Iwant to do PhD in Hospital Accreditation in US, I aleady completed Graduation, MBA and M Phil. Can the funding take care of my avg expenses ( Living and Tution fees).
I would like to know how to make the begining, when these courses start. Any website which can give me links to all universitites at one place.
I am a computer science graduate with three years of experience in IT industry in Bangalore. I have also worked in US at client site for more than an year. will be writing GMAT in a few months time. Please suggest whether my work experience will help me in getting a good college and scholarship. Please guide me and provide your valuable suggestion.
RE:Want to do MBA in US
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 08, 2006 08:15 AM Permalink
Yes. Work Experience is very important When you are applying for MBA in US. Most of the people come with tons of experience or they might be even doing MBA part time while working.
You may not get scholarship beforehand along with admission, but If you do have good IT experience, you should be able to find some kind of assistantship or on campus job which will get you tution fees waiver.
Make sure you make contacts with Indian students in the Univ you are applying for or admitted univ and find out first hand information of the assistantship scenario
Roshan - MS in CS, Graduated from Univ of Houston, working now ( since 4 and half yrs in US )
RE:Want to do MBA in US
by Ravi on Aug 08, 2006 07:34 AM Permalink
Hi Santosh,
The question is veru subjective and the answer to the same depends on what specialization do you want to get your MBA into. As far as scholarships go, it is dependent on two basic things.
1) how much do you want the university versus how much the university wants you. For example, Wharton gets close to 10,000 applications (most of them very very qualified indiciduals) and therefore knows that if you dont accept their admission someone else very qualified will. The dynamic may be different with other schools.
2) How much can you negotiate. most of the indian students dont know this, but you can negotiate your aid package. for ex, if one comparable university is giving you $20,000 in aid then you can take this offer letter and let the other university you have applied to know that you would love to join their school but if they can better the offer from this pervious university. The key is to be civil and polite but not needy and desperate. remember that they also want talented people to come to their school for post graduation you are an ambassador for their brand.
RE:regardig F1
by kamesh on Aug 07, 2006 08:31 PM Permalink
certainly you can apply. But remember visa once refused on insufficent funds grounds becomes difficult again .better consult immigation lawyer michel fulwani in front of american embassy at bhulbhai desai road
RE:regardig F1
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 07, 2006 05:01 PM Permalink
Yes you can. Please do check http://in.rediff.com/getahead/abroad.html for more information on the same. All the best
I got my I-20 and was refused Visa that his dad bank balance is only $38000. Can one apply again if the student's father is taking educational loan and re-apply for Visa though extension of I-20 may be required. Any suggestion
RE:Refusal of Visa
by Giridhar on Aug 08, 2006 06:09 AM Permalink
Hi Vanlal,
Even my Visa was denied for the same reason the first time. However if you reapply with significant change in the amount, your chances of getting it the next time is relatively better.
Going in for an educational loan may or may not be conducive. He might feel that since you have taken a loan you may not come back and might work here(USA) to repay it. Again, he might not create any problem either. It's his sole discretion.
Anyway, i would recommend you to give it a try as i got it when i reapplied(with an educational loan). Just be prepared with a convincing answer when a question "How do you plan to repay your loan?" is asked. He should not get any trace/hint that you will be staying back at the USA after your studies.
Good Luck!!!
Regards, Giridhar MS in Electrical Engg.(Univ of Texas) (In the USA for 3 years)
I am in US(Cedarrapids IA) with H-4(dependent) visa. i did my B.Sc.in India and worked for 14 yrs in insurance sector.I would like to work here buti have heard 15 yrs education is not sufficient to get work visa. I need guidance. I want to work here.
RE:holding H-4 visa can i study
by mahesh nerlekar on Aug 07, 2006 10:53 PM Permalink
you can contact private consulting companies who can convert your H4 TO h1. They will also help you to find a job. They usualy charge around $1500 to 3000 for the same.
by Sameer on Aug 07, 2006 09:30 PM Permalink
You can get H1 with your experience. You can not study on H4 for sure. Best option is to contact indian bodyshoppers who would file for your H1 provided your spouse is ready to pay for H1 costs.
by krishna on Aug 08, 2006 07:52 AM Permalink
you might have to take some pre-requisite courses and you can change to f1 visa within US easily even with your 15 years of education.
