Do we really have any solution for the immigration problem? Who can keep a track of the zillions of immigrants coming to Mumbai with the dreams of making it big in the city? We have already created this image about the city that it never refuses anyone, that any measure to control immigration will even have a cultural backlash apart from political and legal hassles. But some measure has to be taken at least temporarily, till the maladies of Mumbai are taken care of...
RE:Immigrants
by kriti dutta on Jul 01, 2008 03:25 PM Permalink
mr sreekanth in democracy u cant claim 'quaratine' for immigrants. i wish the US citizens also said the same thing to indians and god forbid u had to return to india losing everything. how would that be? if u say something think about the fact that if tht happens to you what will you do. if tht same rule of no migration applies to u too how would tht be
RE:RE:Immigrants
by sreekanth agneswaran on Jul 01, 2008 03:47 PM Permalink
Mr. Dutta, The day Indians become a nuisance for the US, they will do that, too... and Indians will come back home losing everything... But today the US NEEDS Indians... I don't think the number of Gujratis in Mumbai are less... But have you ever heard any Marathi asking the Gujratis to go back home? NO! Because it is one of those communities that made Mumbai what it is and is still contributing... Secondly, I had suggested this as a temporary measure... Its somewhat like this... When you have a plumbing problem, you first stop the supply of water, repair it and then re-open the supply... I know its a bad example, but its the simplest I could put it across...
by Murli on Jul 01, 2008 03:21 PM Permalink
Ask PM to allocate industres compulsorily in all zones of India ... no one wants to leave home 3000 kms away to see faces of idiots and manhood people. If really want to get rid of this problem force Indian government to invest equally in all regions of India and take care of all people equally! Anyway Mumbai is the first city of India which was made only and only by migrants .. the britishers and Hindi film industry ... so may be you are migrant to mumbai and better pack your family baggage and get back to paternal village if so much concerned about Mumbai and migrants! Or if have gutts then ask all industries and Film industry to pack up and quit..lets see then how you survive ...on Maladi fish!
by sreekanth agneswaran on Jul 01, 2008 03:40 PM Permalink
There is no denying that migrants have had a huge hand in making Mumbai... Howefver, there is something called a saturation point... And Government investing equally in all regions?? That's a laugh... Are the work cultures equal in all the regions of the nation? In Calcutta, a dog pisses on the streets and Mamata di will call a bandh... with 100% success... In Mumbai, a train blasts kills hundreds and the very next day people are back to work... I personally am against this attitude because this is precisely why the Centre takes Mumbai for granted... But it is this attitude which attracts investors here and consequently job opportunities are created making people like you come and work here...
by Murli on Jul 01, 2008 03:54 PM Permalink
Then why dont you understand the thing that this problem is not just of you peop0le..and in fact a global problem arising due to inequality partiality done during development planning by government. You yourself one side state here that today mumbai is filled of Migrants while the same time you say that no matter whether its bombblast or what a Mumbaiker comes to work the very next day..citing the spirit! then how can you forget my brother those migrants among those spirited people whgom you called the majority of mumbai today??? And brother above all this is not about spirit or whatever ..its only about Dal Roti as you cant afford to loose even a paisa in a place where you have to pay costliest for everything from money to emotions..everything! You go on the work next day just ebcuase of that! kafaiyat Nahi tere iss zamane ki dastoor... Badhawasi hai zaroorat iski ki zindagi iss kadar mazboor!
by sreekanth agneswaran on Jul 01, 2008 04:11 PM Permalink
That was exactly my point, Murli... I never spoke about it from a Mumbaikar spirit point of view... Neither have I ever mentioned anywhere that I have anything against the immigrants... Its a cut and dry practical situation... Previously, Mumbai could accomodate n number of people... It could still support the zillions coming everyday if the govt and the municipality kept pace with the growing infrastructural demands of Mumbai and kept the demand-supply of amenities in check... But now demand has far exceeded supply... and some drastic measures have to be taken to repair it... Tell me, how many new drainways have been made after the British left? Howmany new railway tracks have been laid in the recent years? If work had started a long way back,we definitely would have been in a position to counter these problems today... But is it going to be easy to rectify these problems without a check on the population? Would like to repeat the bad example I had given for Mr. Datta... When there is a major plumbing problem, you first stop the water supply... repair the line, then re-open it... That's the simplest I can put my point across...
RE:RE:Immigrants
by Murli on Jul 01, 2008 03:54 PM Permalink
Then why dont you understand the thing that this problem is not just of you peop0le..and in fact a global problem arising due to inequality partiality done during development planning by government. You yourself one side state here that today mumbai is filled of Migrants while the same time you say that no matter whether its bombblast or what a Mumbaiker comes to work the very next day..citing the spirit! then how can you forget my brother those migrants among those spirited people whgom you called the majority of mumbai today??? And brother above all this is not about spirit or whatever ..its only about Dal Roti as you cant afford to loose even a paisa in a place where you have to pay costliest for everything from money to emotions..everything! You go on the work next day just ebcuase of that! kafaiyat Nahi tere iss zamane ki dastoor... Badhawasi hai zaroorat iski ki zindagi iss kadar mazboor!