We are on the brink of a good win.On this pitch with no bounce (look at Shoaib putting in great effort to get some life),the Indian batting performance has not been great.Ganguly found it easier because of the slow pitch and lack of bounce.Ganguly showed good spirit and temperament.He has done a fine job and has contributed to the team's cause.But I don't think this is a resounding win to go gaga over.The 4th day pitch was better than earlier.It is clear that the seniors have to stay for a while.So it is not a question of Ganguly versus Dravid versus Tendu versus Laxman.The real issue is who can fill in when the seniors go eventually.Raina for Dravid,Yuvraj for Ganguly,Rohit Sharma for Tendu and Badrinath for Laxman.The right way to go is to groom them as understudies and not rush in chopping and changing.Jaffer is looking good,Karthik shd come out of his bad patch.So the future looks good.
RE:Re:Balance needed
by biswanath roy on Nov 26, 2007 09:41 AM Permalink
india in future home series like against weaker sides like windies,kiwis,b'desh,zimbabwe etc should try out these youngsters like tiwari,badrinath and raina. rohit sharma is for the shorter version of the game, his style of game is not suited for tests.sachin's discomfort against shoaib's bowling in the 2nd innings only points to greater shocks ahead in australia where lee and tait bowling at 150 km/hr will be breathing down our batsmen's neck. india should not go ga-ga after a series victory over the pakis who are a second grade team possibly the weakest fielding side currently. if their fielding was good they could have restricted india to an even smaller lead or could have led in the 1st innings.
RE:for ganguly bashers like akhil, anshul, sanjay, dhosa, idli
by Harish on Nov 26, 2007 09:05 AM Permalink
ganguly sucks.....and will be lucky to get away yet again by playing a small knock.... dude the pt is that he is not able to rise above those 20s 30s...its been a while since he hit a 100.... he has not played a "match winning innings" in this test....its just that hes gettin lucky when he is at the altar.....
RE:RE:for ganguly bashers like akhil, anshul, sanjay, dhosa, idli
by James Joyce on Nov 26, 2007 10:58 AM Permalink
Do you follow cricket for the past one year post more and chappel era. The stat. is like this. Ganguly - 1) over 1000 runs in ODI in one calander year. Only sachin meets the record. 2) Top Scorer in SA Test Series, England Test Series. Quite a few match winning innings if u are the top scorer. So, whats your answer to that you sucker and do not get back to this forum or will remove your silly comments.
RE:for ganguly bashers like akhil, anshul, sanjay, dhosa, idli
by Lotiya Pathan on Nov 26, 2007 09:07 AM Permalink
achha..then who played match winning innings.. idli dhosa
Cant drop any batsmen at this moment. Yuvi has to wait for someone to get injured. Dada/Sachin/Dravid/Laxman have 3 years minimum of test cricket. ODI i guess only Sachin is good out of the 4.
Yuvi can replace Dhoni or Kartick when they lose form
RE:RE:Irfan
by hitesh sharma on Nov 26, 2007 08:43 AM Permalink
GOOD suggestion. You know your stuff. Ranadeb is ok Ishant still will have to sharpen skills to be in international games.
RE:Irfan
by sajin mv on Nov 26, 2007 09:02 AM Permalink
Irfan Pathan is a good suggestion, he is a good allrounder, he has proved that..Munaf sometimes lacking his sharpness in bowling, but Pathan having various ideas of bowling and good variations which batsmen cannot survive
is due to great captaincy of Anil Kumble. Admittedly even Saurav Ganguly has played a significant part in the victory. Yuvraj has very little chance to get into the team, because both Ganguly and Laxman have played well.
RE:Test match win
by Lotiya Pathan on Nov 26, 2007 08:22 AM Permalink
yuvraj is not test material at all. kartick is far better in test. kartick shown guts in england and SA as well
by Lotiya Pathan on Nov 26, 2007 08:24 AM Permalink
why do everybody thinks, youvraj will come into the team at the cost of ganguly. Remember, still dada is the backbone of the team. he is playing extremly well.
by ouch on Nov 26, 2007 08:32 AM Permalink
coz yuvi cannot get in at the cost of Rahul and Sachin. The only remaining guys are Ganguly and Laxman, but by his allround performance here Ganguly has stolen a march over Laxman. It is good to see that nobody takes his place for granted anymore. Good for India that healthy competition is there.
by Lotiya Pathan on Nov 26, 2007 08:40 AM Permalink
mr ouch, what does it mean "coz yuvi cannot get in at the cost of Rahul and Sachin."? u r saying nobody takes his place for granted anymore again how can you say above ?
pls correct urself ? same yardstick has to be put for sachin, dravid, ganguly, laxman and all. hope u got it.
by Ricky Thukral on Nov 26, 2007 08:58 AM Permalink
Dravid failed in south africa and in england.While laxman ganguly and sachin...performed.
So dravid is living on past performences...and its high time...someone should tell him not to take his place for granted...as we have laxman to bat at number 3 and yuvraj at number 6./
by sajin mv on Nov 26, 2007 09:08 AM Permalink
Why don't we look for Rotation policy by looking into the upcoming Australian Series?If we win the series,the third test will be an opportunity for Yuvraj,Badrinath and openers like Parthiv Patel & Aakash Chopra.In Bowling department, we can try Irfan Pathan,Pankaj Singh, a good upcoming allrounder,Piyush Chawla or Praghyan Ojha, like that. We have to think about nowonwards for a team after the present 35 players.
RE:Why
by Lotiya Pathan on Nov 26, 2007 07:56 AM Permalink
Hi Dhosa, Akhil, Anshul, Sanjay, idli..
Why dont u go to the river /gutter passing by your city and take a plunge. I feel shame on these guys@s posting . They are simply ganguly haters, do not have any understanidng of cricket. Sanjay multilies everythings by 10, with that logic, i asked him how many fathers he has ?
Your message hurted everbody of rediff forum, but you shameless guys.. still roaming into forum
RE:Why
by Ram lal verma on Nov 26, 2007 08:12 AM Permalink
Mr. Marunga Danda, I appreciate your comments but Please define low caste? (Just what do you mean by it?). I think you are black spot on Indian society who have dirty mind by judging the people by caste.
vs South africa Dravid-Failed Ganguly -Top Scorer vs England Dravid-Failed Ganguly -Among top scorers vs Pakistan Dravid-Failed Ganguly -Match wining effort
Its not that hard to see who is better on the current form....irrespective of the past records
RE:Dravid vs Ganguly
by babban on Nov 26, 2007 07:48 AM Permalink
Ricky bhai, we should not compare them like this Both are great. dravid is wall of test cricket.
We shuold not behave like akhil, anshul, dhosa, sanjay and other cheaps..