Isn't it so typical of India?
by sridhar ashok on May 05, 2008 08:59 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

Friends,
I know I might angry some of you in this forum, but I couldn't help thinking that the plight of the tigers of India, a grand symbol and icon of our country, is just one among the zillion things that are left uncared for in this country. Why is the govt (any party - it doesn't matter who holds the power) always reactive and not proactive? If that's o.k., then why are the reactions utterly ineffective and not aimed at damage control? Why are politicians treated like gods and why aren't they answerable to any one? I mean, if a task force, similar to the tiger task force fails, why aren't those involved in it punished? Why aren't they suspended/dismissed from their jobs?

Is this lethargy a vital component of the system? It certainly seems so - and it's not just the political system, but our own system (psyche) as well. This 'chalta hai yaar..' attitude of our people and their utter lack of social responsibility are going to bring nothing but our own downfall. We want our homes to be clean, but we just don't care about the cleanliness of the streets and public areas. We want our country give us everything, but we won't reciprocate - we neither usher any positive change in the system, nor do we respect this country and its resources! Now, it's only a question of time before the Chinese take advantage of this lack of responsibility and whip our backside to Mars!

  RE:Isn't it so typical of India?
by Seenu Subbu on May 06, 2008 01:15 AM   Permalink
Unfortunately, every Tiger carcass fetches prices upwards of $10,000. Every cent of those $10K would be going into the pockets of everybody, from the Forest minister to the lowest guard who winks when the tigers are being poached. Doesn't matter who is in control or who heads a committee. Chinese need medicines for their potency, poor them, with their 1.3 billion population, they still need tiger and rhino body parts for their libido.

  RE:Isn't it so typical of India?
by sri on May 05, 2008 09:08 PM   Permalink
Very true!

http://inwww.rediff.com/news/2008/may/05tiger.htm