hai sir, I am very poor in English. I am not able communicate with others in english and i am not able to write in english sugest me any suggestions . I want to get job in BPOs.please hekp me.sir.
Dear Sir, here I\'ma having a problem with buidling up a sentence with suitable words. When I have to speak before my team members, I\'m feeling that I\'m not sure abot this sentence i.e., Is I\'m talking is correct or not, while talking of english, it is difficult to build up the words to form a sentence. For this reason I cannot talk english confidently. What I should do to have accent english, there should not be searching for words. Plz help me to speack accent,flow and good english. Because I want to join in call center.
RE:problem in building a sentence
by arshad khan on Mar 20, 2007 03:08 PM Permalink
Hi Krishna, that problem which u r facing is bit similar to everyone who does not go through newspapers and those who did not read books. So if u wanna improve u r vocubalary skill then I must advise u to go through certain books and daily newspapers and please do try to go through dictionaries as well so that u can able to understand the sentence with complete ease. If this does not make any sense then the appropriate thing will be
RE:problem in building a sentence
by arindam majumdar on May 01, 2007 02:43 PM Permalink
Please learn to write basic english correctly before even dreaming about accented english.u are leagues behind most of them now. Make a habbit of reading a daily reputed newspaper to get your act together.
Dear Sir/Madam, First of all I want to tell you that before four months i cann't speak in english but after joined English Institue and learn english today i have lots of confidence and today i can speak english and write in english but i problem is here plz solve sir will i continue this course or broke off? and one thing i want to tell you that today i am doing job but nobody (Staff) speak in english so that is not good for me, so i will continue this job or leave it. Plz solve my problem
RE:Improve English
by Ajay Sharma on Mar 16, 2007 02:32 AM Permalink
ANY LANGUAGE OR ANY BOOK OR ANY LESSON WILL NOT WASTE IN ANYBODYS LIFE.SO PROCEED YOUR STUDIES IN ANY MANNER IN FUTURE THERE WILL BE VERY VERY POSITIVE ADVANTAGE.
by narender giri on Mar 28, 2007 02:25 PM Permalink
Don't get frustrated that no one in ur office speaks english,try to find out the opportunities to speak english oftenly.And you'll find yourself full of confidence.
by HeMaL on Apr 19, 2007 06:13 AM Permalink
By the way, Which institute you have joined ?? I am looking for any good english institute in Mumbai.
by sonu gupta on Apr 18, 2007 04:46 PM Permalink
Dear Haseen
it is not a big ishu.you should try to speek english with your friends & try to speek english words everywhere.you should countinu your study .if someone will be not talk with you in english you listion english music,magzine,news papar.
RE:RE:Improve English
by Abhilash Sharma on Apr 22, 2007 03:01 PM Permalink
Learning english language is a continuous process, which includes all the four factors i.e. reading, writing, speaking and understanding. So, if u'r involved in a learning process with an institute, that's good, dont stop till u feel urself confident in english.Besides that i can provide u few tips which can support u in increasing ur knowledge of english language: 1. read newspaper articles especially editorial page aloud, check the spellings, mark the difficult words and check their meanings after u complete ur reading in dictionaries. 2. watch news channels like ndtv 24*7 or timesnow... try to catch the neutral accent which their newsreaders use...it'll certainly give u the idea how to speak clearly and with neutral accent 3. keep working on ur english grammar skills...for this i'll advise u to study a quality grammar book like wren and martin's. 4. for speaking practice....try to take part actively in all the speech sessions provided in ur coaching institute, also speak as much as u can with ur coaching friends/teachers....u can also try speaking to urself infront of mirror...that helps a lot. 5. don't worry if u'll make mistakes, but keep correcting urself, just remember that u have to speak as much as u can...as i said in the beginning, its an ongoing process...so u'll get the confidence gradually. Remember u cannot learn swimming without entering inside the swimming pool. Goodluck for ur future.....
The author needs her english checked. Hard to take advice from someone who:
Uses "complimentary" for "Complementary"
Misspells "practise" (Practice)
Too bad I see such lousy English in most Indian journalism today. When I graduated from Campion School in Bombay in the 70s, I distinctly recall getting a great foundation in the English language which still amazes Americans today.
RE:BPO Interview Skills
by rax raja on Mar 15, 2007 03:12 PM Permalink
To the English guru: "...in most Indian journalism today..." Your English sounds pretty lousy to me. Wonder what great foundations you are referring to? Get back to licking the Americans' amazing asses or you might get the pink slip...
RE:RE:RE:BPO Interview Skills
by Jurist Jurist on Mar 17, 2007 09:00 AM Permalink
Hai Vina Pattimone, Stop barking nonsense grand old man. Don't think that you are in an elite class. Do you know that so many Indians in India are earning more than your US Salary and a lot of Indians are refusing US Job offers. Don't reveal your slave mentality old man.
by Sidhartha on Mar 17, 2007 12:54 AM Permalink
HANGING OUT IN INDIA!!!!!! Listen up ,you Self proclaimed saviour of the English language i reckon that what YOU are doing in America is called "hanging out".I and the rest of your worthy opponents "LIVE OR RESIDE" in India. With regards to your immature banter regarding asking calls to be transferred to a North American call center i know what level of service they give to people with an Indian name in America and reflects how even after all these years you are still trying to find your identity in a foreign country and makes you believe that abusing or saying things about your home country will make you one of those . Too bad that the great institutes of education like Mayo College and Campion couldn't inject basic human values like modesty and humility in one of their demented students. One more example of American variation to the English language is the word "color" whereas Indians or the Brits write it as "colour". Nothing wrong in that but just shows how Americans have accepted it but a confused desi still has to come to terms with it.With regards to your knowledge about Indian journalism, it is as less as a man's experience about periods. Don't worry ,the rate at which jobs are being offshored to India it won't be long before you and your community of wannabe Americans have to take a one way ticket back to India for good. I don't want to be as abusive as Rax Raja but its diffucult not to agree with him.
