Gujarat model?
by South Indian on Apr 29, 2008 12:55 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

BJP is asking Kannadigas to make Gujarat their model state!

BJP must know

Karnataka is far advanced than Gujarat in providing education to its people. Karnataka is face of India, lead IT revolution, premiere educational institutes. Gujarat more than 50% people are without education

Social status: Karnataka is a sate which equal status for all unlike Gujarat where the backward people, dalits are ridiculed "12 1/2" and not allowe to mingle with others. Even if you got the money forget about buying a property/house in Ahmedadbad for a backward

So I am wondering what BJP found in Guajarat to ask Kannadigas to accept as model?

  RE:Gujarat model?
by tka on Apr 29, 2008 01:30 PM   Permalink
South Indian,
I have lived 20 years in gujarat and 5 years in karnataka. You are wrong on all fronts.
Gujarat is more advanced than karnataka on a number of fronts
- more industrialized
- Multi industry base in gujarat - chemicals, pharma, engineering, petroleum, infra, etc. It even has sizable IT but more smaller firms.
- Karnataka just has IT and that too only in Bangalore
- Gujarat - the industrialization is well spread, ahmedabad, baroda, surat, rajkot etc. are all having industrial development, plus dahej and kandla have big ports.
- Wealth distribution - Wealth distribution in gujarat is way too good. It is spread in both urban and rural areas and people in remote villages also invest in stock market. Karnataka is by and large a single city phonomena.
-Infrastructure - Gujarat's power situation is amazing (all villages have electricty 3 phase for most of the day and night), roads are good across the state, train connectivity is good, sewage network is good, with narmada water even drinking water issues are less as compared to karnataka. And gujarat is actually a desert state still it is better. Ahmedabad has the best quality electriciity in the country - even better than bombay. Bangalores sucks on all infrastructure areas, and the less we talk about other places the better.
-guajartis may not be very literate but they are educated and have awareness. They are self employed so formal higher schooling is not considered important. Health facilityes are better.

  RE:RE:Gujarat model?
by tka on Apr 29, 2008 01:38 PM   Permalink
South Indian,
continued -----

The caste based politics is higher in karnataka then in gujarat. Gujarat is a place driven by money and hence caste lines get blurred because economic superiority is considered a priority.
Safety - Gujarat is a safest place in the state to live. Women at 2 am in the night can roam around freely in ahmedabad. You cannot do that in blore or other places in karnataka.
It has top notch education institutes - IIM Ahemabad, MICA, NID, ATIRA,.
It has the largest civil hospital in asia.
It is much more economical to live in gujarat. In Ahmedabad with a population of 55 lacs which is almost as big as bangalore, in good areas with all amenities you can buy a house at 1500-2000 rs per sqft. In bangalore you wont get it at less that 5000 rs. for similar areas. Therefore gujarat is much more middle class and lower class friendly.
- Also you are completely falso when you say you cannot buy a house if you are a backward. That is utter nonsense. Karnataka as I mentioned has higher caste distinctions.

Overall, gujarat is very good and more importantly, it is still improving under Modi.
Therefore it is a good idea for karnataka to take the gujarat model of development.

Karnataka has its merits but no harm in taking ideas from other states who have done well.

by Jitendra Kumar on Apr 29, 2008 02:27 PM   Permalink
How was the economical situation in Gujarat prior to Modi? Can you check last 50 years record of Gujarat? If Modi is so capable then why did not BJP included him into central cabinet ministry during NDA rule? Why BJP is not projecting him as prime minister candidate for coming general election?

by Suresh Babu on Apr 29, 2008 02:26 PM   Permalink
Gujarat got big central investment in almost all the districts of the state. These industrialisation was brought by the Congress government and if you travel into rural gujarat you can see no development have taken place. No schools, no primary health centre, no roads, no pukka house.

Message awaiting moderator review. |  Show message
by kaushik dey on Apr 29, 2008 01:34 PM   Permalink
Help BJP to make Karnataka as prosperos as Gujarat

by Suresh Babu on Apr 29, 2008 02:21 PM   Permalink
BJP is an extreme rightwing communal party, it is far more dangerous than the terrorists in the country. This judgment was given by a Supreme Court, while ordering reinvestigation on the Post Godhra communal violence in Gujarat. BJP is anti poor, anti labour and it is against the 75% people of this country. BJP means Brahmins Jatiya Party.

by Vikas on Apr 29, 2008 12:57 PM   Permalink

u dont know anything abt the social life in rural karnataka.
and u dont know anything abt the social life in rural gujarat also.

by South Indian on Apr 29, 2008 12:59 PM   Permalink
i know about both... its the other way, u r not aware

by kaushik dey on Apr 29, 2008 01:09 PM   Permalink
U fool! U donot know how posperous Gujarat is.

by hanif muhammed on Apr 29, 2008 06:21 PM   Permalink
Prosperity over the blood of innocents? Karnataka better be 'Poor' than 'Rich' like gujarat

by Suresh Babu on Apr 29, 2008 02:21 PM   Permalink
In rural gujarat we can see the poverty riden villagers and hutments. In rural gujarat, no doubt there are industries but these industries are paying these villages Rs. 50/- per day and this much exploitation is nowhere in India. That is the reason the industries are coming in gujarat only.

by Suresh Babu on Apr 29, 2008 02:39 PM   Permalink
Vikas,
In Gujarat no humanity is there and no social justice.

http://www.rediff.com/news/2008/apr/29kgovt1.htm