According to the Planning Commission and the Prime Minister, the capacity of nuclear power would be 20,000 MWe in the year 2020. At present, India was producing 3,300 MWe.
In 2020, the production would be 7,000 MWe.
%u201CWhy should you buy second-hand reactors from the U.S. to produce 13,000 MWe of nuclear power. While the government is reluctant to reveal the costs of this energy, India will have to take loans and it will spend about Rs. 2 lakh crore for reactors and another Rs. 8 lakh crore to set them up with fuel facilities, etc. The Indian budget is only Rs. 6.5 lakh crore %u2014 we are spending two times more than the country%u2019s annual budget on setting up these reactors. The cost of power will jump to Rs. 7 a unit, which is double the present cost of nuclear power.%u201D
RE:Sonia Monmohan are not telling the truth
by ASHOK on Oct 09, 2007 11:30 AM Permalink
Time and again it has been emphasised that India is going for the deal to open gate for Nuclear fuel supply But you will not like to understand.
Can you get Uranium without this deal ???
Regarding Reactors , Who say India is going to buy them from US.
It will be global tender, at that time ask Commies to put their mind and buy Russian stuff,
BTW India has already signed with Putin for 4 more reactors if this Indo Us Deal goes through.
by Joyee Funee on Oct 09, 2007 11:35 AM Permalink
What about thorium based reactor? India has ample soure of Thorium
by ASHOK on Oct 09, 2007 11:51 AM Permalink
To keep Thorium Reactor Running You need Plotunium. To have Plotunium You need Uranium, which is imported.
by allen on Oct 09, 2007 01:31 PM Permalink
dear ashok...you seem to be good in physics. elaborate the deal, so that people like us can understand more about this deal.. I support CPM-CPI from childhood, but now i feel, they are also equally bad as BJP & Old Congress Pot bellied Politicians... let us find out who is doing right and wrong.
by ASHOK on Oct 09, 2007 01:58 PM Permalink
Allen >> Indeed I did Master's in Physics with Nuclear Physics as specialisation in 1978.
But later changed to Oil Industry as Nuclear Industry in India was passing through rough patch.
Personally I am no fan of Congress but I know for sure that this nuclear deal has many many benefits to help India move ahead and atleast create a bigger economy than currently 1 Trillion $.