But damage is already done
by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Apr 07, 2007 02:14 AM   Permalink | Hide replies

First the court ruling, then euphoric reactions from political parties except BJP condemning it has clearly shown how Muslims are pampered in India.

The whole incident is yet another proof to non-Muslims that minoritism is going on in an unprecedented degree.

No wonder, they are now waking up.

  RE:But damage is already done
by Rasheed on Apr 07, 2007 02:20 AM   Permalink
Bhaskarjee, if Muslims are pampered so much in this country, show me proof of their progress. I suppose reservations dont benefit Hindus at all. Now, dont argue that reservations for Hindu castes are not pampering....

by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Apr 07, 2007 02:32 AM   Permalink

Rasheedbhai: Are you referring to Sachar report? Apart from National Sample survey which poked hole in Sachar Report, have you seen latest data published by the Economics Times?

http://www.ibnlive.com/news/new-survey-busts-sachar-panel-report/37856-3.html

New survey busts Sachar panel report

ibnlive.com

New Delhi: The Sachar Committee report depicting "pathetic socio-economic conditions" of Muslims in the country faced a credibility crisis on Friday after a reputed financial daily, The Economic Times, published a survey contradicting the findings of the panel in almost every aspect.

In contrast to the Sachar panel findings, the ET study says Hindus and Muslims are not only very close when it comes to average household income, expenditure or savings, they match each other even in terms of ownership of select consumer goods.

The gap in incomes and savings is almost negligible between the two communities in rural India, the study says. "In fact, it reverses in some cases in favour of Muslims." The report is bound to raise a lot of skepticism about the findings of the Sachar Committee.

Last week, the National Sample Survey Organisation published the seventh quinquennial (occurring every five years) survey of employment and unemployment situation in India, which too indicated a near-equal situation in terms of %u2018self-employment%u2019 opportunities, worker population ratio and even in terms of unemployment rates.

The ET report, on the other hand, is based on the National Council of Applied Economic Research%u2019s (NCAER) data analysis from its National Survey of Household Income and Expenditure (2004-05), which was led by senior fellow Rajesh Shukla.

It contends that the Sikhs are the most prosperous community in India with highest household income, expenditure and ownership of cars, two-wheelers, TV sets and refrigerators. The study puts the average annual household income (at 2004-05 prices) among the Sikhs at Rs 91,153.

Muslims do stand at the bottom as far as income is concerned, but so do the Hindus. As against an annual household income of Rs 61,423 for Hindus, the AHI for Muslims stands at Rs 58,420, for Christians at Rs 70,644 and for others at Rs 101,105.

Which means against an average daily income of Rs 168 in a Hindu household, the daily earning of a Muslim household stands at Rs 160. In rural India, however, the difference is slightly bigger as the annual household income of a Hindu household stands at is Rs 49,077 as against Rs 47,805 in a Muslim household.

The report comes at a time when the Centre was planning a sub-plan as part of the 11th Five-Year Plan proportionate to the population of Muslims on the lines of the one meant for the development of tribals in north-eastern states. The Sachar report had contended that the socio-economic status of Muslims was far behind other communities in India.

The National Household Income and Expenditure survey was based on a sample of approximately 63,000 households spread over 1,976 villages (250 districts) and 2,255 urban wards (342 towns) covering 64 National Sample Survey (NSS) regions in 24 states/UTs.

In terms of expenditure, at Rs 40,327 the average Muslim household, in fact, spends slightly more than a Hindu household, which spends Rs 40,009 a year. The spending of a Sikh household is again the highest at Rs 60,475 while the Christians stand second at Rs 45,291.

The ET report also says that at the national level, Hindu and Muslim households virtually mirror each other on ownership of a host of products %u2014 cars (5.1 per cent and 4.3 per cent ), two-wheeler (35.3 per cent and 31.3 per cent ), refrigerator (17.9 per cent and 15.9 per cent ) and radio (49.5 per cent and 51.3 per cent ). In rural India, Muslim households in fact have an edge in terms of car ownership at 2.6 per cent versus 2.4 per cent of Hindu households.

However, in terms of annual household routine expenditure as a percentage of annual household income, Muslims top the list. They spend 69 per cent of their income on routine household expenditure as against 66 per cent for Sikhs and 64 per cent for Hindus.

RE:RE:But damage is already done
by Rasheed on Apr 07, 2007 02:35 AM   Permalink
Bhaskarjee, my point was about the so called minority appeasement. Reservations for Hindu sub castes, judging by your standards, can qualify as appeasement. Prove me otherwise.

by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Apr 07, 2007 02:49 AM   Permalink

Also never illusion that musglim reservation can be implemeted in India.

Supreme court categorically stated that whole religious categoiry cannot be included as backward.

Even if its put under Art 9, where one cannot challenge it, Muslim reservation will be invalidated by court.

What could be done is, add section of muslims to SC or OBC. But if u want to add them to SC, Mayavati will oppose. If you add it to OBC, Sharad Yadav will oppose.

In any case, if its to be done for muslims, it also have to be done for xtians. Now, xtians will eat the creme, because they are better educated.

Also, religious reservation will catapault BJP in a big big way. They may even get single majority.

In any case, it will spell doom for social tolerance in India.

In those 1000s of villages, where muslims and hindus live side by side peacefully will start exploding.

What can be done

by Rajiv on Apr 07, 2007 03:20 AM   Permalink
Rasheed bhai, for your kind info,many subsects of katuas are also getting reservation

by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Apr 07, 2007 02:43 AM   Permalink

Rasheedbhai: I agree, there should be no reservation for OBC. ALL reservations except SC/ST should be crapped.

