India News Business Get Ahead Movies Cricket Sports Newshound Message Boards
You are here: Rediff Home » India » Movies » Message Board
Search: Rediff.com The Web
Discuss this Article | Email this Article | Print this Article
Recollect your Rafi memories
Get Movies updates: What's this?
Top Emailed Features
Mallika's Murder romance: Hottest Bollywood scene!
Today's Hottest Movie Scene
Saif and Shakespeare do no wrong
Advertisement
July 31, 2006
It's been 26 years since we lost Rafisaab.
Mohammed Rafi left us on July 31, 1980, and we continue to miss him. His voice and versatile body of work remain immortal, a magical treasure trove of Bollywood's finest songs -- from the soulful to the rebellious, from ballads to melancholia, Rafisaab did it all.
As a tribute to the great man, we ask you, dear reader, what Rafisaab meant to you. What impact do you feel he had on Indian cinema? Do you still miss him today?
And do remember to tell us your favourite Rafi song. From Shammi Kapoor's western-style dancing to Jeetendra's roadside flirtation, from Dilip Kumar's tragic laments to Johnny Walker's comic acts, the singer did it all, and in inimitable style. In fact, he even sang for singers -- for Kishore Kumar in Raagini, Shararat and Talat Mahmood in Lalarukh!
Rafisaab was perhaps the most versatile singer in Indian film industry.The following songs sung by him are my favourites:
1.Tum bin javu kaha...
2.Badan pe sitare lapate hue...
3.Main to yamla pagla diwana...
4.Hum ko tum pe pyar aya pyar aya..
5.Ram ji ki nikli savari...
We really miss him.He was indeed passionate about singing and therefore could sing difficult songs with ease.His songs even to-day brings cheers to our life and one would like to hear them again and again..He may not be with us physically but he will remain in our hearts forever...
Rafi the Evergreen singer. The man used to sing with such involvement and emotion that you can feel them better by listening to them instead of seeing the song on the screen. You can find his stamp on today's generation especially Sonu Nigam. My favourite song is "Deewana Hua Badal", a gem of a song where he, alongwith Asha Bhonsle really mesmerized me
your golden voice still enchants many. you left this world too early denying at least a thousand more songs for us . may god grant you a rebirth in india.
Imagine India without Rafisaab's voice.....We speak of a void being left when people leave us - I think Rafisaab's departure was as big a void as you can think of.Of the ten things I could do before I die, the first would have been to travel back in time and be in one of these studios where RafiSaab's song was being recorded live ! Such has been his voice's effect on me that I could be having a splitting headache but all it would take is any one of his songs to make it vanish ! One of the near impossible things to do in this world is pick a favorite among rafisaab's numbers - but I'll try......."Barbaad mohabbet ki dua saat liye jaa", "Kya hua tera vaada", "Kya se kya ho gaya", "Aise to na dekho", "Pukarta chala hoon main", "Chaand mera dil", "Poocho na yaar kya hua", "Mere pyaar mein tijhe kya mila", "Dard-e-dil".........I should stop it here else it would not be fair on some of his other songs which were equally good if not better.
Love to Rafisaab - If anyone has attained immortality in our times......he has ! & Our lives wouldn't have been the same had it not been for that one man - Rafisaab.
He had the most clear voice. Fav song bein 'Yeh hain Bombay meri jaan' picturised on Johnny Walker.. He lives in our hearts and in all the songs that he gave life to ....
I am great fan of Raffi Saab like everyone.His voice has chrished all the year.No one is like him and will never be.God has adored him such a marvelous voice and he use it at the best. You will always in my heart and memory. I wish I could be there in your era to listen such a fantastic voice as soon as records were realesed. Being on the earth with you itself could be a great honour to me. Thanks a lot Mr. Rafi for giving world those sweet songs by sweet voice.
The greatness of Rafi was that the style of singing was based on which actor the song is picturised. So his style of singing was different for Shammi Kapoor and Dev Anand or others. That was his beauty. All his sad songs had pain and the melody in his voice is unmatched. Not only was he a great singer but importantly a very good human being as well.... Younger generation of singers should learn his unselfish attitude and dedication towards his work...