sachin is sachin. He brings india periliously close, only for others to falter. remember chennai, 1998 and barbados,1997 one can never forgive him for not finishing them off. but then it wouldn't have gotten that close had it not been for him. He is the greatest one-dayer, but not a WC to show for it. he is the best test-batter for a decade and a half, with no significant overseas victories. He is a witty bowler, if only his captains had the brain to use him properly. he was part of a team that was embrioled in match-fixing controversy, but he came out unscathed. somehow i feel sorry for this bloke, i mean he ended up being a great and nothing to show for it and he was not affected by the controversies, but was always a part of it. real paradox. i would pay to watch him, after all he is cricket.
RE:he is a paradox!
by aprakash gupta on Mar 22, 2007 09:47 PM Permalink
As far as I remember, during the chennai test, he was batting with tremendous back pain....as it was becoming unbearable, he wanted to finish it off by hitting big shots and got out in that process....rest of the batsmen did not manage to score 18 runs only with 5 wickets in hand...do you still want to blame sachin for the loss ?
RE:he is a paradox!
by abhishek dwivedi on Mar 22, 2007 07:03 PM Permalink
Joe, its true that Sachin is supposed to win lot more matches...and u mentioned correctly that he has failed to so in many a places(but then who does not?)...and u mentioned lot good things abt him very truly. Here I will like to show u a diff angel to it too..."Sachin fails in pressure.":This is coz when sachin plays there is hardly a pressure.And we can remember a lot of (very important)matches, which was easily won by india, against a good opponent, thanks to Sachin's innings. Sachin has been playing since the time of Ravi Shastri, Siddhu and then with Hrishikesh Kanitekar, WV Raman, Preveen Amare and many more.They might have been good player in India but dont stand anywhere in International cricket.And those were days when India only wins if sachin plays.It was Sachin who started an attacking game and made us believe that we can win against any opponent. It was Sachin's arrival which triggered a series of good cricket and also a series of good players.Now if Sachin fails and a combo of Yuvi-Drivd-Kaif wins a match it becomes more noticable.Remember those days when we sit to watch a match against Ausies only till Sachin is on the crease.Sachin goes, we move out of TV room. His cntribution to Indian cricket is much more than his Runs Scored or Wickets taken.He is an era.Being his contemporary we have previledges to critisise him.But when next generation comes, can anybody dare to critisise a player with close to 30K runs, 80 Intl centuries at an average of one of the bests in the list?No one with good brains.
RE:RE:he is a paradox!
by Amit Lalwani on Mar 22, 2007 07:39 PM Permalink
yaar Abhishek,,,,tune mere dil ki baat likh di.....Man each and every fact that i always keep on saying to all my friends and others when they criticise Sachin,,,,He is simply a great player with extra ordinary qualities,,,An average player wont have this much runs up his sleeve....Sachin Tendulkar Always Zindabad.
RE:RE:RE:he is a paradox!
by abhishek dwivedi on Mar 22, 2007 07:56 PM Permalink
Amit Bhai..people critisise coz they dont understand that Sachin is a human being with extraordinary cricketing abilities not a God with magical powers.He can not always score a hundrade and win all matches.To do that, one needs to have magical powers. No body has those powers hence no body wins always.