My son will finish his 12 PCM in 2007 I would like to put him in Community College to pursue Diploma in Architechture. Can any experience help in chossing the right inastitution.
RE:Community College
by Jasbir on Aug 08, 2006 10:48 AM Permalink
It's advisable to go for Bachelors Degree rather than going for Diploma in US. You have to clear SAT and ToEFL for doing Bachelors.
Hi, I need to find complete information regd pursue of further studies in Law field in US. What Univ are good, how to get admission there (is it the same like givng GRE and applying in various Univ), amount of tuition fee and other expenditure etc. I have done Bachelors in Law from India 3 years back. I do hope that someone from this forum will be able to show some pointer/help me. Thanks much in advance.
RE:Law studies in US
by prasanth on Aug 07, 2006 11:14 PM Permalink
hi, in fields like biochem/mol-bio/immunology etc, a standard PhD from decent univ takes an average of 5 yrs including the rotation and prelim exam period. absence of pubs from masters shouldnt be a big problem but good recos and experience with lab techniques will boost your chances. hope this helps. good luck
RE:Law studies in US
by Kishor on Aug 08, 2006 05:54 AM Permalink
Search for LSAT information. One may need to appear for LSAT ( on the same lines of GRE and SAT) in order to get admission into Law Schools in US.
i completed my masters in biotechnology in 2005 .now i wish to write GRE and apply for phd in biochemistry/molecular biology in US. i wish to know-
1. how many years does it take to complete pHD in US
2.i had qualified for NET JRF exam to pursue pHD in India but failed to get a good lab..hence one year was wasted. how do i justify the gap in my studies while applying.
3. i dont have a research paper in masters..does that reduce my chances for being consideres for pHD?
4. how should i shortlist the universities.. that is how do i select from the loads of information available on the net.
RE:regarding phd in biological sciences
by Rediff Student Panel Expert on Aug 07, 2006 10:47 PM Permalink
1. how many years does it take to complete pHD in US
Ans. Average is 3 to 5yrs usually but it may be more in some Ivy league schools.
2.i had qualified for NET JRF exam to pursue pHD in India but failed to get a good lab..hence one year was wasted. how do i justify the gap in my studies while applying.
Just dont mention.
3. i dont have a research paper in masters..does that reduce my chances for being consideres for pHD?
Basically, papers are a plus in application. But if you dont have its ok. You should get a good GRE and TOEFL with very good letter of recommendation and nicely written statement of purpose.
4. how should i shortlist the universities.. that is how do i select from the loads of information available on the net.
First give your GRE bcoz good schools need a high GRE scores so if you have that then check ranking at www.usnews.com you can find more university at www.gradschools.com
by Rohit on Aug 07, 2006 11:01 PM Permalink
Hey,
Since Chicago is a big entry point,there would be many ppl trying to enter US through Chicago, if u are getting delayed ..all you have to do is catch hold of a security officer,who might be around somewhere and let him know. But yeah be polite. I had similar problem but they are more than willing to cooperate...Best of luck...
Frankly telling you, it is very difficult for to get a PhD position in US with Indian masters. Lot people will say it is possible, but in reality rarest of rare people with Indian masters (expection IITs or IISc) have got a PhD position in well reputed US universities. Even with Masters from IITs, the professor in US will see under which professor you have done your Master Thesis & the international standing of that prof. Regarding that you have cleared NET or some other stuff, use your head, why a prof.in US will care about some exam in India,really they hardly care for it.99.9% profs in US or in Europe even do not knoz what it stands for.Best advise what i can give u is that,do you masters again in US. Do not say no way i will do another masters again.I have seen lot of jerks who think they are geeks in science getting struck with that ego.With ur Indian master,with a good GPA score, u can surely get the scholarship or T/A for MS course in a good US uni . Plus it will help & give u more time & broader prespective about your subject in US. This will help you in finding a really good lab. Doing a PhD with a good lab in US is no bloody joke.You will see it. Good luck!!
by Sridhar on Aug 08, 2006 01:44 PM Permalink
hi,
It will take 5 years in US for your Ph.D as my sisiter completed recently from ohio. Sice you are a fresher , not having a publication doesnt mean that your admission chances will be hampered. BUt I would ask also for you to apply to germany and nearby european labs as there you can finish the phd in 3 years and you have publications. In europe you have to apply to the individual professors.
