I dont think India has any sound international policy.Its policy makers are dumb and illeterate. They have always played with Indias national interest. A very gud example is recent success of China in surrounding India with its naval bases in our own backyard and neighbour hood. So lets accept the fact that we dont stand any where near China and stop ranting about. A simple project takes years to complete , a deal drags on and on...The fact is INdian policy has no long term strategic vision, its more of ad-hoc. Indian politicians oppose or support a deal just for the sake of it. India has laways been a land of betrayers, who betrayed the India to the british and today there are Indian communists who are betraying India to China. These communists plan to bring a revolution in India. If not for the amazing Indian Army They surely would have succeed in their evil Plans.
RE:Indian Policy is Dumb
by west on May 02, 2008 11:59 PM Permalink
Indian govt is very new to this type of dealings at the international level. it takes time for the govt to get used to this type of strategic games. To grab the most of the present opportunity, I hope the govt will put some competent people in the external affairs and foreign policy depts rather than the usual 'chalta hai' people.
by motor mouth on May 03, 2008 01:39 AM Permalink
Even after 60 years of independence u think it is new....gud excuse for our incompetence though...
by on May 03, 2008 03:42 AM Permalink
it is not at all about 60yrs. until very recently, india did not matter much on the global front (ignoring our past before british and mughal occupation). now it is turning into an economic superpower and the world has taken notice. our babujis and netajis have not been in the international limelight, so it should not be a shock that they do not have the maturity/experience to deal with it. in time such experience will be gained and hopefully by then, our elected leaders aren't uneducated wealthy village land owners who get into power by making false promises to the vast population of poor people in india. as the majority of poor move to middle class living standards, the quality of our elected leaders will improve.
by Nostra Damus on May 03, 2008 03:34 AM Permalink
We have the most incompetent Foreign Office babus of any country. The fat cats are more interested in their power and pelf rather than serving the nation. No wonder an indian citizen is treated very shabbily in most countries.
RE:RE:Indian Policy is Dumb
by on May 03, 2008 03:49 AM Permalink
don't blame the leaders for the mistreatment. in most cases indians don't stand up for themselves when being mistreated. they stick with the "chalta hai" attitude. this ofcourse might have something to do with the fact that we are a conquered people; atleast for the last millenia or so - first the mughals and then the brits. we need to toughen ourselves up mentally, which will happen once our parents geneartion dies off. sometimes i wonder what happened after the generation of our great grand parents who fought for our independence with nothing but their resolve.
still; i agree with your point that the indian leaders are quite corrupt and care more about their self interests than that of the nation.
by Ram Sharma on May 03, 2008 11:26 AM Permalink
We hv to learn a lot from Chinese. They r much ahead of us in defence, infrastructure (there infrastructure was highly developed before they had cars for common people), literacy, language (Mao forced them to hv a single script and language), discipline, population control (they r following one child norm since 1979) etc.
by jmaxwell on May 04, 2008 02:18 AM Permalink
wrong. the only reason they are "ahead" is because india's economic boom started 20 years behind theirs. the international companies started operating in china and china started exporting goods and services 20 years before india entered the market. this is the only gap we have to catch up. and we will.