may be you can Identify Rajarhat as the next paradise to live.. for starters, you can look at the abundant water supply, plenty of fresh water, more than 16 Hours per day electricity, No mosquitoes, no problems of dust and SPM, an eye cooling green-belt, proximity to convenient stores like groceries,chemists etc..

Guys please, dont try to fool us Indians please..

RE:Oh Calcutta...Oh Rediff??
by SANJEEV SINGH on Dec 11, 2007 11:25 AM  Permalink
tera kyoon jal raha hai!!!!!

RE:Oh Calcutta...Oh Rediff??
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:18 AM  Permalink
This article is to please the Communist intellectuals and Sahadevan/Karat/Arundathi roy supporters who dream of Kolkatta as the next New York or HongKong..

Indore, chandigarh
by pradeep kumar verma on Dec 11, 2007 11:01 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Kolkata is worst to do business. No line in order........Cities like Indore, Chandigarh, Jaipur are far better then cities like Kolkata, Mumbai.

RE:Indore, chandigarh
by Sami on Dec 11, 2007 11:13 AM  Permalink
To build a devi temple?

RE:Indore, chandigarh
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:17 AM  Permalink
To organize a strike or hartal, Kolkatta is the best place in Asia.

OH KOLKATTA - WHAT A FALL...
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:01 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

At the time of independence (1947), Kolkatta was No 1 city in India in every way (population, commerce, industry etc) while Ahmedabad was not even among top 10 indian cities.

Today, Kolkatta is being compared with Ahmedabad... and even that comparision falls flat because Ahmedabad does not have the evil communism-trade unionism that Kolkatta is having.

That is a terrible fall for a city - Kolkatta which was once the Number 1 city in Asia !!

RE:OH KOLKATTA - WHAT A FALL...
by saumya ranjan ray on Dec 11, 2007 11:15 AM  Permalink
Yes,I do agree with.Companies will think twice perhaps thrice to start Business at Kolkata

by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 11:19 AM  Permalink
Several IT Companies will love to set up base in Kolkatta because Bengali middle class is known for its intelligence. Why is it that they dont do that in a big way? Thanks to the CPM goondas who rule the state.

Either CPM is thrown out of power, or Kolkatta becomes an union territory , only then there can be progress in this city.

by abboral boral on Dec 11, 2007 11:07 PM  Permalink
You should understand or go to the history of kolkata when British recognise Kolkata as the capital of India .They were not fool .It was during and after Independance kolkata and Ahmedabad were neglected by the govt in Centre .So why to blame only CPM and CM Buddha for this no growth of Kolkata .It is the entire political system in India who opposes growth of Kolkata.Still kolkata is better than any other places to live .If you want to see joy ,vibrancy ,unbiased people then you must live in Kolkat .where can you get 1 lkh people go and watch a cricket match in Edengarden ,a magnificient stadium in the world .Mr mgr fan ,i request you to go and see the vibrancy of kolkata most cheapest place in india ,most cheapest veg is available in kolkata only Have you ever come out of your narrow well like toad in the well storey.Pl dont keep any illfeeling,regional fanatism about others.One IT cannot give development any states .

DHAKA (BANGLADESH) MAY GET AHEAD OF KOLKATTA SOON..
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 10:56 AM  Permalink 

Because despite presence of Islamic extremists, Dhaka is not having the evil communists, CITU, CPM, CPX, SUCI and other work avoiding, genocide worshipping cults. If the millitary in Bangladesh tries to clean up things and allow people to practise free enterprise, Dhaka may become more developed than Kolkatta in coming years.

Ahmedabad and Kolkata among new hotspot
by nirav shah on Dec 11, 2007 10:53 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Both the cities having a similarity of people who are successful whereever they are. It is undoubtebly true about this fact as many of them are preferring to stay or come back.

It is not a surprise to see both of them will be a major growth centres.

RE:Ahmedabad and Kolkata among new hotspot
by MGR Fan on Dec 11, 2007 10:58 AM  Permalink
But ahmedabad does not have the evil trade unions, strikes, hartals and CITU and CPM goondaism. So Kolkatta is at a disadvantage...

RE:Ahmedabad and Kolkata among new hotspot
by Anurag Shrivastava on Dec 11, 2007 11:30 AM  Permalink
But Calcutta ( and West Bengal ) has the best educated people studying in the finest colleges - IIT Kharagpur, Jadavpur Engineering college, Presidency college and Bengal Engineering college. Gujarat has not goo college to talk about ( IIM Ahmedabad has only outsiders who leave after graduating )

Hinduism is a religion of peace. It is not a property of some brutal killers. It will remain after Modi and RSS. We Indians to hold Secularism, and we will live here peacefully.
by Sahadevan KK on Dec 11, 2007 10:47 AM  Permalink 

Hinduism is a religion of peace. It is not a property of some brutal killers. It will remain after Modi and RSS. We Indians to hold Secularism, and we will live here peacefully.

Total 311 messages Pages:    <<  < Newer  | 6 | 7   Older >