Disputed state
by amar patil on Feb 09, 2007 01:30 AM   Permalink | Hide replies

Karnataka is the only state in the nation which has problems with all neighbouring states. So it is pretty much clear who is bad apple

  RE:Disputed state
by karthik venki on Feb 09, 2007 01:53 AM   Permalink
Karnataka is the only progressive state and thats why everybody is jealous of it. Remember the dialogue from movie 'Guru'.
Karnataka tarakki kar rahi hai bhai. Without Karnataka, South India is shitty.

  RE:RE:Disputed state
by Southie on Feb 09, 2007 01:59 AM   Permalink
why r u saying south india is shitty. Without the telugus, bangalore will a city with lots of computers and no programmers

RE:RE:RE:Disputed state
by smash on Feb 09, 2007 02:55 AM   Permalink
who told u that ? urself ..... LOL
never ever think so.... by mistake if you think so, go n improve ur places..

Jai Kannada, Jai Karnataka..

by prashanthmanae on Feb 09, 2007 02:02 AM   Permalink
who the hell told u that there are not able people in karnataka...if u guys were better programmers then why didnt all software companies go to hyderabad ???? why do u guys come to karnataka for jobs????

RE:RE:RE:RE:Disputed state
by Southie on Feb 09, 2007 02:04 AM   Permalink
because bangalore has good weather and need to improve its industry. Hyderabad and Chennai were historically bigger and had better economy. The Indian government wanted to set something up so Kar can be successful too.

If you had lots of programmers, why is it being dominated by telugus. Why do telugus make more and better quality IIT graduates than Kar.

I am not saying Kar is a bad place but you people should really stop saying south india (outside Kar) is shitty.

RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:Disputed state
by rayker rayker on Feb 09, 2007 02:22 AM   Permalink
"there was a decision make in the 50s and everyone wanted the IT industry in their state. "

i hope you mean electronics ? there was no IT industry as we know now in the 50s FIY!!! and surely not this lucrative too!

by Southie on Feb 09, 2007 02:15 AM   Permalink
my prashanthmanae

please read the strategy of the government when the IT industry was really setup in India. there was a decision make in the 50s and everyone wanted the IT industry in their state. Madras presidency wanted it too and had great argument why it should have been there but the minister at that time decided that since Madras presidency had both chennai and hyderabad, bangalore should be setup as IT

by karthik venki on Feb 09, 2007 02:43 AM   Permalink
Karnataka had no problems even before the advent of IT. We had all comanies like: ITI, BEL, BHEL, BEML, HAL, ADA, ISRO. So economy and employment was not an issue.

AP has more population and that gets translated into higher IIT numbers.

Accept this fact buddy: A decade ago Hyderabad was in shambles. Every Telugu guy was looking for the first opportunity to sneak into Bangalore.

Even now Chennai is in shambles. Fishing, shipping were the major industries until recently. Bangalore was much better at all times.

If you really thing AP or TN is better then why dont you go back????

by rayker rayker on Feb 09, 2007 02:19 AM   Permalink
"The Indian government wanted to set something up so Kar can be successful too. "
- i'm having a good laugh. bangalore clicked because of a variety of factors, amongst many - infosys was one.

"Why do telugus make more and better quality IIT graduates than Kar."
- nothing but a troll, there's no one out there certifying a mere language making people superior.

"why is it being dominated by telugus"
- there are no numbers that say telugu people are outnumbering the kannadigas, if there's a reason its more to do with social and population. andha is a much bigger state, and andhraiites have a much more compelling reasons socially to become a software engg. (pardon my crude logistics, i did my studies in AP and have a lot of friends from AP and thus have been privy to the social conditions prevailing. look around you , see how much compulsions people have going to the USA for a better dowry. not that this is only in andra, its there in most communities and across india, just that the compulsions are more in that part of the country, i might be wrong , but at least i do not have a bias saying this region is better or this region is worse off)

" stop saying south india (outside Kar) is shitty."
- true, whoever said that was a troll, and meant to entice you into saying soemthing against ktk. so why do you want to stoop to thier levels ?

by prashanthmanae on Feb 09, 2007 02:08 AM   Permalink
dude...it was not my comment...anyway in that case then all the computer in the should have been in andhra ???why didnt anyone go thr and all came to karnataka...the central govt has got nothing to do with this...its kar ability that it is branded among worlds no 1 cities not by anybodys obligation!!!!

by Rationalist on Feb 09, 2007 02:49 PM   Permalink
& toilets without cleaneres........!

