Chappell's SMS
by Aniruddha Sen on Mar 28, 2007 02:15 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

For a year, Chappell got everything he wanted. Then, his team lost 4-1 against W. Indies, made 1st round exit in DLF cup as well as the Champion's trophy and was whitewashed 4-0 in S. Africa. After that, any sensible selector CANNOT give him free hand. And who all were included against his will and who were excluded? Of course, he didn't want Ganguly and Zaheer. But after their performance silenced him, he rather TOOK CREDIT for making them what they were! He never opposed their inclusion in world cup. Then, what did he grumble about? Suresh Raina, in stead of Sehwag and Power, in stead of Kumble. Could that make any difference? Incidentally, Sehwag top-scored for India in world cup and Raina, who had failed match after match, has an overall average of 27 and away average 18! I never heard anyone (other than wicket-keeper) being included for fielding alone, not even Jonty Rhodes. But Guru Greg wanted that! Then, Power, if included, would have warmed the benches as Kumble did. So, had he been listened to, what difference would have it made? In stead of giving excuses, he should learn from Moody. That man didn't talk big about "process", didn't wage war against the "seniors". Rather, he picked up the best team and trained them as best as he could. "Aging" Sri Lanka, with Jaysurya (38), Atapattu (35), Murali (35), Arnold (34) and Vaas (33) has given a drubbing to India. Under Moody, even a lousy Murali had taken that astounding catch. Talking big about youth is one thing and spotting, grooming young talents is another (and more difficult) task. Till Ganguly, Sachin, Dravid and Sehwag continue to score much more than Raina, Karthik, Uthappa, the former will occupy the positions whether anybody likes it or not. That happens to all teams. Chappell had a number of budding talents at his disposal. He groomed very few, destroyed many more. And the situation will remain the same, till he is told a polite "thank you!"

  RE:Chappell's SMS
by VSS on Mar 28, 2007 02:48 PM   Permalink
""He groomed very few, destroyed many more"".
I cleary understood that U r referring to ganguly. Nothing much has changed since his return except that the fielding starndards have gone down a bit. He played for himself and score a few 50's to save his place. If bob woolmer who coached for 4 yrs couldn't help pakistan then how wud u expect chappel who coached just for 18 mths to do miracles. When john wright was coach..it was ganguly and dalmiya who selected the team. Not the coach or selectors. It was becoz of the performances of dravid,laxman, yuvraj, kaif, balaji ..india has excelled. no credit goes for ganguly or john wright. john is a very dumb coach who just nodded to whatever dalmiya or ganguly has to say.

  RE:RE:Chappell's SMS
by Ppt on Mar 28, 2007 03:35 PM   Permalink
Ah! nothing much has changed .... kya baat hai bhai.... i) His return saw Team India averting a clean sweap ii) Smashing win against the lankans just before they were flying to fight for WC-07 iii) "Man of the series" after coming back after 15 odd months

Aur kuch batana parega kya bhai?

Dude can you answer these few questions please:-
i) He tried to do lot many experiments with Irfaan Pathaan..where was he during the matches?

ii) The visible strenght is batting... God favored by awarding you the toss ...then why Dravid quickly said "We will field" ....

iii) Dravid the great wall.... never came to number 1 position ....

I will ask you more once you reply back these

by VSS on Mar 28, 2007 02:59 PM   Permalink
Mind ur language Mr. have some blog manners

by VSS on Mar 28, 2007 02:55 PM   Permalink
India can win matches, if they groom match winners like dhoni,karthick who have shown lot of maturity in crunch situations and saved india from defeat. Except for that one innings where he single handedly won the match in sharjah ..sachin never played responsibly in crunch situations. He always chokes on big occassions. He might have scored max hundred and runs..but still, he doesn't have the potential to consume pressure and win matches for india.
The problem with india is..it appreciate only the top order bats who score hundreds..while the one in lower order are the real hardworkers who always r discriminated.

by nikita bhatia on Mar 28, 2007 02:50 PM   Permalink
Why the feeling is that you poeple start with Saurav & end with Saurav only??
Pl come out from such thought & give your opinion in a appropriate way.
Thanks

by Rehan Khan on Mar 28, 2007 02:53 PM   Permalink
To Nikita My opnion

The much-awaited wedding of Abhishek Bachchan and Aishwarya Rai will take place on April 20. It will be a small family affair.

"The families met and the decision was taken yesterday," a source told PTI. "The wedding will be a small private affair with only close family and friends in attendence. It will be held at the Bachchans' residence in Juhu (a Mumbai suburb)."

Media speculation on the wedding date has been high ever since the couple got engaged on January 14.

by Neo Prince on Mar 28, 2007 02:56 PM   Permalink

@Rehan Khan...What is that supposed to be???? She is talking in the context of Indian Cricket.

Chappell was not happy with team