All this Sania-mania is just hype. Her actual calibre - or the lack of it - is regularly exposed by the top guns in tennis; the crushing rout by Sharapova is just the latest confirmation, if any were needed. She has been heroine-worshipped and portrayed by the 'secular' Indian media - who else - as some sort of superstar, for the sole reason that she belongs to the politically 'right' community. Know what I mean? She is by no means international stuff, as the only tournament she has won is a Hyderabad Open - ha! Besdies, she's already raked in a few millions, from modelling and endorsements, mainly. You are going to see her in a different avatar in a couple of years, maybe lecturing everyone from an India Today Conclave podium or from some management B-school, delivering (paid, and ghost-written, of course)sermons on 'achievement' and 'performance.' This is India, yaar, and this is the demented Indian media. Jaganniwas Iyer
RE:The Sania hype
by NBhavsar on Aug 04, 2007 09:48 AM Permalink
So you are challenging the tennis ranking. Till yesterday, when she was winning messages of wishing and praising her were pondering and suddenly today you ppl are scolding her.
Do you really think that she is hype? What about her beating better ranked players?
What do you say about the fact that no other indian has reached this level?
She has given India a new idol. She is the role model for entire generation.
RE:RE:The Sania hype
by rajarshi banerjee on Aug 04, 2007 09:49 AM Permalink
I totally second your thoughts Iyer, We in India are so used to failures in all depts of sports that anyone clearing a couple of rounds or winning some games, we place them on a high pedestal be it cricket,tennis,hockey,badminton, football whatever. And as u have rightly pointed out she belongs to the politically CORRECT community, whom our present day govt seems hell bent on licking their feet and appeasement. The pseudo secular Indian media, especially CNN-IBN of late has been treating members of this community as if they have been the most deprived,peace loving and tolerant species on this planet. Haneef's flight from Brisbane to Bangalore was covered as if he was the first Indian to land on the moon or a nobel prize winner. The only thing they could not cover was how many times he visited the loo in the flight and what undergarments he was wearing. No wonder Rajdeep Sardesai's channel have won all the awards from the present govt's kitty for every section of news coverage. REALLY, the Indian media could not have been more biased than this.........
by Jaganniwas Iyer on Aug 04, 2007 01:25 PM Permalink
Dear Rajarshi, Thanks indeed for your morale-boosting reply. Yes, you have hit the nail on the head in your analysis of the way this present regime, not to speak of its demented boot-lickers in the media, these Rajdeep Sardesais and others, licking the feet of this politically correct community. In fact, I'm surprised that Haneef has not been listed for next year's Bharat Ratna. Maybe we we'll see him at the next India Today Conclave, delivering lectures on - of course, what else - secularism! Our pseudo-secular establishment will regularly insult and harass genuine acheivers if they happen to be from our community, but shamelesly bend over backwards to appease these uotright anti-national elements for the sake of clinging on to their fast-rotting seats for a few days more. Yours Jaganniwas Iyer
RE:RE:RE:The Sania hype
by rajarshi banerjee on Aug 04, 2007 09:51 AM Permalink
How much do u know about the game Mr. Manoj Kumar and how many tournaments have you represented India in Tennis??
by manoj kumar on Aug 04, 2007 09:59 AM Permalink
Hello Mr. Banerjee...
I am playing tennis from the last five years and have been watching tennis from almost 13 years.. I know how difficult it is to perform at an international stage...!
Lets see this.. Sania has realized her weaknesses and started improving on those things.. And if you follow the sport closely, you would understand that she is playing quite consistently from the last few weeks and it is really commendable performance form her considering that she just came back from injury..!
She is truly world top 20 player. It takes time to beat top 10 players consistently..
Please follow the comments of sharapova who defeated sania today...!
Please dont rush to pass negative comments on her quickly..!
by Prasath K on Aug 04, 2007 09:47 AM Permalink
Manoj Kumar,are you Bharat waala Manoj Kumar?You seem to be talking like him.hehehehe.
RE:RE:RE:The Sania hype
by Jaganniwas Iyer on Aug 04, 2007 01:39 PM Permalink
Dear Manoj Kumar Saheb, I'm no expert on tennis, or any sport for that matter. A few facts about Sania Mirza won't hurt; I'm sure. 1) Sania Mirza isn't even among the top 50 in global tennis. She was within the 50 for a few months, but lost her ranking. Only when one is among the top 20 is he/she counted as a serious contender. 2) She's won no other tournament other than a Hyderabad Open. Apni galli mein billi bhi sherni hoti hai, lekin us-say kya? 3)All her other international appereances have been just that - mere appearances, not going beyond the second, or at most, the third round. The problem is the brainwashed Indian media, which splashes photos of each appearance of hers as if it is a Grand Slam-winning performance. Well friend, "truth because I assert repeatedly" is an old and tired mantra of this country's media. 4) She was in the news recently as she'd asked the Andhra state government for a few acres of prime land to start a tennis academy to impart "training to talent youngters." Oh really? Has she already become Steffi Graf or Martina Navratilova that her experience and training is the only thing that is going to unerat budding talent? Come on, don't make me laugh. I bet that this was only a ruse to grab some prime real estate in Hyderabad. The state government, naturally, wasn't amused at Sania's request. 5) Wait for the Sania bubble to pop. By then the media would've latched on to another blue-eyed boy/girl. Jaganniwas Iyer
by rajarshi banerjee on Aug 04, 2007 03:21 PM Permalink
Excellent reply, Mr. Iyer, while I do not follow tennis closely, I certainly know, Sania had her golden run only in the first year, when she was a surprise element for all her opponents. Thats the case with most Indian sportsmen. Look at Sehwag, where he is today, all his opponents have sorted out what his weaknesses are. Same is the case with Sania, she is now winning some losing some but not reached any finals of any major tournaments save the last one. The blue eyed girl of Indian media needs to improvise constantly to be in the running otherwise it will be downhill all along for her. I am not against Sania, per se, Mr. Manoj Kumar, its just that as per Indian standards she has achieved something big when a land of 110 crores could not produce a second Sania is justifie, but that certainly does not mean she is in reckoning with the world. She has a long long way to go before she can think of competing with players at Grand Slam level.