Not yet
by Kris Iyer on Feb 18, 2008 09:28 AM   Permalink | Hide replies

Democracy is a great idea.
But its workable only where the mass have some maturity.
It will take not less than 100 years for pak to reach such maturity.

  RE:Not yet
by Rohit ezhuthachan on Feb 18, 2008 09:43 AM   Permalink
Maturity ..India has maturity?! See what happended in Mumbai last week.. see what happened in Mumbai on New Year Day.. see what happened to Dr. Amit..what about Pandher.. what is Lalu, Mulayam and Bahenji doing to mature India. Looting what is meant for people and poor cattle is not maturity. Pulling these cases for years together is not maturity. Selectred amnesia by CBI is not maturity. Kris.. grow up.

by Rajesh Bhagwat on Feb 18, 2008 10:29 AM   Permalink
Aye, rohitbhai, pakistan to abhi bhi 12th century mein hai, tum kahan india se compare kar rahe ho yaar??? What happens in Mumbai or Noida is at least known to people because our Media is absolutely free to report what it sees! Pak me jo ho raha hai wo poora agar dikhaya na, to tera dimag kam karna band ho jayega, samjhe???

by Manish Ghildiyal on Feb 18, 2008 10:30 AM   Permalink
..but ours was a truly democratic society before invasions destroyed all democratic institutions of India...system of Janpadas,Nalanda university,Taxila etc all were harbingers of democracy in India...can you expect a smooth growth and coexistence of many religions like Hinduism,Buddhism or Jainism any where other in world...in Ramayana there is a whole chapter dedicated to Jwalihi(sorry if spelling is wrong) who was a strong critic of Ram,can you expect this in an undemocratic society... is it not a proof of democratic values of Indian society...if one can find audacious philosophy of Advaita Vedanta in India one can also find Charvak's Lokayata which emphasises on material well being and discards all sorts of spiritualism....basically Indian society has a very strong basis for democracy but we Indians have forgotten this treasure...we are always looking towards others for new ideas and solutions...no doubt other societies also have very much to offer but ours is also very rich in terms of values and ideas...we just need to recognise our potential....

by Avi Priten on Feb 18, 2008 03:27 PM   Permalink
Dear Rohit, I think you should visit the middle east, only then you will know what India is. When the Arabs, put there own law on you then you will think of your Mother land India.

RE:RE:Not yet
by Shiva on Feb 18, 2008 10:40 AM   Permalink
As long as people believe in true Islam, democracy is not possible.

Pak is a true islamic nation and so there can't be any democracy. Like mid-east it will be an autocrazy!

Shiva

Pakistan votes for new Parliament