Cauvery river flows in three districts of karnataka (Coorg, Mysore and Mandya) whereas it flows in 9 districts of Tamilnadu namely Dharmapuri,Salem,Erode,Karur,Trichy,Tanjore,Tiruvarur, Nagapattinam,Kumbakonam and merges in Bay of Bengal at Kaveripoompattinam(Pondicherry). The land cultivated with Cauvery in TN than that of Karnataka geographically. Cauvery is not a major river when compared to Krishna in Karnataka(but it is projected in contrary to the fact). Coorg is hilly and has less agricultural land whereas the two districts namely Mysore and Mandya rely on Cauvery for agriculture. But in Tamilnadu, cauvery flows in highly cultivated 8 districts (these lands are irriagted for thousands and thousands of years). In fact, Karikala cholan built Kallanai(stone dam) 1700 years ago across Cauvery(this is the oldest usable dam in the world today). Karnataka is a huge state(bigger than TN) and it just not consists only these 3 districts. Most of the western, Central and North Karnataka people never involve themselves in this dispute(they constitute nearly 80% of the total population). The central and north Karnataka are underdeveloped and only the south Karnataka comprising in and around Bangalore and Mysore are developed due to IT. The central Karnataka though a highly water fed region(thanks to the sprawling western ghats and its rain forests) has not seen development in terms of educational institutions, food management and other social issues.
RE:Sorry state of affairs
by Manju Seetharamu on Apr 16, 2008 08:27 PM Permalink
This one is of my fellow state mate - Sathyanarayana Bhat.
Hi My Friend, it is like this. You are throwing your house garbage in my back yard & asking me to clean. This is all about Hogenakal project. Tamilnadu does exactly the same. Please go through the tribunal order. Do you have a copy of the same? Let me explain. Any projects needs to be taken up on the cauvery water, both states to agree on the project then only state can go with the project. If Karnataka set up 5000 crore project in Nanjangud which is part of Karnataka & store water after the KRS, no water will be flowing down to Tamil Nadu, do you agree Karanataka's project? This is my state , I can do whatever I like right ??? Hope this answers your doubt & question.
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 04, 2008 12:15 PM Permalink
Hogenakkal is not a dispute area in official records. The largest bank is inside Tamilnadu and has been developed by Tamilnadu Tourism for decades together and this place can be reached by entering tamilnadu only. Tourists from Bangalore have to travel to Dharmapuri, Pennagaram and then arrive at Hogenakkal. They travel nearly 150 km inland TN to reach Hogenakkal. The smaller bank at karnataka's side is totally inaccesible by roads and is not maintained by KN's Tourism. Only illicit liquor is sold there. Suddenly a place cannot be claimed without records. During Veerappan's time, those who are claiming now never even dreamt of that. Now they are forging into the TN's side ib boats and abuse TN boatsmen. I have seen this by myself.
by on Apr 06, 2008 02:40 PM Permalink
hai sangeetha I see that u have a very good in proving TN and TN farmers are smart. If you guys were smart as you claim why don;t you get a bit more smarter and find water else where. We can save this argument.
But the question TN has not answered is "When TN knew it did not have water resource on what basis it it allow farmers to cultivate in large scale? How smart? If TN can allow its farmers to irrigate lands why shouldnt Karnataka do it. So you see both govts are doing the same and smart people like you keep posting non sense....
by saigeetha jagannathan on Apr 04, 2008 12:06 PM Permalink
contd, Most of the north central and north east karnataka are dry and it witnessed the highest number of farmer suicides in KN this crop year.
This sorry state of affairs exists because KN politics is dominated by people belonging to southern districts. Thatswhy, time and again they make this cauvery issue a major political drama. This is not the same with Krishna river eventhough a water sharing dispute exists between Karnataka and Andhra over Krishna river.
But in TN, Cauvery if the lifeline and thatswhy if the water is deficient, crores of people are affected. Even then, TN never witnessed farmer suicides as in Maharastra and KN beacuse some of the populist movements by TN govt. TN is highly industrialised and the development is equally spread. During Crisis, they move to places like Tiruppur, Sivakasi, Madurai etc for their livelihood. Only people from dharmapuri and Krishnagiri districts move to Bangalore as it is closer.