I am drawing 14K Per month. I can invest my 60% of my salary every month. I want to which investment plan is suitable for short term and long term, liquidity based with high return. Kindly advise me
RE:Investment
by Abhijit on May 18, 2006 11:29 PM Permalink
Usha liquidity and high returns are generally mutually exclusive. If you want high liquidity then you won't get high returns and vice-versa generally. Unless you are a day-trader which is a very risky business. If you say you can invest 60% of your 14K that comes to approx 8.5K every month. Now if you want to invest every month out of your salary then the best thing would be to opt for some SIP of some mutual fund. And yes you better opt for different types of schemes even for the SIPs. You could put some money in short-term debt funds (also called cash-funds) this provides you with high liquidity for some part of tour investment. Then opt for some growth fund for some part of your money. And yes now with the interest regime looking to go only one way - i.e. up don't go for long term debt schemes. Also if you consider Balanced Funds see whether their investment mandate allows them to park most of their funds on short tenure instruments, otherwise if a Balanced Fund's mandate requires them to park a lot of their funds on long term papers, then that fund is not going to perform well comparativey.
Watching the current volatility, FD's are the best bet for the short term and maybe a few Balanced Funds or Debt funds too. Investing in the market is still feasible if you are getting a good valuation for the blue chips and you have no short term plasns to move out of the market.
In times of rising chopiness in the market lent by umpteen factors its makes logical for a person to look towards the Portfolio Management Service (PMS), where the minimum investment starts as low as 5 lacs to as much as 5 crores in some cases. The flexibility with a PMS is that to move between a cash component and Equity which is a buffer in times of volatility and thus prevents the scheme from tanking down akin to a Mutual Fund Equity Scheme. The returns are also justified thanks to the specific stock picks that the Fund Manager takes, taking into account the maturity and perception of an individual who invests in a PMS would be looking at a duration of 1-3 years and not go punting which Indian investors are so fond of in a Mutual Fund Scheme.
RE:Look towards PMS
by jatin on May 20, 2006 06:33 PM Permalink
if you are looking for investment than the best opportunity is the real estate investment in north india . and the cos. are giving deals to nris also. and for further information u can contact me on jatinjuneja@rediffmail.com or 9811225566.
RE:Best Invest
by sanjib on May 19, 2006 07:33 AM Permalink
Keep an eye on Rediff Business site. They are offering great tips for investing in different fields...
RE:Where must I invest now? - Investing avenues.
by subirnandi on May 19, 2006 08:14 PM Permalink
Mr.Giri,
First I should tell you that instruments you picked are good but too many instruments may harm your goal. This the right time to invest in the mutual funds but how you can invest that i can guide you for that mail me at :-subir.nandi@rediffmail.com.