Can somebody throw some light as to the comparative cost of producing nuclear power and solar power as also wind power, which is supposed to be abundantly available in India - From Srinivasan Chennai
RE:Nuclear power vs solar power
by Arvind Khurana on Jul 15, 2008 11:58 AM Permalink
Please recall ENRON. That what our friend late Narsimha Rao and then Govt of Mahrashtra told was cure all of all Power Problems of Maharshtra. We are yet to see a kW of Power from ENRON.
Nuclear Power, I am afraid will meet the same fate.
Speed at which this Minority Govt is trying to push, it is not the cost of Power but Mega Bucks that Sonia Amma and PM are after and they have assured a pie to Singhs as well.
by pramodm on Jul 15, 2008 11:56 AM Permalink
Do you mean to say you use nuclear energy for daily purposes? Come on you should be kidding
by Sahadevan KK on Jul 15, 2008 12:34 PM Permalink
After we are looted by America they can withdraw the agreement any time. Total expense is about 11 lakh crores...
The clause on "Dispute Agreement" in our 123 merely says: "If any disagreement between the parties [India and the US] arises US will be negotiated and settled." This is an amazing blunder of the part of our negotiators of the 123 for which will pay a very high price in future. -- Ashok Parthasarathi, Scicence Adviser to former PM Indira Gandhi. (Hindu, 15.07.2008)
by Pradeep Kumar R on Jul 15, 2008 12:47 PM Permalink
'' The mistake that the enemies of the deal in India and the US are making is to seek satisfaction over their own wish list in the safeguards agreement. The negotiators have made sure that the safeguards agreement does not veer from the objectives of the nuclear deal. If anything, the Indian negotiators have ensured that the agreement does not impose new obligations on India.''
T P Sreenivasan, a former member of the Indian Foreign Service, was India's ambassador to the United Nations, Vienna, and governor for India, International Atomic Energy Agency, Vienna.