But what can we do? Politics is oppurtunism.

CPIM talks about caste all over India, wins with help of that in Kerala. But CPIM never use caste in West Bengal. No party does it.

Mondal was not implemented in West Bengal.

OBC was a political constructed caste, and done great damage to politics of india.

But why Muslims then support Mulayam Singh, a OBC leader?

by Serial Tourist on Apr 07, 2007 02:23 AM   Permalink
India is a country of the Hindus like Pakistan is a country of Muslims. Hindus wrote the constitution themselves and on thier own declared India secular. Now they can very well declare it a Hindu country if they so wish. INdia belongs to Hindus like Pakistan belongs to Muslims. That was what the partition was all about, right?

by Rasheed on Apr 07, 2007 02:27 AM   Permalink
Correction, Tourist, you are touring all the wrong places. India is not a Hindu Rashtra as yet, so hold your horses. And since India has declared itself as a secular democratic nation, it cannot take Islamic Pakistan as a model to emulate. And of course, the Hindutva brigade had no part in framing that constitution. So, lets not even go there.

by Serial Tourist on Apr 07, 2007 02:50 AM   Permalink
Sooner or later, to protect hinduism, we willbe needing another partition. Muslims are not capable of living with others. Then the India that will be left after another partition will be a Hindu rashtra, as militant as Israel to save itself from predators. The way christian conversions are going, it seems Christians will manage to declare Tamil Nade and AP christian states in second partition.

by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Apr 07, 2007 02:40 AM   Permalink

Rasheedbhai: Most Hindus, even many BJP supporters are not anti-Muslims. I have been a CPIM supporter for 2 decades, but I now support BJP.

There are many complex reasons for it.

Example 1: Why people are so euphoric on Post-Godhra but never speak on Kashmir/Bangladesh where half a million and 10 million hindus driven out?

TELL ME IF FEW GODHRA MUSLIMS WERE TO BE FOUND GUILTY, WOULD IT HAVE MADE EVERY INDIAN MUSLIM GUILTY ?

ANSWER IS : NO.

BUT SECULAR BRIGADE AND MOST MUSLIMS NEVER CRITICISE FUNDAMENTALISM AMONST GROWING SECTon OF MUSLIMS.

All these add up slowly.

Why Afzal was not hanged?

Why Vande-maratam is sacrificed to the alter to appease fundamentalist muslims?

Why Laden look alike is used for vote?

Why Madani is to be released?

ITS A CRIME TO ASSOCIATE NORMAL INDIAN MUSLIMS WITH ISSUE LIKE AFZAL - FOR VOTE BANK POLITICS.

IT SECULAR PARTIES WHO ARE GIVING BAD NAME TO PEOPLE LIKE YOU, AND UNNECESSARILY TARNIHISNG, GHETTOIZING PEOPLE LIKE YOU.

but these seculars are so much for votebank, they care little for these and long term damage done to India, societal relationship.

by Rasheed on Apr 07, 2007 02:45 AM   Permalink
The BJP has a purely political motive in exaggerating the insecurity of the Hindus from Muslims and Christians. Its negative propaganda has been thoroughly exposed in Uttar Pradesh, where it was fallen from the heady Babri Masjid demolition days. Today, it is only a bit player, along with Congress.

by Serial Tourist on Apr 07, 2007 02:56 AM   Permalink
"Today, it is only a bit player, along with Congress."

BJP is currently the second largest party in India after Congress. Bjp has only 8 seats less than congress in parliament.

BJP is clearly the future. The idea of India being ruled by HIndu right wings (like all Muslim countries are ruled by Muslim right wing), this idea's time has come and no one can stop it now.

Nehru and Gandhi -- ultra leftists, pacificists and appeasers -- managed to hijack power from nationalists at the last moment. But they have run their course and the Hindu Muslim probelm is still unsolved. It can only be solved by a complete partition, which those scoundrels Gandhi and Nehru did not allow. These idiots managed to gift away land to Muslims and then also kept Muslims in INdia for future trouble. They got Hindus beaten from both sides -- Hindus lost one third of their country and still a susbstantial number of Muslims remained in India to screw their lives. History is not going to forgive these two for their mishcief and lack of strategic insight.

by keshri dwivedi on Apr 07, 2007 04:44 AM   Permalink
very right sir,well said,we hindus are always at receiving end & muslims are being pompered by so called secularist for vote bank,it is high time to think & do something to save hindus,otherwise they will make hindus second class citizen in india also.

by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Apr 07, 2007 02:56 AM   Permalink

I have a coworker who took part in Ayodhya movement.

Once I asked him, yaar, tell me about Ayodhya why many UP people don;t support it anymore though they used to support a decade back.

HE SAID: PEOPLE STILL SUPPORT AYODHYA. BUT AS A TEMPLE ALREADY EXIST THERE, PEOPLE ARE NOT THINKING MUCH ON THAT.

Let that temple be pulled down - and then people will see whether Ayodhya is a issue or not:)-

by Bhaskar Chattopadhyay on Apr 07, 2007 02:52 AM   Permalink

rasheedbhai: on the contrary, I would say, BJP has expanded its influence to a even bigger areas.

Most people seen in different mdeia forums, mostly educated class are now BJP supporter.

I was opposed to BJP, or even Ramjanmabhoomi movement.

But I now support BJP. Many, I would say most middle class, educated class even in West Bengal support BJP.

UP HC stays order on Muslims