Total 300 messages Pages < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>
Nothing new
by C G on Jan 03, 2008 11:56 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

The descrimination to indians is not new. Wether its in cricket or in hospitality (latest case of insult to Taj hotles). But the worst is when indians do that. For example many times in arilines i have seen indian airhostess taking pathetically (literally ignoring) indians compared to white skin. I really dont know whats the basic problem...

RE:Nothing new
by Ashok Gupta on Jan 03, 2008 01:22 PM  Permalink
In many ways we have also brought it upon ourselves.I was at heathrow taking a flight into india.While there was order amongst the non Indians there was complete mayhem amongst us. Pushing/screaming which was very embarrasing. We also ogle at white women,have seen it in hotels in India and even at clubs.
As for discos,singles should not be allowed in at all irrespective of any colour as after drinks it does get out of control and makes others un-comfortable. We have wealth which does not always mean we have manners as well and unfortunately we all pay the price for a rowdy lot. Look at airports how we push to get the advantage of checking in or boarding flights or getting off the plane. How we irritate others by talking loudly into cell phones. Not all of us but many of us.

you are right
by sujatha kamalaksha on Jan 03, 2008 11:55 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear Sidin,
I hate to admit but you are right...its not only Indians, Asians treat other asians badly...This was my experience in London.But it hitting below belt when it happens in our own country that you are treated like grub.Guess you need to tackle them then and there.And we are the same people who talk abt racism all over the west against us.We dont treat out own people with respect.

RE:you are right
by madan bondal on Jan 03, 2008 01:24 PM  Permalink
Why did our elders fought for independence if we were to lick 'goras' boots for money and living? It is in our blood to serve 'goras' in perpetuity!

True colors of India.
by Rajesh Kumar on Jan 03, 2008 11:49 AM  Permalink 

Its really about indians. This is greedy indian. They have forgotten everything before money. All are looters and only loot us. Forget about respect.

Everyday when I get up only pray that I do not meet any humiliation. Everyone from autowala, sabjiwala, gatekeeper and people is bus, shops , office all are full of rustics and do not respect their own people.

I have very bad and uncultured country for our children.

goa
by Indian on Jan 03, 2008 11:26 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dear Guys,

This is not a matter of Hindu or Christian. This is a matter of Dollars. Everybody want to make money. If you propose to make a holiday trip, please avoid Lungi, Pyjama, Kurta, Khadi, Lengoti etc., be smart.

RE:RE:goa
by abcd on Jan 03, 2008 11:49 AM  Permalink
This exactly the problems is ! In the mindset of people like you, a gora in buy one get one free 5 dollar track suit is 'smarter' than a millionaire businessman from Pune in dhoti.

You have this mindset that has been instilled in you that lungi or kurta pyjama is an inferior dress and not smart.

I tell you, if you are talking about money, 80% of Goras who come to India are cash stripped budget travellers, who thousands of our dhoti clad small businessman can %u2018buy%u2019 lock stock and barrel.

Classic example of what that has been talked before. Because u have have been conditioned, you consider dhoti or kurta pyjama to be an inferior dress! This needs to be changed. For your kind information, British didn%u2019t know that one should take a shower everyday, They saw Indians doing it and then started. They used to take a bath once a week or so before :D.

RE:RE:RE:goa
by Jaleel Chamaruddin on Jan 03, 2008 12:11 PM  Permalink
BTW no one cares a damn for our milliones if you dont have manners and etiquettes.

So you meant to say that millioners should dress shabbily and behave as if they own others ?

My dear friend abcd, we arent in dark ages.

RE:goa
by jas on Jan 03, 2008 12:37 PM  Permalink
hahaha... Jaleel uddin says people to get to 21st centuty :) That was the first joke I heard in 2008 and better than Sidin's piece...

by abcd on Jan 03, 2008 12:32 PM  Permalink
Mr Jaleel

So you are saying that manners and etiquettes are measured by a yardstick set up by western world? You should have read Swami Vivekananda%u2019 address ! Yes we don%u2019t hold doors open for women and we don%u2019t say artificial pleasantries to them, but Hinduism tells them to respect as our mothers and sisters.
and not like west, you say polite things but next thing you want it get laid, or you objectify women a %u2018thing%u2019 to desire. We don%u2019t need western benchmark for our thinking , way of life. Our Hindu value system is greatest , and it was NEVER IN Dark ages- that is a term for Europeans. We were ahead before, and we will be ahead soon.

by Jaleel Chamaruddin on Jan 03, 2008 12:10 PM  Permalink
Thats because average temperatures in Britain is very low and freezing around the year, Even in Russia to this day Russians dont take bath every day. how the hell is going to take bath every day when temperatures never rise above 10 celcius. Plus it doesnt get so dirty in Britain or Russia because there is no dirt there in air.

