To state it very briefly and concisely, Army is not biased in favour of or against any specific Tank or Equipment. They draw up their General Service Qualitative Requirement (GSQR) for an equipment after very detailed analysis of their requirements (operational). Then vested interests step in. The biggest problem is India's most precious "White Elephant" -- the DRDO. They undertake to produce the required equipment, overshoot target dates by many decades, send many specialist teams abroad to study the contemporary equipment (where possible), finally they produce an equipment that neither matches the GSQR, nor is comparable to any of the contemporary equipment (in service with other countries), and is generally a total hybrid of components imported from other countries (in Arjun Tank other than its name practically nothing is the produce of DRDO). By then, the DRDO has blown up thousands of crores on so called 'research and development'. It becomes very embarassing even for the Government to concede rejection of the much touted DRDO wonder product. Therefore, Army is forced to accept the product. Initial product is introduced with much fanfare, and soon the supply is allowed to dwindle to zero, without the countrymen being any wiser. The Referred to praise of Arjun Tank is a concoction doctored by the DRDO and the Government, enunciated through people who are assured prize resettlement after they hang up their uniform. Finally, when it is convincingly found that the DRDO prod
RE:INDIA'S BATTLE TANK
by on Apr 20, 2008 07:19 PM Permalink
The pay scale of scientist in premier research organizations should be at par with best in world;India shouldn't be base for training grounds for MNC's. We take pride in IIT's and IIM graduate but these graduate leave India in search of good lively hood; why is the same work environment and basic amenities not provided in India. Most of our netas are anghuta chap, they only know how to be rich and break rule of land ; their son or daughter live rich and lavish life abroad with Indian tax money. wake up babies before India is under another countries rule; may be some can wait and see the drama of living under another countries rule. Those who believe in receiving technology for the cash are living in la la land
by linux linux on Apr 19, 2008 06:51 PM Permalink
Except that the Army is running scared letting the Arjun go up against the T-90 and T-72 one on one. Proves the army knows the Arjun will beat these tanks hands down. Army is totally controlled by arms lobby.
by umesh thakur on Apr 19, 2008 07:43 PM Permalink
If thats the case then why not any missiles resureched by DRDO is not powered Indian Force yet.... its problem with DRDO.... they lack somewhere...... They should be forced to get the targets
by on Apr 20, 2008 07:12 PM Permalink
Hi some great fools and great supporter of indian technology. You may pay trillion dollars for a product but no country in the world will sell the critical technology; Russian has been our laungatiya yaar as claimed by many great think thanks in defense; the fact is not a single aircraft or tank has been developed in India; those who talk of 286 and duo 2core should understand that aliens(if one believes) have far advanced technology than humans. This is for some babies in India, prior to LCA /Arjun tank we never had any strong R&D base; we used to import materials, tools, even design to integrate every parts; I hope some pandits who behave foolishly or make lose comments will understand meaning of R&D; the first product any where in the world is not perfect; with support from govt. the product takes perfect shape; we Indians think the first product is perfect product, wake up kuch gadhe log no first product is best product, it take years to reach perfection.
by shanmuganathan u on Apr 21, 2008 09:41 AM Permalink
we were started all after 70 only. but w3e have not having critical technology.. if we still supporting T 90 then when we will produce ours.. find the preplem we r facing and find solution