Why Telangana State?
by Ram Online on Mar 04, 2008 10:57 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

Here is example of descrimimnation of AP rulers towards Telangana.

Due to the merger of Telangana and Andhra in 1956, By changing the design of Nagarjuna sagar project, Krishna, Guntur, West godavari district formers recieved canal water for addtional 15 lakh acres illegally at the expense of farmers of Telangana.

Each acre of land with irrigation water will bring additional 10,000 rupees/crop of income to the farmer at least(with today' prices). If we have 2 crops per year; this mean 20,000/year/ acre. 15lakh acres bring 3000 crores/year. More than 1 lakh-crores since formation of AP (n today's rupees).

More money to Andhra farmers means ..
1) better education for their kids(including money to pay for
tutorials, private schools), 2)if their kids are not good students they could get admission into privatge colleges.
3)In government jobs, they could compete better because of better education received; if they are not so good to compete, they can always get recommendation from their friends/relatives in beaurocracy/ politicians( More than 90% for senior beaurocracy is from
andhra anyway); if they don't have any friends/realtives in beaurocracy, they can always bribe them(they can afford to pay big bribes because they are rich). This explains why 90% of employees in Secreatariate are from Andhra even today even though literacy levels
of Telangana and Andhra are at the same level.

  RE:Why Telangana State?
by on Mar 05, 2008 06:52 AM   Permalink
To Mr Ram Online

I have read your postings related to telangana and here are my responses

1. You mentioned that politicians from andhra have ignored the gentleman's agreement, if not for this, telangana movement would not have existed.
- So according to you, when an agreement is not kept only way is to split the state into two states? What if a adilabad dist people feel that people from karimnagar are taking all their jobs? Do you split again? Where do u draw the line? We are democratic country there are a lot of ways to make sure that things get done correctly - all it needs is people's will and sincere leadership
- You said telangana leaders were CM for only 6 years of 50 years. Isn't 6 years enough to pass a GO?
- You said that MLA/MPs from telangana region are more loyal to the party than to the people. That's true if we are talking about one person. Do you think a party would not take it serious if 100 MLAs are together and united on the interests of telangana?

2. You mentioned about Nagarjunasagar project. If telangana and andhra were two different states, this would have become another almatti or cauvery issue and would go to central govt. This in turn would increase the animosity between the states.

3. KCR is a very big opportunistic politician. I do not think he is fighing for the interests of telangana. I think he is fighting for his own interests. He figured that only way he can become CM is when telangana is created.

  RE:RE:Why Telangana State?
by Ram Online on Mar 05, 2008 11:18 AM   Permalink
Here is my reply to your comments..
1. We are not asking for the splitting the state. We are asking for invalidating the merger because merger agreements were violated totally.

- It was wrong to merge developed area with under developed area. All Telangana districts are more or less at the same level; socially and economically. Beaurocracy represented from all Telangana district more or less equally. We won't have same problem what we had in AP.

-No Telangana CM was in power for more than 2-1/2 years continuously. Even in those 2years they have work in adverse conditions(prejudices of Andhra Beaurocracy, Rich Andhra lobby, Andhra controlled media).

-You have seen what happened in last 4years. 4years back all 41 MLAs from Telangana did a public pledge to fight for seperate Telangana. Now most of them keep quite because they don't want offend YSR. Afraid of loosing ministership or a contract or a seat in next election. Thats why I strongly recommend primary system like in US. If we have primary system nobody cares about high command. MLAs MPs will fight even with high command to protect the interests of their constituency.

2. Going to center or Supreme court is not a bad idea. At least you have a chance of getting justice. Now nobody is able to protect the interests of Telangana.

3. If Telangana state formed today, there will congress CM. KCR looses his election issue. He has to come up with good development agenda to have any chance of becoming CM.

by Ram Online on Mar 05, 2008 11:30 AM   Permalink
Please read as "4years back all 41 'CONGRESS' MLAs from Telangana did a public pledge to fight for seperate Telangana." in above message of mine.

by kk mnmaps on Mar 06, 2008 01:52 AM   Permalink
When I said 100 MLAs try for common cause, I meant the injustices that were being done to telangana people, not for the separate telangana state.

If injustices are being done to a particular set of people, then those people and the politicians representing them should fight for that. And no one stop them if they try sincerely instead they are looking for some shortcuts.

You did not answer my question on what would you do if adilababd people feel that people from karimnagar are taking away their jobs? You have to draw the line somewhere.

Hyderabad was 5th largest city in 1950 and you complain that it is worse than that now. Do you honestly believe that Hyderabad would have become larger city by now if telangana was separate? I really doubt it because no other andhra city was developed as much as hyderabad. If andhra politicians are giving preference to andhra districts why didn't they develop Vijayawada or Vizag? There is no way hyderabad would have become so big if telangana was separate.

by Ram Online on Mar 06, 2008 06:00 AM   Permalink
Ambedker in 1950 said(source ambedkar.org ; PART V THE NEED FOR A SECOND CAPITAL ; CHAPTER XI) ... "Hyderabad has all the amenities which Delhi has and it is a far better City than Delhi. It has all the grandeur which Delhi has. Buildings are going cheap and they are really beautiful buildings, far superior to those in Delhi. They are all on sale. The only thing that is wanting is a Parliament House which the Government of India can easily build. It is a place in which Parliament can sit all the year round and work, which it cannot do in Delhi. I do not see what objection there can be in making Hyderabad a second capital of India. It should be done right now while we are reorganising the States."