Now see India , temperatures so hot , sweaty, and humid, and you need to take bath daily.

Apply your brain please.

True
by Sun on Jan 03, 2008 11:24 AM  Permalink 

It is more in states like Kerala & Goa where a lot of white skinned bums turn up. I havent seen much in other states like Karnataka or Mumbai etc.There atleast they see the person & his behavior. Its the worst in these two states.

Moderator biased?
by m m on Jan 03, 2008 10:07 AM  Permalink 

Who is the moderator here? If you see some of the comments you see the 'report abuse' button is disabled. Does that mean the moderator will take the call and enforce that no one has an opportunity to report abuse? If this platform of discussion has to be unbiased give everyone an opoortunity to express their views.

Bad article
by INDARTIX on Jan 03, 2008 09:27 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Very badly written. Rediff please dont allow ignorant people to post their columns as you will lose your credibility.

RE:Bad article
by Rajesh Kumar on Jan 03, 2008 11:53 AM  Permalink
who perhaps u. the truth is more than what is written. Pain can not be described. It can only be experienced.

Perhaps u see only shahrukh movies.

The only solution
by abcd on Jan 03, 2008 07:44 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

What is being discussed here is result of 800 years of History of rampage, loot, killings and psychological systematic denigration of Hindu Indians and psyche, first by Muslims and later by British.

Hindus have lost a sense of pride in their own identity, culture, languages and glorious achievements- all of which stem from the base of Sanatan Dharma (Hinduism) and its values.

Unless a revival of Hindu identity, a strong sense of pride of our religion and way of life, a correct version of History^ and Present , and a strong Hindu Rashtra is emerged, these problems will persist.

^ ( e.g. Akbar was not Great as depicted, Aurangjeb should not have a single place named after him, Mother Teresa was a Missionary with a mission to convert, and Aryan-Dravidian theory is a British Invention

RE:The only solution
by Jobin V on Jan 03, 2008 08:16 AM  Permalink
Do we need a Hindu Identity??
I am myself a "Hindu", but bringing in religion will only complicate things. The bad behavioral pattern is not to be linked with any religion, but the general attitude of the people - be it a hindu, muslim or a christian. If religion helps to change the atitude, why didnt it change by now?? Take the case of Japan - The dont have any particular religion - But it is one of the most peaceful country, with negligible crime rate, and people with the best social etiquette ! Indians tend to be like this, because it was like this before, and it is the same reason why british could come in and plunder, same reason why we are still developing in spite of having rich resources in terms of man power and material. Still, no one is to blame, we have to put aside blaming each other or a particular religion or a set of people, we just have to change ourselves and love our country better.

by doc_cent on Jan 03, 2008 10:21 AM  Permalink
Wrong on both counts. Japan has two major religions - Shintoism and Buddhism. Japanese are amongst the most violent people in the world as is evident by their suicide rate. But they are superior to us in at least one field, that is they love their country and honour their emperor (seniors). They do not wash their dirty linen in public as many of us so-called urbane, elitist public-school educated, money-minded, US-Green visa aspirants do.

by Jobin V on Jan 03, 2008 10:40 AM  Permalink
I dont want to be pro Japan either, I was just showing Japan as an example. Suicide rate there is comparable to that of India. They have religion but none of the people follow them seriously as we do. They are not even 10 % violent compared to us Indians - Violent in terms of hurting others. If religion unifies us, why are we not yet unified?? If religion helps, why was there Gujarat and why are there Islamic terrorists?? religion is proving to be more troublesome than the merrits it has.

by Rajni Mishra on Jan 03, 2008 10:51 AM  Permalink
Religion is a matter of private faith and belief. When used in public domain, or political purposes, it becomes a scourge. Late Haribansh Rai Bachchan wrote "Mandir masjid bhed karate, mail karati madhusala"

RE:RE:RE:The only solution
by abcd on Jan 03, 2008 09:50 AM  Permalink
Jobin dont make statements by putting 'Religions' and Hinduism in same bracket. Other religions and Hinduism are not comparable, Hinduism is not a religion by that definition of 'religion' under which Islam and Christianity etc fall.

