Reservation
by John P on Aug 30, 2006 08:59 AM   Permalink | Hide replies

I agree that reservation should be removed, but again we must see that more than 50% people are below poverty line... if we ignore those people then it will lead to nothing but civil war. Already we are facing issues on Naxalites, etc....

  RE:Reservation-come out of the pond and look around
by uma t.s.rao on Aug 31, 2006 12:55 PM   Permalink
Dear Amrit,
r u in your senses talking like this? Answer my Qs sncerely - will u send your loved ones 2 a doctor who has become one through Quota system even though he had minimum marks?
How can u talk like this man when even that Great Visionery like Babasaheb Ambedkar said we need reservation for 10 years only. And he came from what is called backward class and knew what he was talking about. Are u a politician to talk like this? think of the nation man. Today there are so many opportunities that every body irrespective of class, caste or religion can study and make progress without reservation.Money and material help is available to every body who is sincere.
Come out of the pond and look around you.

  RE:Reservation
by Sumedh Kamble on Aug 31, 2006 02:02 PM   Permalink
Thos who feel there caste is not getting reservation they can chnage their caste and take reservation. Nobody has stopped a Brahmin to become Scheduled Caste! In public ceremonies renouce your caste and join lower castes !

by Amrith on Aug 31, 2006 08:44 AM   Permalink
Mr Ajay, a lower caste guy turning an engineer makes a lot of difference. It opens doors of respect and dignity for them. Again govt should allow only 10% reservation anywhere. I am completely against 50% or more reservation. Thats asking a bit too much. Mr Srinivas, my claims are based on peoples list I have seen in the local clubs abroad. Its a true fact that upper caste people have dominated here. Again your claim of reservation is baseless. The truth actually is that reservation is closely tied with caste. Abolish cast and reservation will fade away. Are you ready to accept a caste less society? Do you have the guts to marry someone from a lower caste ( after 59 years as you quoted before?) If yes we dont need reservation anymore. Sadly our politicians may be unhappy. The future of our nation lies in casteless society.

by Balan Menon on Aug 30, 2006 01:18 PM   Permalink
Dear Friend,
Well, I appretiate the comments. However, why don't you agree the fact that there are backward community people holding high positions in the community, who do not deserve reservations anymore and that still more than 50% of the so called upper class are still below the poverty line, who really do need reservation inorder to pursue good education and job to feed his family. Do you mean the son/daughter of a backward community Doctor/Engineer/Dy. Collector(thanks reservation) still need a reservation. Why do you close your eyes when we say that the reservation be applied to all jobs and higher education based on the economic level and not based on caste. Do you think, even if caste based reservation is extended for another century, there will be an arranged marriage between a so called backward community and upper community. This might ever remain the dreams of all Dalits. Even politicians can speak, but they can't put it in practical in the case of their childern. All they say is only for their political gain and the backward also need only to get the sweet extra previlage of reservation, to catch the fish in pond without getting hands wet!!

by Pinky on Aug 30, 2006 01:44 PM   Permalink
Agreed there were and there are still differences as pointed out. But will this quota not instill more animosity towards so-called backward classes? Are all forward castes economically strong? Instead of uniting, will it not divide people further? And this quota system is not new, we are having this for the past 50 years and what have we achieved? Have the economically lower classes been uplifted or only the creamy layer benefitting from this? The intention of the politicians is only the vote bank and not the real upliftment of people, and innocent citizens are getting lured into their trap!

by mahesh on Aug 31, 2006 06:13 AM   Permalink
So, Mr. Srinivas, you are saying the country will progress if there is no reservation. What a joke. We have had this country ruled by upper class people since ages. Why the county has not progressed? How many people graduate from IIT serve this country? Do you even know how much money is spent by the goverment per student per year in IIT?

Mere paas quota hai bhai...