I was rejected the visa for US at the time of attacks so I came to germany for my PhD studies. Its nice here and and there lot of options for your area of interest.
by vishu on Aug 08, 2006 02:35 AM Permalink
Dear Swati,
I am presently in University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee doing my PhD in Biological sciences.I know a thing or two about applying to US for bio stream.When you apply, the department looks at all the criteria for admission and not a single point.If your overall score(calculated from GRE,Academics,Research XP,Toefl etc) places you high on admissions list the better the chance you have for admission.It does not seriously hamper your admission odds if you dont have a publication.As for the one year gap you mentioned,being honest with your application seems the right thing for me.There are a few sites which have a list of Universities based on field of study(Petersons.com,f1-study.com.50states.com etc)which might help you to shortlist universities once you take GRE.Important thing in bio PhD admissions is that you get an approval from a professor in the department which necessitates prior contact with the profs before applying.Remember that some univs use GRE scores to filter applicants.
I am through with the process you are going through now, so i though I may be some help to you.If you want any more info, dont hesitate to contact me.
by deepanshu on Aug 08, 2006 02:49 AM Permalink
it takes abt 4-5 yrs to do ur phd depending on ur capability to do it.
having a publicaion is obviously good, but many people get admission without it too. so dont worry too much abt it. its thw whole application that matters, not 1 particular thing.
by nandita k on Aug 08, 2006 03:46 PM Permalink
Hi
Don't worry about the delay for the connecting flight.
Samething happened to me also as I was delayed at Philadelphia International Airport and I had to take the connecting flight to Allentown. I had to go from International airport to Domestic Airport.
But the surprising thing was the airlines people contacted the pilot who was on the runway to bring the plane back, put my luggage, got the steps for me to climb and made me feel comfortable with drinks and snacks.
by bharath on Aug 08, 2006 12:35 AM Permalink
hi try applying to plant biotch at the msswaminathan research foundation chennai. this is a very good lab set up by the father of green revolution
I am going to Wayne State University, Detroit on 12th of august by 3 interconnecting planes. I am going to Delhi from Kolkata by Sahara Airlines 11th august, at 15:05. After that, I have a booking in American Airlines from Delhi to Chicago at 00:15 (12th) which will reach Chicago at 05:35. Besides, I have another booking in American Airlines from Chicago to Detroit at 07:19 (12th). As Chicago is the first entry of my attending US, so I have heard that it would take some time for them to check my immigration status at Chicago Airport. But the time interval between the arrival time of the Delhi-Chicago Flight and the departure time of the Chicago-Detroit Flight is not quite long. Will it be a big trouble for me to catch the Chicago-Detroit Flight at 07:19 after the immigration checking (the arrival time of Delhi-Chicago Flight is 05:35)? Is there any possibility that I can miss the Flight from Chicago to Detroit at 07:19? I tried to cancel the booking and tried hard to book a flight at a later time, but I couldnt find any seat at those Flights. What should I do? Should I inform it to the airhostess just before arriving Chicago from Delhi that I have an interconnecting Flight at 07-19 towards Detroit? Or should I dont think about it at all? Kindly help me in this matter.
RE:Problems facing due to 3 interconnecting flights
by Shirish on Aug 08, 2006 01:11 PM Permalink
Hi,
As said earlier, two hours should be sufficient.
In case you feel you are getting delayed (your queue is moving slowly) you can always go to the front of the queue and request the persons there to allow you after explaining your problem. I had done that once. People are considerate.
by Prasannaa Ganesan on Aug 08, 2006 01:58 PM Permalink
You don't have to worry about being delayed or missing a flight. If there happens to be a problem because of the airline delay or airport officials including immigrations, you can be certain that you will be put in a flight that flies to the destination ( either a direct or a connecting one) soon. Everyone out there understands the circumstances well and it should never be a problem. Have a safe trip and all the best for your higher education. One thing you need to make sure is you communicate well to the airport officials. Even if the delay was caused by them, be polite in asking them if they can put you on a flight that still takes you the deisred destination faster among the alternatives being provided.