Every nation, society needs a soul, aplatform, aunifying factor. And that soul of India, culturally, historically, and socially is -Sanatan Dharama.

Untill our nation doesnt aquire a collective Hindu concious, a pride in our Hindu history and culture, we cant think of astrong India. It doesnt mean subjugating other religions, but they should have their place- foreign religions, though acceptable and allowed to live with us, but tahts it.

by piyush bakshi on Jan 03, 2008 10:28 AM  Permalink
religion comes into the picture.. it unites a lot of us. a common thread running through us, we need to take hold of this thread.. the US swears by its religion, and all muslim countries are kattar. indians are divided by language, caste, customs but bound by religion so we need to hold on to this thread

by abcd on Jan 03, 2008 10:54 AM  Permalink
Jobin What you are mumbling about? Are you talking about uniting Hindu and Muslims by giving example of Gujarat? Islamic Terrorism is not because of Hindus. Islamic Terrorism is everywhere, not just in India, and we are not discussing that. Also this is topic not about Hindu Muslim Unity! Don%u2019t get confused and don%u2019t confuse others. This topic is about Hindu Unity. Get it right first. Second Hindus are not violent, too pacifist in fact. We need to remember King Porus and Maharana Paratap and Shivaji and Arjun and Krishna%u2019s message and give Gandhi and his failed experiments some rest

RE:RE:The only solution
by rahul raj on Jan 03, 2008 01:34 PM  Permalink
MEANINGS OF HINDU
The word Hindu is not a religious word. It is secular in origin. It has been derived from the word Indo, Sindhu, which is the name of a major river that flows in the northwestern region of the Indian subcontinent. The ancient Greeks and Armenians used to refer the people living beyond the river Sindhu as Hindus and gradually the name struck. After centuries the Aryans came down, and where they started living, they named the place Aryavart and long afterwards it was named as Bhartvarsh. When the Muslims came to the subcontinent they called the people living in the region as Hindustanis to distinguish them from the foreign Muslims. Subsequently when the British established their rule, they started calling the local religions collectively under the name of Hinduism. So whosoever was living across the Sindhu was called Indu & now Hindu whether Muslim, Christian etc.

RE:RE:RE:The only solution
by rahul raj on Jan 03, 2008 01:35 PM  Permalink
It is interesting to note that the word is neither Sanskrit nor Dravidian and did not originate in India. The word Hindu is also not mentioned in Hindu Scriptures. If, we go by the original definition of the word Hindu, any one who lives in the subcontinent is generally a Hindu, whatever religion he or she practices. It took the shape of an "Ism" lately, by Pundits and Brahmins. The rites, sects and ceremonies prevailing in the valley of River Sind were named as Hinduism. It means Hinduism in itself is nothing. It is a formulation and manipulation of Pundits and Brahmins and not of any Avtar or God.

by Jobin V on Jan 03, 2008 03:08 PM  Permalink
Did I ever in any of my posts Blame Hinduism??
Go through all of my posts again. All I said is that religion is not doing what it should. If it did, Why are there communal riots?? And the Muslim terrorists did follow Islam and the people who killed Muslims in Gujarat follower Hinduism. Now dont tell me Muslim terrorists are not Muslims and the Gujarat rioters are not Hindus!!

I am not againt any religion. There is no need for Hindus to be United, as i believe they are united now. The only thing we have to do is to love our country, and everything will be alright.

by sai on Jan 03, 2008 11:50 AM  Permalink
welll u still havent understood it, but u typed it... Hindu doesnt resemble a religion.. its about culture ,a way of life ,everything Indian...
I have seen so many Indians even if they wear suits ,the suits look awkward on Indians..
The english looks awkward from Indian mouths too...
Every person or community who doesnt believe in his own identity and his own way of life has been a slave...
Yes some aspects of Hinduism or indianness might be old ,but we can modernise them without much influence from the west.

by Rajesh Kumar on Jan 03, 2008 11:57 AM  Permalink
We should have only human identity. Hindus have suppressed its own people for long. That mentality still exists. Thats they try to find some other way to humilate its own people. We do not respect others. Same happens with god also. Thats why each indian has its own god ( more than its population on earth). Where as others have one or two or no gods.

