Tribunal
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 05, 2008 05:22 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

Everytime Karnataka cried that it was meted out injustice by the Supreme court and the Tribunal and denied to obey the orders vehementely. Supreme court and tribunal ordered based on the all the points described by the previous posts and much more. Remember the centre sends grievence committee every year to these states to access the situation. Its TN who suffered despite of the court's order. I am sure Karnataka people are always misguided and provoked by their politicians and vedike activists regarding these facts for their narrow political gains. But the irony is Tamilnadu and its people are always blamed for these issues. Its like punishing the victims. I found some north indian friends who are mixing up Hindi/Tamil(or Ram setu) debate with this issue and abuse Tamils. If you dont know, kindly refrain from making such absurd comments
By meting out severe injustice to TN people on all these issues, now they are hell bent to derail the drinking water supply project(which they have already agreed in exchange of Bangalore water supply project) to two heavily water starved districts of northern TN(that too from TN's side). Have humanistic feelings towards your brothers and sisters.

  RE:Tribunal
by uttam rao on Apr 05, 2008 07:26 PM   Permalink
Why not build a multi-purpose dam at Hogenkal serving the concerns of both KN and TN and allow it to be managed by Central Govt. That way, KN will know how much water will be used by TN for Hogenkal project before mettur from reliable sources. Why is TN loathe to the idea of a multi-purpose dam at that site to be built by NHPC or any central govt agency. Looks like it is not mere drinking water project and there is more than what meets the eye.

by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 05, 2008 08:04 PM   Permalink
Mr.Uttam Rao,
A multi purpose dam cannot be built at Hogenakkal as its distance from Mettur reservoir is within 100 kms. Two dams shouldn't be built within 100 kms radius that too in seismically active zone. The largest fault in South India runs closer to this region and constructing two dams nearby will put people in this region in greater risk.
Morover, TN cannot divert this water for agricultural purpose because about 70% of Dharmapuri and krishnagiri districts are covered by rain forests. Agriculture is comparatively less as it is a rocky lanscape.

by uttam rao on Apr 05, 2008 11:46 PM   Permalink
In fact this was not the real reason for not goig for that. NHPC was ready to build a series of dams including one at Hogenkal. But, TN not only wanted a share of power from ones on the border like Hogenkal, but also on dams that are to be located deep in KN. Why should KN agree to share power generated from dams exclusively located in its territory? So, these dams have not taken off. Regarding seismic region, If terai region & JK (more seismically sensitive) can have mutiple dams, smaller dams can certainly be constructed upstream only if states agree.

by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 06, 2008 09:16 AM   Permalink
Mr.Uttam Rao,
Your statements show that you donot want share anything that comes from within your territories. This exactly the problem with Karnataka. If we go by your argument, then power generated from Neyveli Lignite Corporation should not be shared. You should be aware that most of the Bangalore's power comes from here. Morover, dams are always associated with seismicity and you cannot deny the facts that more dams nearby will certainly put lives to risk. The geological pattern always differ place to place and additionally, there is no power plant to be built in Hogenakkal but mere drinking water project.

by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 08, 2008 03:55 PM   Permalink
I just deviated slightly. Regarding power sharing between KN and TN on dams to be built by NHPC, we should understand that any project undertaken such as building dams in upper riparian states will affect the lower riparian states and not the vice versa. If TN allows multiple dams to be constructed inside KN, certainly agriculture in TN will be affected to a great extent. Indeed, I should point out KN constructed nearly 12 smaller dams across cauvery but obtained permission from TN only for two. Is this fair?.

Hogenakkal project(not even a dam) is very well within TN and that too from the allocated share. This project will not affect the interests of KN as it the water has already left the state. Friends, kindly oppose only if affects your farmers' interests. Dont oppose for the sake of doing it.

by satheesh Kumar on Apr 11, 2008 12:23 AM   Permalink
hi

I really appreciate your valide statements which filled with real information where common people can understand!!!

good going

sks

by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 08, 2008 11:30 AM   Permalink
Karnataka is not justified in saying it cannot share anything from within its borders. If you visit Madivala in Bangalore between 3 am to 7 am, you will see loads of fruits, vegetables, Bananas, coconuts, Banana leaves,betel leaves,eggs, Broiler Chickens being unloaded from Trucks from Tamilnadu. More than half of the daily commodities mentioned above that Bangalore consumes are from Tamilnadu. Can TN stop all these and if it does, its only Karnataka that suffers. There was a huge demand for all these commodities(and severe price rise) when trucks were stopped by KN goondas during Rajkumar death and Cauvery tribunal award row. Its like throwing mud on one's own head.

by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 08, 2008 11:33 AM   Permalink
I meant that more than 50% of all the commodities mentioned bangalore consumes are from TN

RE:RE:Tribunal
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 05, 2008 08:05 PM   Permalink
its 'reserve' forests and not 'rain' forests

http://inwww.rediff.com/news/2008/apr/05cau1.htm