7.VVS Laxman
8.MS Dhoni
9.Irfan Pathan
10.Anil Kumble
11.Harbajan Singh
12.Zaheer Khan
13.Sreeshanth
14.Munaf Patel

For the third test, include yuvraj singh as the opener and see how it goes...and same for the australia tour. they are scared of him...but as a opener you never know. Nothing wrong in trying him instead of taking the not that great karthik. You have an option for bowling a spinner also....so for the third game, just take karthik out and put yuvraj in....And for the aus tour, take harbajan out and bring in sreeshanth or irfan pathan. Sreeshanth would be a better choice...as we need someone that kind in the team to boost our old guys.....

RE:team selection by great shiva
by siva s on Dec 05, 2007 04:11 AM  Permalink
ooops...i forgot to include that poor guy rp singh....include him and throw out munaf patel...what is the big deal here anyway....

by VASUDEVAN VM on Dec 05, 2007 08:27 AM  Permalink
Yuvaraj opened the innings only once that also against pakistan in pakistan and scored a century, definetely he can be given another chance

by INDIAN on Dec 05, 2007 12:12 PM  Permalink
Dear Stupid,

Where you saw yuvraj scored century while opening in Pakistan? He has scored only 2 test centuries and that also against Pakistan in Pakistan(on both occasion India lost) but not while opening the inning. For one instance Sehwag and Chopra opened the inning while on other occasion Sehwag and Dravid opened the inning.
So don%u2019t talk foolish. Do your homework well. You are still kid in this field.
Your reply is definitly expected. Otherwise leave the Discussion.

Rest Jaffer,Dravid,Dada,Zaheer,Laxman and Bhajji for 3rd test!
by sudhir dhar on Dec 05, 2007 03:44 AM  Permalink 

Give Gambhir,Yuvraj,Murali K,Chopra[opener],RP Singh and another batsman a chance.

Vengarsakar needs to organize his English letter better.
by computer learning on Dec 05, 2007 03:10 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dilip is not using effective English to communicate with BCCI. The point needs to more clear, and the letter itself should use effective English at all the places. [Note: effective English is different from any fancy or grammatically correct English.]

Sharad Pawar does not read Vengi's e-mail in person; Sharad's assistants do it for him, and then they convey the essence to him. These assistants are very adept in English.

Moreover, effective English is different from any fancy or grammatically correct English.

The letter by Dilip is poorly organized, and there are a lot of stop gaps, loop holes which works to BCCI's advantage and to general people's disadvantage. If Dilip Balwant Vengarsakar is good at his job, then he also needs to acquire other necessary skills in order to serve the Indian Cricket better at the highest level.

RE:Vengarsakar needs to organize his English letter better.
by sudhir dhar on Dec 05, 2007 03:41 AM  Permalink
None of the donkeys at BCCI can seak English anyway.

Pawar-NO
Shulka apart from looking like a pocketmaar- NO
And that street hawler, Niranjan Shah -NO,

So who will read his English?

Pawar , when once told, "Sir,India has lost two wickets two wickets!", answered, "Oh ho ho, koi baat nahee, doh wicket godaam say nikaal kay dedoh, punn security aur majboot hona chahiyeh, yeh sab public kay saamnay doh-doh wicket kaissey khoh gaya?".

BCCI madarees dont know cricket, ettiquette,and English!

What tf are you talking about c.l?

by Aminoor on Dec 05, 2007 07:02 AM  Permalink
Mr. Sudhir.
I feel pity about your imagination.
So cheap.................
Even Europeans are unable to speak so called effective English but still they have remarkable presence.
Accept it or not - Mr. Pawar is BCCI CHIEF and not even single Indian from north south east or west can challenge his post.
Not even so called effective English speakers.

RE:RE:Vengarsakar needs to organize his English letter better.
by INDIAN on Dec 05, 2007 12:21 PM  Permalink
Mr. Sudhir or Undir (if u r marathi then u know what is meaning of Undir)

Where u r going? This is not about any post or respect. this is about how they can speak and understand english. thats it. so no need to involve European into this matter.

Gadhwa, tulaa kaay bolaayche tey samjat naahi tar tu bolu nako.

I agree Sharad Pawar is BCCI Chief and possess higher position in Indian Cricket. but this is also true that he can not speak english fluently not his jokers like Niranjan Shah, Shukla The Raawdi Pocketmaar, Vengserkar The Confuced Colonel.

by VASUDEVAN VM on Dec 05, 2007 08:29 AM  Permalink
even during his playing days and after becoming the captian of indian team his communication was very poor. after spending so many years in mumbai and interacting with so many people, including all foreign people he could not improve his language/communication skill, which is pathatic.

by Virgil Raju on Dec 05, 2007 05:49 AM  Permalink
cheap behavoiur of the lowest level by people at the highest level of Indian cricket - Vengsarkar,Pawar etc

Team for 3rd Test and Australia
by Venkat Hari on Dec 05, 2007 01:58 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

III test : Same team except replace Munaf with R.P Singh. I think that Dinesh Kaarthik should be persisted with. For Australia Tests : Wasim Jaffer, Dinesh Kaarthik,Gautam Ghambhir, Dravid, Sachin, Ganguly, Laxaman,Yuvaraj Singh,Dhoni, Kumble,Harbhajan, Zaheer, R.P.Singh,Sreeshanth,Irfan Pathan, Murali Karthik. I have 16 names.