by rabi panda on Aug 08, 2006 12:44 AM Permalink
hi indrajit u can inform the airhostess and also do not need to worry much. if u miss ur last flight then the airlines will arange for other flight.if that is ur connecting flight they'd do it. in the worst case be prepared to buy another flight tikcet. stay cool rabi
by Anush on Aug 11, 2006 11:53 PM Permalink
Well, I dont need to add much, but I had the same problem. Delhi-London - Miami - Houston. My flight got delayed at London and the immigration took 3-4 hrs (phew...nebody reading...avoid Miami..thats where the whole of South America lands..lol). I landed in Miami at 2 p.m, had my connecting flight at 4 p.m. Anyway, eventhough it was really frustrating, the folks at the Ailine were very nice. They offered to set me up with another flight at 5.30 p.m...I missed that too, and they still set me up with another flight at 9.30 p.m (yep...thats how long I waited..it was fun though). The best thing to do is to STAY CALM. You are now in the U.S and even if you miss ur flight its not like the world is gonna end. Normally the airline which has the connecting flight will come and announce at the immigration counter that the flight is gonna leave and will ask for those who were scheduled on that flight. Depending on the circumstances, they will put you on another flight of the same airline or a different airline. BUT THE MOST IMPORTANT THING IS THIS. CONFIRM WITH SAHARA AIRLINE THAT YOU ARE ALLOWED TO CARRY 2 BAGGAGES WEIGHING 50 POUNDS in you flight from Kol - Del.
Two hours is plenty of time to clear immigration at Chicago. Get to the immigration line quickly once you get off the plane. But DO NOT TELL the immigration officer that you have a flight to catch or tell him to hurry. Be very polite and have your documents in order.
If you miss the connecting flight because of immigration clearance delay, the airline will put you on the next flight.
by Krish on Aug 08, 2006 08:27 AM Permalink
Hi, I think you may just be able to make it. The chances of your making it are just ten percent, to tell you frankly, on this connecting flight. Of course do not hurry the immigration officer. You see, Chicago is a big airport,( maybe the biggest in the world ) and I am pretty sure you will have to change terminals, which itself may take a little while. In case you miss the connecting flight, not to worry, even though the reservation system may show flight full here, for the later flight, there will always be one or two seats to spare, and the airline staff at the airport will accommodate you if you explain. Best of luck
by Shashank Singh on Aug 08, 2006 12:11 AM Permalink
As said in earlier reply don't show any hurry to immigration officer or airport authority. Just be cool and calm. Probably what you can do is to be among the first one to get off the plane so that you are atleast ahead of few hundreds of people who travelled along with you. This would save you enough time.
At immigration check it doesn't takes more than few minutes just your finger printing and they would ask you your purpose of visit, etc. Only time spent is standing in the line and waiting for your turn to reach immigration officer.
I guess you should be able to catch the connecting flight if everything goes smooth and there is no delay in flight.
by Tarun Sharma on Aug 07, 2006 08:14 PM Permalink
I dont think airlines usually account for immigration delays and perhaps accomodate passengers in the following flight only if the previous connecting flight arrived late.
by Amitdyuti Sengupta on Aug 07, 2006 11:54 PM Permalink
HI
I read your email and as replied by rediff experts, two hours is enough time to clear immigrations. I passed O'Hare myself and they have lots of counter to easily handel the visitors.
By any chance you miss Chi-Det flight you can be put as "Stand By" pessanger and made to board any of the numerous flights for Detroit that day. You will not be charged so relax again!!!
by Ch V Kalyan on Aug 07, 2006 10:22 PM Permalink
Hi,
you could also try and get a seat towards the front of the aircraft (as much as possible!). Also, the overall process in chaicago processes about 75 peole in about 15 mins incase there is no major delays and hence you should be safe with 1 hr 45 mins that you have.
Another advice, pls try and arrange with the airlines for your lugage as you need to collect luggage and since the time for the flight is going to be less, check-in at the boarding gate than check-in after customs check. Because there is a time constrain, the possibility that the luggage will be arriving on the next flight is VERY HIGH and hence suggest you carry a set of clothes (and not more!) in your carry-on baggage.
As stated, in case you miss the flight due to the immigration/customs check, they will put you onto the next flight.