No reservations please...
by Ramaswamy on Aug 30, 2006 11:29 PM   Permalink

I think it is time to step back and realize what we are doing here. This to me goes against the basic notion of "us all being equal" in the eyes of the constitution...at some level this seems illegal. Call me paranoid but this almost smells and feels like a form of "apartheid"...see definition below:
noun
1. (in the Republic of South Africa) a rigid policy of segregation of the nonwhite population.
2. any system or practice that separates people according to race, caste, etc.
Instead of eradicating the divide based on caste, the politicians of today are fueling the fire with such ludicrous policies. The message here seems to be: Here this is what you get for being XYZ caste and this is what you'll not get for being ABC caste. So what next do we end up with reservations for travel also based on which caste you belong to? So called "reservations"...I'd rather like these to be wholly funded scholarships...should purely be based on merit/economic standards and nothing else. All the administrative cost and collective energy spent on this issue can be well utilized otherwise.

Mere paas quota hai bhai...