GIRISH - ITS A NICE ARTICLE BUT...
by Nischal Ever on Aug 07, 2008 11:37 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

Girish, The question now is are you willing to get back to India in search of your lost identity for yourself and your family...

US mein kya rakkha hein... Get back to India to see what it holds..

Can you prove a lot of these critical so called NRI money minded Indians wrong by getting back to India?

  RE:GIRISH - ITS A NICE ARTICLE BUT...
by Santosh on Aug 07, 2008 11:41 PM   Permalink
What do you mean by NRI money minded indians ? Do you work for free in India ? Are you doing any social service? What have you done for the country except living there ?

by Anil Bajpai on Aug 08, 2008 12:08 AM   Permalink
NRI money minded Indians ????????
Do you even know the contribution of these so-called NRIs in lobbying for India abroad?? An average NRI feels strongly, protests strongly and is ever willing to contribute towards the betterment of India. What about you?? I am sure you have that typical "resident Indian" attitude of "sab chalta hai yaar"..
Last time I went to India I was the only one protesting against something wrong that was happening on the street in delhi in broad daylight.... none of the likes of YOU supported me as if it wasnt your country. And you have the cheek to write about money minded NRIs.

by soumitesh chakravorty on Aug 08, 2008 12:33 AM   Permalink
I guess it's the "grapes are sour" story when RI people try to lambast NRIs for any damn reason they get. What is the culture amongst the so caller "RIs" in modern Indian cities today? Aping the westerners, trying to speak with an American accent, quipping "hey wassup dude", night clubs, pubs, disco thecs etc etc...its the NRIs who feel a strong need to maintain their originality and identity in these foreign countries and make India proud. We slog our ass here trying to make a mark on this foreign society, as an "Indian' first with pride and dignity and anything else later. So before ridiculing NRIs please take some time to look back and think how much you owe to your motherland and what have you given back while consuming it's dwindling resources everyday

by Amitabh Akolkar on Aug 08, 2008 12:42 AM   Permalink
I agree.

by Nikil Immatty on Aug 08, 2008 12:50 AM   Permalink
how about living midst us for a start, soumitesh? i agree that you are doing your best to be proud as an Indian first and all that. But Why did you leave India anyways? Can you tell me? Was it to prove to the west that we are great people? you made your choice. Even like 4th standard students in India knows that the primary goal of going abroad is to make more money. So let's not just rule out that. But people who live here and still appreciate our motherland.. c'mon man, you've to agree that it's something else. I bet you won't know what I mean when you sit at Starbucks to write this article.

by soumitesh chakravorty on Aug 08, 2008 04:04 AM   Permalink
Nikil, I must say that you think that you're either a psychic or have supernatural vision to see 10,000 miles away watching me sitting in "Starbucks". Get a life my freind! Before commenting on whether someone's loafing in a starbucks outlet try to know first what the person you're trying to ridicule is actually upto! I guess I'll try to make you remember the saying of Upanishad's (I'm sure you've read it being such a devoted Indian son).."Take me from unreal to the real...take me from darkness to light.." How do you know that thousands of hardworking NRIs are not here to gain knowledge and wisdom, which they want to take back to their beloved India for her betterment? Have you even tried changing your mindset for once?

by prashant verma on Aug 08, 2008 12:40 AM   Permalink
janab you wont believe i have seen american CEOs of companies in US dressing in traditional indian dresses when we celebrate diwali. doesn't it tell what we are achieving for india but yes the progress in india is not due to us its by indians who are there. we also contribute to it but dont think we dont love India. its our motherland.

Who is the ''I'' in NRI?