SECULARISM
by N.C.Das on Aug 26, 2005 05:54 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

I full agree with the writer Ramananda Dasgupta.
Really there is no securalism exist. Those who says they are secular are more fanatic than the so called fanatics.
N.C.Das

  RE:SECULARISM
by dingdong on Aug 27, 2005 02:15 PM   Permalink
venkprasad,

Get a hold on your imagination. Where has the author said anything about Muslim prayers?

You have just used your imagination as an excuse to run riot on Hindu practices. Totally unprovoked!

by Musharraf on Aug 27, 2005 10:54 PM   Permalink
AMOL!

Here we go again. I thought this article was supposed to address the civilised ones, but where on earth are we headed? By the way, you wont find muslims praying 5 times a day on roads. Its only the friday prayers and VERY RARELY mosques are unable to accomodate. By the way you mention this is a wrong doing in your last sentence. Firstly, its the governments responsibility to allocate space for religious activities. And lastly, wrong doing is harm that diwali (NOTE THE FESTIVAL OF LIGHTS NOT CRACKERS) brings to environment, holi (where colors are sprayed on walls, shops - have you imagined how much it would cost an individual or the muncipality to renovate??? Think before you speak!

by Amol on Aug 27, 2005 02:59 PM   Permalink
So Venk... you mean to say doing a festivity once a year and doing it every day 5 times is same right !!! You seem to be one of those elude intelligent class who are responsible for the problems we are facing today, its time that you keep your mouth shut, incase you have problems with festivities try to talk within community to solve them, dont use them to justify wrong doings of others.

by venkprasad on Aug 27, 2005 04:17 AM   Permalink
"Prayers on public roads causing inconvenience to the public should be banned, offenders to be visited with severe penalties"

I think that you mean the muslim friday evening prayers here. If so, you represent a typical one eyed majority approach.

It is actually the hindu festivals that are more "public" in nature and also more inconvenient. In Delhi for instance, there is this jaagran culture where some people would play loud and jarring bhajans on loudspeakers till midnight, without giving any due respect to the sick and elderly in the neighbourhood. In Maharashtra, you don't have a choice but to involve yourself in the Ganesh Chaturti festivities as they are so loud that they would suck you in. In Bengal it is the Durga Pooja and in Gujarat the navaratri that would keep you awake all night, whether you like it or not. So should everyone taking part in these festivities be arrested?

by deepak on Aug 27, 2005 02:48 PM   Permalink
I fully agree with mr dasguptas comments but,in a country,where unfortunately we have likes of V P Singh& others of their ilk, who are the creators of this divide & knowingly promote this, which can result in division of the country, for some votes, this country has no future. Unless our Judiciary /intelectuals/ & captains of industry get up & tell the unscruplous politicians/ bureaucrats tht enough is enough & they cannot destroy this country anymore.As you have rightly mentioned, the weaker section of society, irrespective of his religion/cast etc should be provided free education till secondary level & after that it should be based only on merit.If a economically backward student gets admission on his merit then there should be automatic arrangement where the student gets a loan or all paid scholarship to complete his / her studies.
But the question is whether our politicians will ever allow this to happen ?

by Amol on Aug 29, 2005 05:01 PM   Permalink
Musharraf,

Yes indeed we are civilised, thats why in India "sub kuch chalta hai". And its not just about praying on roads, but the loud speakers which are definitely a sound pollution (apart from the fact that I do not subscribe to the fact of what is being said on them).

If govts are not good enough for doing what they should be doing, then its people who have to take the initiative.

Who needs secularism?