Hi friends, I am a doctor from India, now doing Phd in Cancer genetics in New York. I will say you my experiences in India and with the president,when I was doing my MBBS. I am from Karnataka,and there we have management seats. The percentage of donation seats for MD/MS were more than 80% and each college used to charge 45 to 80 lakhs for each seat and on paper they show only 2 to 5 lakh fees. One of the ex principal who was abused by our college Dr.R.R.Patil filed a case in the high court and high cour judges were Barucha and Saldana they were non corrupt and extremely honest,came to an conclusion only 5% donation seats are suffiecient to run the colleges successfully. And they passed an order for cancellation of donation seats and 95% should be merit they said. Than each private college in Karnataka and maharastra collected nearly 1 to 2 crore ruppees (like 1 lakh rupees each from nearly 100 -200 donation students) and totally I think nearly 40 to 50 crore rupees was bribed to supreme court judges each,and the worst thingh,the supreme court cancelled high courts order and siad that colleges can charge their own fees,not only that it went ahead and said that colleges can conduct their own entrance and interviews. We were all dismayed and we nearly 5000 merit students wrote to the so called honourable President,Atal Bihari Vajpayee, Sonia Gandhi but with no response from them. One of my friend who stood 3rd for state amongst 5000 doctors was asked in interview can he pay 18 lakh rupees fees and he was poor so he was not choosen. I had personally written to president,had Gone to Delhi but there were no response. Now I relize that even the presidents post in India is not free from corruption and I decided to US entrance in that I got 99 percentile and American Government gave me 180,000 $ scholarship and I am here and I enjoy America. When I think back and see the concept of slavery is imbibed in Indians right from when they are students.We teach students to call teachers as SIR ( Stupid Indian Rogues ). And theses students go ahead to become slaves who dont have guts to question the injustice done to them and society. If A.P.J Kalam is said to be great,it does not mean he is infallible.Every human being is infallible. Try to judge Kalam by his actions. My experience with him is that he may be a great scientist,but he has not shown the same as the president.And each person may have his own good and bad opinion about him and you are free. In Afzals case we Indians have a right to question the delay exhibited by him.In USA my professors from John Hopkins and Harward told me never to call them as Sir,they used to make me call them by their names. And professors are really very decent here in USA. They maintain the dignity of woman. In India in Jawaharlal nehru medical college,Belgaum,there was a girl,her HIV status came false positive and she was previously forced to have sex with nearly 18 professors. Initially college dismissed her but no actions were taken agfainst professors. And previous Gynaec HOD,used to force post graduates to arrange for prostitutes and he used to force even good looking PGs females to have sex,and one female post graduate just slapped him and she had to leave the course.And the professor was awarded B.C.ROY award by Indian Government. When I was doing residency in Orthopaedics,one of my professor Dr.Motimath used to demand 2to 3 lakh ruppes from students for signing thesis and one of college had written an annonymous letter,but the management gave him a clean chit. My only humble advise to president is THERE IS NO NEED OF HIM TO IGNITE YOUNG BRAINS,BUT JUST SEE TO IT THEY ARE NOT DAMPENED. MAKE A RULE WHERE STUDENTS CAN GRADE THEIR PROFESSORS, AND LET THE GRADING BE USING INTERNET AND LET THE STUDENTS CHOOSE THE PROFESSORS PROMOTION AND OTHER THINGS.One thingh we Inians need to remember is "As I would not be a slave, so I would not be a master. This expresses my idea of democracy. Whatever differs from this, to the extent of the difference, is no democracy." Abraham Lincoln and than only our India will truly develop. Jai Hind IF REDIFF FINDS THIS AS ABUSIVE THEY CAN DELETE THIS MESSAGE.BUT FACTS ARE BITTER
RE:MY EXPERIENCE WITH KALAM
by adfasd asdasd on Feb 23, 2007 11:50 AM Permalink
2 things.... 1) I do not back off from the fact that anybody in public domain should be accountable... But if we take this specific instnace of afzal guru and kalam...
Would the outcry from a section of the soceity would have been at this same level if the president would have been some like Mr. Bhairon Singh Shekhawat. Because i am sure that whatever is preventing Mr kalam to take a decision quickly would have applied to anyone else as well. Finally i am sure he will ake the right decision inspite of all the pressures.