by Vijay Raj on Feb 09, 2007 03:03 AM   Permalink
Well, whenever there is interstate dispute (esp with Tamilnadu) you people will suddenly go for black out of tamil channels, cinemas etc., Are you not ashamed of being a party for it? Can you give us anyone instant,in which a state bans the product of other state wheneever a problem arise? (Don't quote Assam) they are done by terroists (ULFA). Believe you karnatakans do fit into it. Who asked you not to protest for these issuse? But don't protest at the cost of national intergity

by rayker rayker on Feb 09, 2007 04:24 AM   Permalink
quite true. its disgusting the way fundamental rights of citizens are broken - tv channels being blocked - do we live in a dictatorial regime ? cable tv operators are responsible, and if it continues people should go to satellite based tv which really isnt a good option for those looking for value. its sad that no one has filed a PIL regarding the same, and also the tv operators who ban certain channels be punished.

national integrity and fundamental rights come first. look how regional bias, linguistic differences light up this forum!

RE:RE:RE:RE:Disputed state
by Rationalist on Feb 10, 2007 10:59 AM   Permalink
Mr.Rayker, when u feel PIL has 2 b filed here for blocking Tamil channels in KA, y dont u feel the same has to b done in TN for blocking KA channels. Just bcos Kannadigas r sober, they dont demand anything & just get used 2 wach whtevr is available u accept that KA need not b aired in TN. Stop playing pseudo secularist.

by Rationalist on Feb 09, 2007 08:41 PM   Permalink
Dont teach us National integrity.V r step ahead in beleiving whole world should b integreated (VISHWA MANAVA concept of late Gnanapeeta awardee Sri KUVEMPU). But rest r simply not understanding. They seem 2 have all allied against KA for sin of allowing them to thrive in. In TN even in normal times there is no Kannada channel. Kannadigas(few) simply get used to waching Tamil channels there. But u expect all luxuries here.Tamils r crazy people.They can skip food but cant stay without watching TV & movies(only Tamil).

by prashanthmanae on Feb 09, 2007 01:58 AM   Permalink
JAI KARNATAKA...CAUVERY BELONGS TO KARNATAKA...

by Haresh G. jagtiani on Feb 09, 2007 03:04 AM   Permalink
prashanthmanae, your name prashanth is good and i do not know what does manae means. Karanataka belongs to India and so also the cauvery belongs to India and the indians. Please do not be under the false illusion that karnataka is a different territory, because karnataka is a part of India and cauvery river is a small rivulet and is a part of India alone. Be good and think nationalistic, not just for the state where you live and were born, but our complete Nation.

by rayker rayker on Feb 09, 2007 01:37 AM   Permalink
by your trollish statement you might also extend the same logic with the Indian republic. we have ltte/ Srilanka, Pakistan, china, Burma, Bangladesh as our neighbours with whom we had trouble. and clearly we weren't the aggressors with any of these.

play good, play fair, try national integration for a change.

by Sanjitarani Santra on Feb 09, 2007 01:44 AM   Permalink
I am not from any south Indian state But I have been in south India for long time,Kannadas are one of the best people in India. But Kauvery problem has nothing to do with them so much personally,how much water they can give,after all the cities are growing fast inside Karnataka too. There are lots of rain in Tamilnadu and they should start growing proects seriously on saving water for bad weather. Water is a big problem for Tmilnadu but they do get lot of rain too. So better to think positively and act accordingly.And think rationally before you bring racial things.

by suresh n on Feb 09, 2007 02:03 AM   Permalink
Oh my God.... in which world are you??? Do you think TN gets enough rainfalls??? Have u ever been to TN??? Man wake up.... why the hell we are asking water if there are so much rains??? Dude if you dont know don't comment on the article.
Take Care,
nsuresh_rasr

by prashanthmanae on Feb 09, 2007 01:46 AM   Permalink
Sanjitarani Santra i agree with u...that dumb ass has not been here...so he dosent know about it!!! :)

by prashanthmanae on Feb 09, 2007 01:41 AM   Permalink
whr the hell ru from....????whn u dont know about things dont talk about it???? karnataka is 100 times better then any other state or whr ever ur from...if not this wouldnt be called the silicon valley of india...neither would so many software companies come here...and nor would thousands of people from other parts of india come here...

by amar ajit patil on Feb 09, 2007 12:17 PM   Permalink
I am from karnataka

by mahesh sawant on Feb 09, 2007 02:56 AM   Permalink
I truely agree with amar .. karnatka .. is the wrost state who has lots of problem with all nieghbours, belgaun issue with maharstra .

by Uttar Pradesh on Feb 09, 2007 01:57 AM   Permalink
Kannadigas are nice except in the 90s when they killed 19 people. Stop saying anyone is nice or bad because like the Kannadigas there is good and bad people in every society. So dont make out like Kannadigas are better than anyone else.

http://in.rediff.com/news/2007/feb/08cau.htm