A REAL ALTERNATIVE TO SETHU CANAL PROJECT..
by MGR Fan on Sep 15, 2007 09:47 AM   Permalink | Hide replies

There is one real alternative to this project - Something that acheives same goal, but benefits people of 4 states and whole country.

The alternative is :

1. Build a Ultra High speed Train Corridor from Kolkatta to Tuticorin, along the NH itself . Latter extend it to Guwahati.
2. Let this corridor be fully electrified.
3. Expand Tuticorin Harbour in Size and make it ready for container traffic.

This solves all problems. The investment needed can be easily got from Japan and the project will create atleast 5-10 lakh jobs. After it is completed, Tea from Guwahati can be moved in just 1 day to Tuticorin and from there it can be shipped to UK/West Asia etc in no time. No need of any sethu canal or anything else.

Further, if you are living in europe/UK, you can find that most of food, milk products are imported from Australia. Once we develop this, we can export Indian Rice, Milk to UK/Europe and our farmers will benefit. Tuticorin will be the main shipping point and it will become a great trading hub.

This is not some dream fantasy. Japan is going to investi n Mumbai-Delhi High speed goods train corridor, same thing can be done to Eastern India also.

Sethu is time pass, money waste distraction that will be just a joke.

  RE:A REAL ALTERNATIVE TO SETHU CANAL PROJECT..
by MGR Fan on Sep 15, 2007 09:54 AM   Permalink
If you look at world map, you will find it very funny - Europeans/UK people and Arabs will buy lot of foodstuff from Australia, which is 10000-15000 kms away. India has far bigger agricultural power than Australia and we are nearer, but we dont use that capability to enrich our farmers. Sethu Canal wont change anything, except to waste time and hurt sentiments. The best alternative is the train corridor connected to ports like Kochi-Tuticorin. Or else, 4 laning of railway tracks should be taken up by Laloo immediately .

by Aftab on Sep 15, 2007 10:04 AM   Permalink
Advani uncle is asking to give an alternative that has a MUDDA for his party. You are talking sensible things and he is unable to appreciate this

by MGR Fan on Sep 15, 2007 10:24 AM   Permalink
yes, the party (BJP) is taking the wrong route to criticise a wrong project (Sethu). Sethu is a DMK sponsored timepass and moneywaste project to strengthen the contractor mafia represented by a particular Minister of TN .

by MGR Fan on Sep 15, 2007 09:52 AM   Permalink
I used the word "Electric" because, sending goods by electric trains means no need to spend on diesel at all. That is very economical.

Why dont the government think of workable ideas rather than junk ideas?

Ram Sethu : Two ASI officials suspended