When I saw today's TOI I was surprised to see a half front page devoted to this news. I feel sorry for all those (Indians and non Indians) who died. But how much importance we have to give to this news? Shower prise on those people who are doing the work for India and not those who consume resources of India (in this case low cost education)and benefit other nation. Same applies to the former India born NASA scientist who died in tragic airbrorn accident. There are so many intellectuals who are serving for our mother nation. To name few Jayant Naralikar, Narayan Murthy, Abdul Kalam. We have to highlight them so that icons like these can become inspiration for our kids and younger generation. We are setting a trend where we are making these Indian born US citizens as our heros. How much contribution they are making for India? News like this should be somewhere in the middle page and not on frontpage
RE:How much important this news is?
by Akram on Apr 18, 2007 03:30 PM Permalink
well said ji - these people were in US only for their monetary gains and contribute nothing for the country.
i was very much disturbed when Indian brn Pepsi CEO name was nominated for the Indian of the year, whose contribution was null to country and also the news of a keralite lady joinin the US Army
RE:RE:How much important this news is?
by Chilla Mat on Apr 18, 2007 08:30 PM Permalink
Akram kya chakram jaisi baate kar rahe ho..?? and if you are that disturbed abt Pepsi then never drink Pepsi ..Drink ganne ka juice .. Of course people migrate for some kinda gain...that doesnt mean they dont contribute ..You fail to realise it and thats your problem.....First Think , what you contribute for your country..? If you are contributing then people will follow the good act (and in that case you wont have to preach others) and if you are not, read ur lines 100 times....
by Vishal Jadhav on Apr 18, 2007 01:38 PM Permalink
I agree that the news should not have hogged half the page in TOI.
by on Apr 18, 2007 10:16 PM Permalink
hey dude Shailesh, I think you need to meet a shrink. Do u have a heart? If you can, express your condolences for the death of your fellow Indian.This is not time to discuss these issues you jerk. How dare you judge people who are working abroad doesn't contribute anything to India. Do you know that they donate a lot to help the poor here in India? Do you know that they money send back to India is in a way helping the country's economy. Do you know that a jerk like you could get a job becauz these peolple don't compete with for jobs in India. Why do you westeners are out sourcing jobs to India? How do you think they got that trust initially on Indians?
by saunak pandya on Apr 18, 2007 08:51 PM Permalink
100% right Shailesh, When 50000 people died in gujarat earthquake, US newspapers reported it on small coloum. Why should our newspaper uses half page for lost of 33 lives? Unaka khoon khoon or hamara khoon pani?
by rajat on Apr 18, 2007 04:41 PM Permalink
i hope for your family's sake that you are not gunned down someday by a random gunman. you apparently dont understand what had happened.
by Chilla Mat on Apr 18, 2007 08:25 PM Permalink
NaikSaab ....TOI is a newspaper. NEwsmaking is a business . and TOI are there since many decades doing their business. You were not even born THEN. And now you tell them, what they should do.....And you decide which page they should print WHAT..... What a genious...If you didnt like it ,dont read it...Read only Kalam,Murthy etc. and what a logic about low cost education etc etc .. Are you a teacher in the same school where u got your EDUCATION..?? Think Bigger man....Don't just to stuck up one town,one state, region, country....and atleast not when there is tragic event happened...