Perforamance Based Contracts - For Whom?
by Rman on Apr 03, 2007 01:14 AM   Permalink | Hide replies

Mr.Shah, until BCCI bans players from endorsing products, performance based contracts won't do squat. They make crores/year from their advertising revenues, so how do you expect BCCI's performance based contract (in lakhs) to incent them to perform? Be practical, this is not rocket science. Ban endorsments by players. This game is not about making money, it's about playing your heart out. Our players' hearts are only on milking more money than on improving their game. Finally, if you believe Dravid is an astute captain, pray tell me how the collective geniuses that comprise the Indian think-tank chose to leave out Pathan, the most successful bowler against Bangladesh over the past few years and use Agarkar and Zaheer? There are several other such bloopers that the "astute" captain has made in 8 days that I'll be happy to point out. My point is this - don't make statements thinking that people who follow the game don't know it. We know the game very well and we are waiting to see if BCCI continues its farce or is actually going to step up and make a few calls such as banning endorsements for the betterment of cricket. The game is always more important than any player. Perhaps BCCI needs to be reminded of that before they run off and make more multi-millionaires rather than cricketers.

  RE:Perforamance Based Contracts - For Whom?
by Gaurav Misra on Apr 03, 2007 01:22 AM   Permalink
I totally agree with so much commercialism , salary is not an issue. make them accountable for failure. PAST records should be no reason for a place in the team. Age is no excuse for not running singles or being less effective in batting due to injuries. Ganguly and tendulkar, look at Hayden and Jayasuria ... these people are in the team because they perform. Both of you have earned so much money that its disgusting to see u play on for money and not for the pride of playing for india

by Javed MEandDad on Apr 03, 2007 01:24 AM   Permalink
agarkar and zaheer are far better than sreesanth and pathan...just check their records.....

sressanth performed only in 2 matches in S.A,,he was blasted by WI AND SL batsmen...his record in odi IS 25 wickets in 24 matches....

HE IS lucky 2 escape critiocism since he didnt play in WC..

Pathan is bowling at the speed of ganguly

  RE:RE:Perforamance Based Contracts - For Whom?
by Rman on Apr 03, 2007 01:48 AM   Permalink
Oh boy, do you need help. I was trying to make a point on the "astute" captain not playing not against Bangladesh, despite the fact that he has the best record against them. For the other 2 you mentioned - we just saw what Agarkar and Zaheer delivered ok. We all saw how deadly and fearsome their pace attack was and how the other team batsmen dove to save themselves from the blistering Indian pace attack. India was packed in 8 days and that's a statistic you seem to have forgotten. Finally, since you bring up statistics, can you help explain why the "astute" captain left Kumble (I hope you know his stats) out of the 1st game and the "must-win" 3rd game and played Harbajan? Are you really going to come back with "SL has more left-handers hence Harbajan over Kumble?" Puh-lease.

by karan on Apr 03, 2007 02:44 AM   Permalink
Mr Rman,all the news channels were batting for Harbhajan ahead of Kumble against the lankans,till the day before the match.They felt Kumble should be left out as

Harbhajan seemed to hane a better record against the Lankans.But once Kumble announced his retirement from ODIs,these very same people used it as a weapon against Dravid.

by Rman on Apr 03, 2007 02:59 AM   Permalink
Karan, what you described is akin to the blind leading the blind. At no point in his entire career has Harbajan ever delivered the goods for a match winning performance unless the pitch was a minefield and/or India had a good 250 plus score to play with and the pacers took early wickets. Dravid as the captain, should have been the first to be aware of this. But, like everything else in India, decisions seem to be made on a whim with nothing to back it up.

RE:RE:
by Ramanath Babu on Apr 03, 2007 10:24 AM   Permalink
Do you know what is Kumble's record against Sri Lanka. He forget to bowl when he see Sanat occupying the crease. He had a nightmare with Aravinda. Fortunately he is not around now. But still Kumble would have been a super flop against SL. As sure as death!

Definitely it speaks about the astuteness of DRavid.

Babu

Luck deserted Dravid: Shah