RE:Team for 3rd Test and Australia
by Sameer Bhagwat on Dec 05, 2007 02:19 AM  Permalink
Sreesanth is ruled out with injury that leaves a place open for the 5th pacer.. would it be R Bose or Ishant Sharma or VRV Singh or who...?? maybe Agarkar??

by Suresh Chamarajanagar on Dec 05, 2007 02:33 AM  Permalink
we can even replace Zaheer with Irfan or SSanth(if fit).
What good has Z khan been since he took that 5for against ENG?

by Bharat Rakshak on Dec 05, 2007 02:46 AM  Permalink
Dinesh Karthik shud go. In all the matches Dravid is doing the opener's job. Karthik is just a opener for the name sake.
We can bring in Yuvraj in the middle order.

And for the Australia series Rohit Sharma or Badrinath in place of Dinesh Karthik can be picked up in the 16 member team. But Yuvraj shud be there in the playing eleven.

by Suresh Chamarajanagar on Dec 05, 2007 02:49 AM  Permalink
May be yuvraj should open?Is not he the one who is desperately looking to play?

by Bharat Rakshak on Dec 05, 2007 02:54 AM  Permalink
Dravid is playing the new ball well. And technically also a better batsman to face the new ball. Yuvi shud come after Sachin.

by Suresh Chamarajanagar on Dec 05, 2007 02:59 AM  Permalink
Thats not just for us to decide you know!!Is Dravid ready?I dont think so!!
Yuvraj opened once in Pakistan. I know that he even got a century there but not sure if it was as an opener.
So, let him open.

by Bharat Rakshak on Dec 05, 2007 03:08 AM  Permalink
Yuvi has opened in the past. But Dravid at one down is equal to dravid opening in 90% matches.
U r correct. Dravid might be reluctant as he has been in the past in taking extra responsibility. He quitted wicket keeping, captaincy...

by Mat on Dec 05, 2007 03:01 AM  Permalink
You go for a tour with 2 wicket keepers. so i dont think karthik d be dropped..correct me if i am wrong .

by Dianne Smith on Dec 05, 2007 05:00 AM  Permalink
You don't have to but it would be a good idea. However Karthik is just not made out to be an opening batsman because he plays forward - but does not generally get to the ball. Thus, a swinging ball causes him problems and great speed will increase the worry. Thus, I would suggest Parthiv Patel as his replacement because he is a good wk and a sound opening bat who is performing well in the domestics,

by Bharat Rakshak on Dec 05, 2007 04:44 AM  Permalink
If 2 wicketkeepers r necessary then Karthik can go. But he shud be in the playing eleven only if Dhoni is injured and can't play. He should not be included as a full time batsman.

Who runs cricket in India!!!
by Vishvapriyo Ray on Dec 05, 2007 01:49 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Dilip Vengsarkar seems to have landed himself in a soup lately. But is it really his fault that the top of BCCI are people like Sharad Pawar (who has never played cricket... I wonder whether he can at all hold a bat or ball) and Niranjan Shah (12 first class matches as a batsman with a "Bradmanesque" average of 11.7 and a high score of 45).

RE:Who runs cricket in India!!!
by Bharat Rakshak on Dec 05, 2007 02:51 AM  Permalink
How does the cricketing experience of Pawar and Shah matter in Vengsarkar demanding/ blackmailing the board for money?

by Vishvapriyo Ray on Dec 05, 2007 03:32 AM  Permalink
In the same vein, how does holding the secretary position for the BCCI entitle Niranjan Shah to push for his son's selection for India A team?

by Bharat Rakshak on Dec 05, 2007 04:41 AM  Permalink
You r deviating from the topic. But still i would amnswer it. Niranjan Shah is secretary. But why did the seletors(Vengsarkar) selected his son? Vengsarkar must have taken an hefty amount from him.

Vengsarkar to attend the selection committee meet
by Kalidas Sawkar on Dec 05, 2007 01:17 AM  Permalink 

God is great! The Allah, the Lord and all the 33 crores deities have to come together to prevail up on the one arrogant colonel to attend the meeting. In cognizance of the past history, the meeting should be videographed live otherwise the chairman would have to go to Australia to declare who wanted which player and who did not, a la the West Indies World Cup

He is a stupid.
by Santosh Mohanty on Dec 05, 2007 01:03 AM  Permalink  | Hide replies

Vengsarkar is a stupid political guy. Board should have asked him to resign as soon as possible.
Being a selector is an honorary position. No one before this had ever demanded money from board for this. Moreover if he can earn Rs 40 Lakhs by writing column then why doesn't he do that and resign from the Selector's position?
He should be thankful to the board which give him such an gud position instead he has started demanding money for it. There are thousands of ppl who can be better selector than Vengsarkar without taking a single paisa.

Why is just threatening to resign from two weeks? If he has the talent and he can earn more than this any where then why didn't he resign? More over the under-table earning of this guy is much more than what he earns from writing columns.
Vengsarkar if u have a little bit of shame on your face then please resign don't threaten to step down. Barking dog seldom bites!

RE:He is a stupid.
by Socratis on Dec 05, 2007 01:13 AM  Permalink
I think its ok to take money upfront from BCCI then taking under table or other similiar way for selection.

RE:RE:He is a stupid.
by Bharat Rakshak on Dec 05, 2007 01:15 AM  Permalink
Even if he takes money from BCCI he won't leave taking moner under table.

pawar
by avinash choudhary on Dec 05, 2007 12:41 AM  Permalink 

he is most corrupt and ugly sheward politican go to hell u bb

Total 87 messages Pages: < Newer  | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Older >