Total 22 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2
200% Every year.. do you think it will sustain.
by Sam on Dec 06, 2006 02:57 PM  Permalink 

No never..income of how many people have increased 200% in a year..

its un-sustainable.

Don't buy properties
by Jini on Dec 06, 2006 01:55 PM  Permalink 

No matter what's the current price and future appreciation/depriciation potential, until and unless one sell his property, then only he would make any profit/loss. So first time buyers (for property) can wait for some time and then jump.

Using media to add speculation
by Preetish Nagaraj on Dec 06, 2006 12:35 PM  Permalink 

This is totally wrong, I've property around Bangalore and yes prices are becoming quite stagnant. Buying flats would be most would be like getting yourself robbed in the daylight. There are 3 lac flats ready for sale and the demand is 50,000, I dont have to tell more. Hence I would suggest buyers to keep a watch on the realty for sometime in the background of some infrastructure projects that would be coming up in the near future, by 2011. For long term gains go out to the suburbs and invest on land and not flats /apartments, your ROI is assured. Use the data from surveys conducted by some authorized institutes, also put in your effort to 'investigate and then invest'. All the best.

foolish article
by Ravi C on Dec 05, 2006 11:43 PM  Permalink 

This is a foolish article. Now a days, houses become expensive, consting more than 40 lac in metros.

Once the EMI becomes 30,000 or more, very less people take home loans. This started already happening, including with IT people.

So don't think that house prices always go up, particularly when these prices are pushed up by credit.

MoneyControl has a team of speculating Real estate brokers
by Varun on Dec 05, 2006 06:03 PM  Permalink 

Such type of misleading articles from pure real estate brokers should be avoided as far as possible. They merely want to spruce up speculation in market.

Dont make people fool by publishing such articles
by Harish on Dec 05, 2006 05:07 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Please dont publish such fool articles anymmore and confuse people. Prices in Bangalore already have cooled off.. Fall upto 30% in the hottest area Whitefield.

RE:Dont make people fool by publishing such articles
by Balaji Ramalingam on Dec 06, 2006 12:04 PM  Permalink
Well Said..We both are on same page :-)

IT professional's use your brains - DONT BUY FLATS
by Ritesh on Dec 05, 2006 03:55 PM  Permalink  | Hide replies

My calculation is: buying a flat at 30Lakh now is a loss as compared to investing the money in Mutual Fund, even it is not a loss if you invest the money in PPF.

Now calcualte yourself:
1. You are paying a rent of 10k per month, calculate how much will you pay till 20 yrs.
2. Now calcualte EMI for 20yrs for a 30Lakh flat.
3. Now get the differece of EMI minus Rent per month. (eg. Rent=10k, EMI=20k diff= 20-10 = 10K)
4. Invest this diff amt. ie. 10K in PPF and check what you get after 20 yrs !! Still you are not at loss.
5. Another case, now invest this 10K in MF for 20 yrs. You see.. you will become a CROREPATI.!!!!

Even you, consider tax rebates and inflation, then also investing MF is profitable than buying a house. Again, the value of your flat will start decresing after 5yrs.

WHY MAKE THESE CHAT BUILDERS CROREPATIS ?? BE A CROREPATI YOURSELF!!!!! Better buy a plot in 2nd or 3rd grade cities. You will get a better return.

Thanks,
Ritesh Chakravarty

RE:IT professional's use your brains - DONT BUY FLATS
by Sridhar on Dec 10, 2006 04:36 PM  Permalink
Hi Ritesh,

I am also against this author who wants to rub the idea of "Buy a house now OR you have to buy for more later".

But I would like to point out a glitch in your package of becoming a crorepati by staying in a rented house.

Going by your calculations, over the period of 20 years, EMI Rs. 20000 for a 30 L house will remain constant for the 20 year tenure whereas the rent definitely would not remain Rs. 10000 for 20 years.

It can be constant if one wants to keep moving to suburbs to maintain the rent scale of Rs. 10000 for the same area (1BHK, 2BHK etc.) or compromise on the rented area they get as time goes by (I bet it would be impossible to compromise with growing family needs).

My advise to you and others is not to think in these terms (of not considering inflation when calculating future rental expenses) if you donot own a flat/house yet.

Ofcourse like others in this reply list, I believe the prices are going to comedown atleast for the flats. In Bangalore I've already noticed 20 % reduction in flat rates compared to 6 months back (Sarjapur road). But still there are no takers.

Interesting!
by Vijay Tikekar on Dec 05, 2006 02:47 PM  Permalink 

The Author seems to be keen on selling the idea of buying home as an investment based on advice provided by Realtors themselves.Now that's credibility for you! Going by the US experience, the following myths have fallen flat on their face -
1) Property prices never go down.
2) Property as an investment always yields higher return fixed income instruments.
3) Buying property is always better than renting.
4) You can use the property for renting and have additional income (provided you have no loan obligation against the rented property).
and many more....

People must be very careful against buying into these views and should make property decisions based on their income and investment (risk/return) profiling.

Total 22 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2