by abcd on Jan 03, 2008 12:16 PM  Permalink
Stop blaming Hindus and Hinduism for everything! Human Identity? Whats that? A bollywood song writers concept that has made us Hindus butt of everyone's jokes and being killed by everyone?

by rahul raj on Jan 03, 2008 01:30 PM  Permalink
chal tu bata hindu dharam kya hai abe kaha se chori kiya yeh lecture tujhe maloom karna hai toh mujh se pooch le

SACRIFICING SELF TO PLEASE THOSE WHO HATE US
by keshav kumar on Jan 03, 2008 07:13 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

WE HAVE THIS TRAIT IN ALL HINDUS. OUR GOVT. PRACTICES EVEN MORE. WHEN HINDUS ARE BOMBED OR BLASTED, OUR GOVT. IGNORES THEM AS IF NOTHING HAPPENED BUT IT STARTS SHEDDING TEARS AND STARTS PAYING HUGE COMPENSATIONS IF THOSE INVOLVED ARE NON-HINDUS AND FOREIGNERS.
PURE SELF DEPRECIATION !!!
K.K.VAISOHA

RE:SACRIFICING SELF TO PLEASE THOSE WHO HATE US
by rahul raj on Jan 03, 2008 01:37 PM  Permalink
abe popat chup kuch bhi mat bol jab nahi pata hai to prove kar phir bol

RE:RE:SACRIFICING SELF TO PLEASE THOSE WHO HATE US
by rahul raj on Jan 03, 2008 01:44 PM  Permalink
Hindu Scriptures: "There is no likeness of Him." [Svetasvatara Upanishad 4:19]

* Hindu Scriptures: "His form is not to be seen; no one sees Him with the eye." [Svetasvatara Upanishad 4:20]

* Hindu Scriptures: "That which cannot be seen by the eyes, but by which the eyes see, [Kena Upanishad]

* Hindu Scriptures: "The Formless Supreme Spirit that pervades the universe can have no material representation, likeness or image." -- (Yajur Veda 32:3.)

* Hindu Scriptures: "He is bodiless and pure." [Yajurveda 40:8]

RE:RE:RE:SACRIFICING SELF TO PLEASE THOSE WHO HATE US
by rahul raj on Jan 03, 2008 01:45 PM  Permalink
Hindu Scriptures: "Of Him there are neither parents nor lord." [Svetasvatara Upanishad 6:9]

* Hindu Scriptures: "They are enveloped in darkness, in other words, are steeped in ignorance and sunk in the greatest depths of misery who worship the uncreated, eternal prakrti -- the material cause of the world -- in place of the All-pervading God, but those who worship visible things born of the prakrti, such as the earth, trees, bodies (human and the like) in place of God are enveloped in still greater darkness, in other words, they are extremely foolish, fall into an awful hell of pain and sorrow, and suffer terribly for a long time" (Yajur Veda 40:9.)

* Hindu Scriptures: "Those whose intelligence has been stolen by material desires surrender unto demigods and follow the particular rules and regulations of worship according to their own natures." [Bhagavad Gita 7:20]

RE:SACRIFICING SELF TO PLEASE THOSE WHO HATE US
by rahul raj on Jan 03, 2008 01:53 PM  Permalink
Hindu Scriptures: " There maybe someone who sees the words and yet indeed does not see them; may be another one who hears these words but indeed does not hear them." [Rigveda 10:71:4]

NAME OF KALKI AVTAR
* According to Kalki Puran the name of Kalki Avtar will be "SARWANAMA".

The meaning of "ANAMA" is praised one and "SARW" mean most of all, so "Sarwanama" means the most praised one and in Arabic language "Muhammad " has the same meaning, if we translate Sanskrit word Sarwanama in to Arabic language it will be "Muhammad" only difference is the language.

PARENTS OF KALKI AVTAR
* "He will be born from "SOOMATI" and his father's name will be "VAISHNUVESH"." (Kalki Puran 2, Shloka II)

No Indians, please!
by Amakant Chaudhary on Jan 03, 2008 06:15 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Perhaps Narendra Modi can find a solution to this Hindu self discrimation too.

Total 300 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Older >   >>