indian student killed in Virginia shooting
by DEBARATI DASGUPTA on Apr 18, 2007 02:17 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

What need is there to make such a hue and cry over the killing of two indians in the shhotout? The student might had died in an accident or illness for all we care. She must be belonging to a privileged family to go and persue her study abroad . Then she would had settled down permanently in that country after getting all that subsidised education in her country. What use would that be to her own countrymen? And the teacher who was killed himself expressed the desire for his last rites in the US. In fact he was asking his parents to join him there. Do you know how much our elite institutions like IIT and IIMs are suffering from shortage of faculties? The best brains of our country still think of going abroad instead of putting their education in use here.Campus shootouts are nothing new in US where obtaining arms is easy job. So let us stop all this mindess arguing and fighting over a non-topic.We have far more important things to argue about.

  RE:indian student killed in Virginia shooting
by praveen on Apr 18, 2007 03:52 PM   Permalink
Makes one wonder if you posess either a head or heart. May be a psych evaluation will help you.

by Tanya Shah on Apr 18, 2007 05:05 PM   Permalink
dont post such crap dasgupta. If you dont respect the life than get your grey matter checked.

A life of a priviledged and the under priviledged holds the same value....god forbid but imaging the victim being one of your sibling or close to your heart and imagine her a priviledged child...would you mourn the death or not....

GET YOUR HEAD EXAMINED....

by Chilla Mat on Apr 18, 2007 08:12 PM   Permalink
Dasgupta....Daru pita hai kya din raat...?? Abbe India India kya chilla raha hai..?? Insaan ki jaan gayi, samaza kar thoda...and why u against anyone who makes choices of their life...People have always migrated in search of something...Do u live in the same village where your grandPa was living..?? Stop preaching people what they should do, where they should live and work....Everyone has right of betterment.....and its everyone's choice ..you can not dictate that under false image of patriotism. All over the world immigrants have always helped their mother/father country. know more before you shout.

RE:RE:indian student killed in Virginia shooting
by saunak jyotindra pandya on Apr 18, 2007 08:43 PM   Permalink
Indeed the way Dasgupta convey her view are totally wrong, but tell me you mourners how much of you feel same kind of pain when some thousands of innocentd died in India due to terrorism. We just read and forget about daily incident took place in India. They are also innocent people who has nothing to do with killer. Everyone hypes it coz this incident took place in US , that is wrong. Killing of human is barbarism irrespective whether its happens in India or in US.

by on Apr 24, 2007 09:26 AM   Permalink
Mr Dasgupta, you are a patriotic loser of Indian origin , no doubt. Jealous that you could not go abroad, fuming because you could not succeed financially and cribbing about the brain drain from IITs and IIMs. As if you live to serve manking and your country. Get a life....

by Ravindra LB on Apr 18, 2007 04:04 PM   Permalink
Something's wrong with you Dasgupta.. No wonder a person lik you would committ this sorta crime.. Absolute nonsense.. Feel for what has happened..

by shalini mahanty on Apr 18, 2007 05:36 PM   Permalink
To some extent you are right.
Lot of things (changes) are to be done in this country but probably this is not the right moment or the right way to do so.
At the we are all humans and humanity is the prime religion so let us give some respect to the departed soul.

Now let us also try to do something good for our community if not the country.

Make your life worth living.

by ukudup adop on Apr 18, 2007 04:04 PM   Permalink
Your post is more barbaric than actual killing.It is rather a tragedy that we have nincompoops of your nature flourishing in India. You are an extremist and the CBI and FBI should watch. The post stinks. Incorrigible people have no good words for humanity. To be together at the time of loss of life to console is humane. I doubt whether you are one.

by iced spice on Apr 18, 2007 03:11 PM   Permalink
A life taken is a life taken. How can u discount it like dat? Only ppl who lose somebody like dat no the pain. If u donn give a damn, then come here n post crap. Its not abt bein abroad wen she died...daz her choice to study there. N wat yr jealous of the fact dat she belongs to a priveleged family. Wat kind of crap is dat. The fact is dat she was a victim of some idiot's violence. Wud u say the same abt a siblin or frd whoz abroad n dies like dat??? Hell No!!! U wud be mournin it too. Its a tragedy dat somebody lost their life like dat for no fault of theirs. But u have no rt to discount the value of their life like this.

by Anand Sampath on Apr 18, 2007 04:30 PM   Permalink
Go have your head examined.

by Ken on Apr 18, 2007 04:47 PM   Permalink
Firstly, any life lost is a life lost and deserves utmost sympathy. Given the nature of their deaths, they deserve more sympathy and heartfelt condolences.
Having said that, I think media (again driven by their understandong of what sells and what does not) is trying to overhype this issue. Mr/Ms. Dasgupta is right to an extent when he/she says this is not the most important issue facing the country. For one, a drunkard who ran over 6 pavement dwellers has been
Let's move on to something more relevant to Indians. We might as well be discussing some nerdy topic on next generation computers - as relevant to us here as this topic is. US Gun laws are obviously important to US citizens and have a background to that group of this world's population. Let's not comment on unknown topics!

by Rambo I on Apr 18, 2007 06:54 PM   Permalink
Miss Dasgupta! Pathetic! Deplorable! People are sad or passing condolences not because Prof or Minal anyone of their use. They are feeling sad about it. Life is not all about calculating usefulness/non-usefulness and then reacting.

You Lack emotions! Sorry to say if someone else around you'd die we will be sorry you better take your pen and paper...calculate your IMPORTANCE of dropping 5ml of tears & react! Gud Luck!

V Tech Shooting: Indian killed