Nizam devloped Hyderabad as world class city because its his capital city. He kept lot of lands around Hyderabad for the purpose of his personal expenses. These lands became government lands later with which HUDA raised lot funds to develop Hyderabad and some of that money is taken away by state government to spend outside Telangana.

During Nizam times, state langauage is urdu and there are no Telugu, English schools/colleges. After the merger of Andhra and Telangana; all the government jobs are taken away by Telugu/English educated Andhra people. Also, Andhra politicians/ beaurocrats know how Indian democracy works, Indian administration work. British India has privinsial elections since 1935. for Telangana politicians, beaurocrats every thing is new and could be exploited.

by Ram Online on Mar 06, 2008 04:06 AM   Permalink
There won't be any issues between Adalabad and Karima nagar.. because ...All Telangana districts are more or less at the same level; socially and economically. Beaurocracy represented from all Telangana district more or less equally. We won't have same problem what we had in AP.

Hyderabad developed because it has infrastucture way back in 1950s and geographical advantage. Defence inducties came in 1950s itself before the merger.

Over bridges, flyovers and roads are developed with MCH budget not by the state goverment, you know where MCH gets the funds, through advertisements boards, leasing the shops, property tax, octroi and so on.

State govt given just 5 crores to hyderabad, 4 Scrores to Vizag, And three crores to vijayawada.

Cyber towers was developed by APIIC (Govt company).

This APIIC was funded by selling the govt lands around the hyderbad at the cheap rates to the real estate brokers and developers.

There is a central ministry called urban development they allot the funds to all the cities based on population and economic importance.
More than lucknow, kanpur has got more funds, even Vizag, Vijayawada got the funds and they have developed infrastructure. We are not questioning them?
Gachhibowli stadium got the funds as national games were held, state govt didn't spend single paisa.

State govt has spent more than 20,000 crores on vizag steel plant in 1978, Hindusthan
zinc,Vizag port, BHPV, kakinada port, Goadavari fertlisers.

by Ram Online on Mar 06, 2008 04:10 AM   Permalink
International airport, outer ring road are developed with private company's money who will get their money back by getting tolls for next 20years.

by kk mnmaps on Mar 05, 2008 01:11 PM   Permalink
If politicians from telangana are sincere I believe they could have developed the telangana. I do not believe making it a separate state helps it in any way. Your primary argument was about a GO, and if people and telangana politicians try democratically, they can achieve it. There are so many states in India (ex. Orissa) that are not still very very under-developed despite being a separate state. BTW, you said telangana was in good shape before the merger and than now, Isn't it? Why are you changing it now that telangana is under-developed.

Splitting and invaliding the merger are samething isn't it? Isn't the net result of invalidating the merger two separate states? I am not sure why chose to play with words.

Once telangana is made a state the politicians of that state simply do the same thing they have been doing, ie. taking care of themselves and NOT people. I do not believe they will help develop the state.

Why do you think going to central govt will give justice? Do people of tamilnadu/karnataka feel that they got justice in Cauvery issue? Or AP/karanataka feel like that in case of Almatti issue? It will depend on who is in the power at that time at the center.

If telangana is formed today, KCR will win just because he will be called 'father of telangana' just like potti sriramulu, mohammad ali jinnah etc. People do not care about election manigesto, etc.

Bottom-line is that creating telangana does not help telangana unless politicians really want to develop it.

by Ram Online on Mar 05, 2008 03:11 PM   Permalink
contd..
Telangana state will be formed for sure. More the delay more stronger KCR becomes. Its only question of whether congress wants to give when KCR is not so strong OR wait for TRS to become strong get the Telangana in another coalition government when KCR can take all the credit.

by Ram Online on Mar 05, 2008 03:08 PM   Permalink
We tried democratically for last 50years and it never worked we have no hope it will work in future. There will always be limited budget. Whoever can influence the government can get more funds more favors. Rich will become richer. Telangana will be in poverty cycle forever despite have so many natural resources, rivers, fertile lands, coal unless we have a government that works for its people.

Politicians will be politicians. No matter how bad the politicians are, If telangana state formed, Telangana revenue will be spent on Telangana projects only. We want nothing more nothing less.

Telangana state will be formed for sure. More the delay more stronger KCR becomes. Its only question of whether congress wants to give when KCR is not so strong OR wait for TRS to become strong get the Telangana in another coalition government when KC

RE:RE:RE:Why Telangana State?
by kk mnmaps on Mar 05, 2008 01:15 PM   Permalink
I meant 'There are so many state in india (ex. Orissa) that are still under-developed despite being a separate state'.

by Ram Online on Mar 04, 2008 11:02 PM   Permalink
Contd ..

4) They could enter into movies, real estate media business, etc and make more money.
5) Access to politicians, beaurocreacy means better access to govt policies means better investments like purchasing the lands wherever new irrigation projects coming or industrial corridors coming etc.
6) Money brings political power, Andhra Media ignores the injustices to Telangana, Andhra Beaurocracy willingly supports the exploitation of telangana to make rich richer and poor more poorer.

Here I am talking about one project. Imagine, economic impact of neglect other Telangana projects like Pranahitha, Srisailm left bank canal, Icchampally, and so many other major/minor irrigation projects; neglect of tanks; etc in Telangana.

This neglect affects all communites in Telangana directly or indirectly.

16 TRS MLAs quit Andhra Pradesh assembly