2) This is at a personal level to you doctor. It is very easy to run away from a system and then point fingers. Gutter ki safai gutter mein khade hokar ki jaati hai. I do not want to bring this forward, but there are many ppl including me, who have got opportunities to work and study in places like UK, US and singapore, but we did not run for it, we fought here and by god's will are doing good for us and our country.
So please do not run away from situations and systems, but stand here and fight.
by Suresh Babu on Feb 23, 2007 10:23 AM Permalink
Dear Corruption is Congress & BJP's culture, you should throw out these political parties into the Arabian Sea. Can you do this? If yes, when?
by Anurag Gupta on Feb 23, 2007 05:20 AM Permalink
Dear Sir The quality of your writing clearly suggests that you never went to institutions like Harvard or Johns Hopkins. I am not aware of Indian medical students getting $180K scholarships. What is the name of the scholarship you got? Why do you have to lie about yourself to convey your views?
What is wrong in private colleges charging high fees? Why should meritorious students get preferential treatment? Most such benfeiciaries never end up working for the nation even for short periods. What you should be asking for is the quality of education that justifies its cost. That is something worth fighting for.
Why is the president responsible for everything? He is a leader who has acheived a lot for the nation and has motivated countless others successfully. If he tries to ignite the minds of the youth, why critisize him?
How about the character and responsibility of common people who exploit their fellow human beings just because they are weak?
RE:RE:MY EXPERIENCE WITH KALAM
by Ashish Patil on Feb 23, 2007 08:13 AM Permalink
Hi, I never said that I went to Harward,I am in New York University. Next point I never meant it per annum.Its for entire course.I meant for whole course. I am not a sir, I left calling anyone as sir the moment I left India. My ambition when I was doing MBBS was just to work in rural area. But when I applied for jo I was asked 6 lakh rupees. For your kind info they dont test us on excellent english skills. Do you think a guy after paying 45 to 65 lakhs will serve India or loot India. Do you think the politicians who run the medical colleges pay doctors highly,in fact they pay them just 5000 for MBBS and 15,000 for MD/MS. Do you think if the guy is rich than he desrves the seat,than why the hell is the government taking income tax that too from poor people. And the rich people go away without paying taxes. I say merit should be the criteria for everythingh. I am happy that you have guts to criticize and express your views,but you have done one mistake,you called me SIR
RE:RE:RE:MY EXPERIENCE WITH KALAM
by priya p on Feb 23, 2007 09:21 AM Permalink
The overall picture is quite true. I have heard of a few cases in private institutions where lecturers have to be paid their "due" to get thru practicals. Not all are that way, but even 10% of people misbehaving is enough to bring the entire setup a bad name. I also agree, when people spend to a tune of 1 crore for their education they will look for ways of getting their investment back, rather than helping the society in general. So we will probably see an increase in malpractices in even the medical field. Or ppl will leave for a greener pasture. We must have sufficient funds for deserving candidates, more nationalized institutions of good quality and most importantly only meritocracy. Financial assistance should be provided by the Govt. (as a low-interest loan rather than a direct donation perhaps) to aid all needy students solely based on their economic conditions and not on caste-religion basis. Let there be a healthy competition and let meritocracy thrive.
by on Feb 23, 2007 11:17 AM Permalink
Why should meritorious students get preferential treatment???? Which era did you time transport from Charles-the feudal age? And why is serving the country a precondition to an education. And what is up with the personal attack Shakespeare. I am not familiar with Dr. Patil's qualifications but I can venture a safe guess as to yours. You start your letters with capital words and end your sentences with full stops. They teach that in kindergarten. Your post has paragraphs so you definitely passed class 1. But you do not have well composed trains of thoughts so you definitely did not make it past that. Your presumptuous ass assumed that the 180K figure was annualized so you obviously dont have a very well oriented research mind--that rules out a graduate degree. Your lack of logic and flow in your post is stunning(case in point:you go from addressing high fee structures to questioning why brilliant students should go to college to proposing that cost should be a function of quality--all in one paragraph)-so that rules out a serious undergradute education. So either you had an epileptic seizure at the keyboard or you are a glorious retard. Comment about my education now will you sherlock?
by on Feb 23, 2007 06:01 AM Permalink
I am sure you would recommend people to eat cakes if they don't have any roti, wouldn't you ?