RE:RE:RE:RE:BPO Interview Skills
by on Mar 19, 2007 09:31 PM Permalink
I love you for this. You spoke my heart out. Thank you and I respect you too much now, GOOD JOB!!! Raja Hindustani
by rax raja on Mar 15, 2007 10:53 PM Permalink
Haha, the uncle is mad now. Oye 'campion' uncle, you are the bitter one arent you? Your ranting sounds like 'typical desi response'. You went to the US, but you are stuck with some kind of wierd 70s Indian mentality. Grow up grandpa!
RE:BPO Interview Skills
by Mohd Haris on Mar 15, 2007 10:50 AM Permalink
Sorry to burst yer bubble of grandeur, but practice is also spelt 'practise' in England and Canada. India follows the British legacy, which I'm sure you would've known since you talk about the 70s foundation in the English language yada yada...
Practice is the American spelling, which is fine sure, but not conforming to Rediff's British English norm.
Didn't you get that when yah saw REDIFF CONNEXIONS (totally Brit), instead of Rediff Connections? There again!
And about the complimentary point, the one with an "i" also means "that costs nothing", hence the author could be referring to the skills that'd cost nothing to add on to yer repertoire.
RE:RE:BPO Interview Skills
by vina pitroda on Mar 15, 2007 07:27 PM Permalink
I grant you Practise
Your grammar is lacking when it comes to complimentary. Its likely you are dumb enough to use "principle" and "principal" incorrectly. I wouldn't be surprised. (Perhaps being a Canadian, you suffer an identity crisis - not quite lucky or smart enough to be in America, and confused about being of British or French heritage !!)
As for CONNEXION, you made up a fact that it is British. CONNEXION was first used as an Internet Access Service brand name by Boeing - the last time I checked, it was an American company.
by rax raja on Mar 15, 2007 10:57 PM Permalink
My my, what have we here, a boot-licking immigrant racist! America, British, French... Remember brownie, the white folks will always consider you that. A nigger. You slave.
I have little bit problem in writing i will make lots of smiling mistakes form childhood.And i have nervous to meet the highers even though iam good in work also i feel gulity.So how should i put nice words while writing and speaking. email : krsnaprem@sify.com
RE:How to be free in talking to the higher officers just like GM or Team Lead
by bhagya sri on Mar 14, 2007 04:11 PM Permalink
Hi Prem, Its common thing, but confident about ur self, no need to be nervous at all.
RE:RE:How to be free in talking to the higher officers just like GM or Team Lead
by prem on Mar 15, 2007 02:31 PM Permalink
Thank u for giving this advice.But due have any tips for being confindent on our own.switch on the boldness.
Dear sir, I m Jitender khokhar,my english is not so much good but its ok,I have also less communication skills.How can I improve my communication skills & my english. Please give me some tips.
RE:How can improve communication skills?
by dream on Mar 13, 2007 05:37 PM Permalink
Jitender my best advise for you is... Daily read english news paper & keep dictionary while doing this to get translation for critical words.
Make friendship with few people who can speak good english & try to talk to them in english...Office is the best place to communicate in english at first everybody will try to point your mistakes but soon you can feel better.... In english eventhough you are talking with mistakes you can make others feel confortable with your accent... so better watch BBC, CNN news and try to imitate that accent..
Few years back my english is not good now i am not saying i am perfect but i can speak in such a accent where people very hard to find the mistakes in it.
by Swaati on Mar 13, 2007 10:01 PM Permalink
Jitender, read Hindu Daily newspaper's bigger articles for one hour aloud behind closed doors with a dictionary at hand. Later after a few weeks add some attitude and style to your reading. This truly works.
by rax raja on Mar 15, 2007 03:16 PM Permalink
Become a butler in the British embassy. Gore tuzhe sikha denge inglis.
Read books. English books. Books by British or American Authors. Newspapers are boring. They will never teach you. I learnt al my expressive English by reading novels and stories.
RE:how to improve
by bhagya sri on Mar 14, 2007 04:14 PM Permalink
Hi Madhavan ITs a common thing that many people suffer with this, its not shy basically its a fear that u may make mistakes. But if u continuoe this way u will never learn, get out of it. right or wrong u speak out. then only u will learn. Have a nice time.
Start talking in English with your friends / acquaintances in English. Don%u2019t mind if your grammar / pronunciation is wrong. You will gain confidence and the shyness will gradually go away when you start talking in English.
There is also a website http://www.fluentzy.com/ which is about speaking English fluently. You can check it out. Would be of help. And you can watch English TV channels %u2013 I feel, Indian English News channels would be better. That would also be of help.
Your English speaking skills would definitely get better with practice.
RE:RE:how to improve
by harshal shah on Mar 13, 2007 04:38 PM Permalink
"Start talking in English with your friends / acquaintances in English"? Is this statement gramatically correct "SIR"?
RE:RE:RE:how to improve
by Rajesh S on Mar 13, 2007 05:59 PM Permalink
Sorry... should have read "Start talking in English with your friends / acquaintances."
RE:how to improve
by Swaati on Mar 13, 2007 10:03 PM Permalink
Madhavan, I repeat what I wrote for Jitender. Read Hindu Daily newspaper's bigger articles for one hour aloud behind closed doors with a dictionary at hand. Later after a few weeks add some attitude and style to your reading. This truly works. Everybody do it. Best wishes, Swaati