views on women entering the shrine where they are prohibited
by kalyani on Jul 05, 2006 03:14 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

sir,
I feel that where women are prohibited entry that needs to be respected as this practice hasnt started overnight and has been existing since ages. People say practices should change according to time. Time hasnt changed any thing its people who are changing
I strongly believe that ladies should not go where they are not allowed and spoil the sanctity. Let ladies gain respect thus.

  RE:views on women entering the shrine where they are prohibited
by sindhuja sudarsan on Jul 06, 2006 11:05 AM   Permalink
Ms. Kalyani,
well written....

by Binil on Jul 05, 2006 05:41 PM   Permalink
What do u mean by sanctity. I do not know the basis of this practice, but I feel a male dominated society created such a ' rule '. Can any one think that God is averse to women and God does not like them visiting their worship place. Does this practice imply that all men vsisting the holy place are pure and does not affect the sanctity of the place.

In historic periods killing a enemy country person was a heroic activity. That was the mentality of the people. Now people are educated, argue for the equality of all, give 50 % reservation to backward people to bring them forward, but still we wish in our mind the old concept of keeping backward people backward itself, women in kitchen and home.

If we insist of maitaining the old practices for the sake of its tradition, then the women folk will be in darkness for ever. We will be cruel in the eyes of God if we do not accept the women, whose life is entirely devoted, dedicated and sacrificed for her parents, husband & children.

I do not ask for a change in the tradition in Sabarimala, but it is happening in all walks of life. We must, at least, have a thought on the problems faced by women and how their life can be improved.

by KIPA on Jul 08, 2006 05:35 AM   Permalink
Subject: Mr. Ramnath Babu

4. & how can you forget the age old wise saying \"Man Changa to Dil mein Ganga\".
Pl. ask why a particular trend or tradition was set, get the answer & most of the times I am sure it would be quite logical. Do not follow blindly any tradition or trend that was created centuries ago & depended on Desh (country), Kaal (time) & Paatra (person).
These discriminatory rules were never created by God. It is high time that all the people of India understands these things and not be taken for a ride. We should try to break these customs which divides us further in the name of Caste, Creed & Gender.
kirangparihar@rediffmail.com

Jai Hind

by M.Praveen on Jul 05, 2006 04:33 PM   Permalink
How come when a woman enters the temple ,sanctuaty is lost.Durga/kali,Saraswati etc are being placed beside Vishnu,SriRam etc and being workshipped.????

by seema on Jul 06, 2006 01:36 AM   Permalink
When we know there is discrimination, we should try and change it. Slavery was considered ok for many decades in the US, but I don't think you would want to defend it in the modern world.

Similarly, it is silly to prevent women from entering into the temple. Obviously, God should be powerful enough, not to give into temptation be the entry of a women, if that is the concern!

by KIPA on Jul 07, 2006 05:01 AM   Permalink
Mr. Ramnath Babu
I disagree with the detailed description given by you of the requirements for the persons to worship a particular deity. Let me put up a pointwise argument and I expect the answers for the same.
1. "Purity" is indeed required for performing pooja or other ceremonies. But can you guarantee that a person will be pure in 41 days. Can't it take little less or more time. And how are you going to measure the purity. Logically your explanation holds no water.
2. Mental "Purity" can also be achieved by dettaching the mind from world & attaching to the GOD. I pray to god for acheiving purity, serenity & moksha. You can never achive your so called mental purity by being celibate or vrat or other things that are related to body. If somebody can explain me how, I am ready to take the test.
3. M.C is a nature of Woman's body which in itself is created by God. In olden days(when such rules were framed), women during their M.C's did not have products that could keep them clean & hygenic as nowadays. They were separated from the rest of the family for that period even in house, leave alone some women going out of the house or to the temple. Do these things apply now.

by Sabyasachi on Jul 05, 2006 05:36 PM   Permalink
Can you explain how entry of ladies can defile a place? And why do ladies need to gain respect from people who mthink that they can defile a place simply by setting their feet there?

by ayush on Jul 06, 2006 03:45 PM   Permalink
mehdi,
will u teach me english. seriously.no kidding.when and where can we meet.please do send a line.

by karuna on Jul 06, 2006 10:58 AM   Permalink
from ur name i feel that u r a woman and u too support ban on entry of women in temples. i would say shame on such women coz todays times are such when all women need to be united and fight for themselves and people with such opinions become the cause of suffering of women.

by Gayathri Chakravarthy on Jul 10, 2006 02:46 PM   Permalink
Hey Ranbir,

Though you need to pick on your vocab, I have yet another comment to make.. For the lady who gave you birth, fed you day & night to make you stand and walk, she certainly should be ranked equal to GOD. Mebbe women need contemplate leaving male children on the steps of Sabarimala temple..wat say everyone there ??

by Ramanath Babu on Jul 06, 2006 03:32 PM   Permalink

Before ccommenting, people like Karuna should know whatn are the traditions of Sabarimala. To enter into the temple through the 18 steps, one has to take up 41 days strict penance (vrat. During this period, one is supposed to drink even a drop of water only after taking bath in the morning. Even Malayalees live in NOrther part of India (in Delhi & elsewhere) take bath twice a day, during DEcember-January when temperature down to 4 or 5 degree in North. As part of Vrat, one is expected to abstain from sex, and complete purity both physically and mentally has to be observed. A fertile woman can never undertake such vrat, as her period cycle is 28 days and therefore, she will not be able to complete the 41 days vrat. The fact that girls below the age of 10 and women of over 50 are allowed entry into the temple is ample proof that it is not an issue of gender bais.

Babu

'Aren't women human beings?'