Before I write something about the movie let me give you all a back ground of the "Battle of Thermopylae", which has inspired the graphic novel of Frank Miller, which is the inspiration for this movie. "Battle of Thermopylae" was faught between 300 fine spartan soldiers against persian army of one million slaves. These 300 spartans held the persion army at pass of Thermopylae for 3 days, which gave Greek army enough time for preparation to ensure Greek victory in "Battle of Salamis". Now lets talk about the movie. The movie starts with the birth of Leonidas (Spartan King). Like any other spartan he is also trained to fight and not to surrender and retreat at any cost. When persian king Xerses sends his messenger to Leonidas asking him to surrender to Xerses, it is that training which calls for the battle with Persia. When he is not allowed to go to war against Persia by oracle (thanx to the politics), he decides to take 300 of his finest soldiers and hold the Persian army at the pass of Thermopylae. Everything in the movie has been made to look grand with special effects and well crafted background animations. Background music suits to the mood. Battle scenes are well shot. If you want to look for a great storyline, then change your mind set and watch this movie for the great battle scenes and imagery. This movie has given a new definition to war, it sometimes reminds of the war scenes of LOTR series. If you liked war scenes of LOTR, you will like this too. I would rate this movie as 7 out of 10.
RE:My Review of 300
by roshan rawal on Jun 01, 2007 05:53 PM Permalink
Gaurav Tiwari, you must teach Raja sen how to write a film review! kya gol gol language likhta hai. And that bugger doesn't even have a taste gives 2.5 stars. have you touched even a sowrd in life dude?
by Robin Paul on Mar 19, 2007 03:33 PM Permalink
I would agree with you gaurav... i think its pure enjoyment... the way it fascinates u..is something i liked about the movie
RE:RE:My Review of 300
by arian on Mar 19, 2007 06:51 PM Permalink
Gaurav- GREAT JOB MAN...!! I would read your review rather than reading Raja Sen's review, because you bring out the exact picture into ones mind, irrespective of the person whether he has seen the movie or not. HATS OFF!!!! PANTS ON.... :)
RE:RE:RE:My Review of 300
by Pradeep Kumar on Mar 19, 2007 11:47 PM Permalink
Umm..Sorry to disappoint you Mr. Gaurav. The battle of thermopylae. The battle was not fought between *300* spartans and *one million slaves*. The persians never subscribed to the concept of slaves. Infact, they had totally abolished the slavery system. If anyone had slaves it was the greeks (especially spartans, a fact not shown in film...maybe then all those freedom speeches would not have made an impact). And according to herodetus' estimate the persians numbered about 120,000 and not a *million*. Moreover, the spartans fought along with 700 thebans and a few thousand (less than 5000 in any case) *slaves* . The movie is a complete distortion of history and what's more they are not ashamed of it!!.
by roshan rawal on Jun 01, 2007 05:50 PM Permalink
Lateral thinking Pradeep, proud of you! I too have been reading different souces and they all contradict in terms of size of Persian Army. You seem to be a History stalwart. But yes one thing is for sure, Spartans rocks.
RE:RE:RE:RE:My Review of 300
by approximate boy on Mar 20, 2007 12:24 PM Permalink
They needn't be ashamed coz they never claimed they are portraying history. 3OO ADs from day one called it an adaptation of frank Miller's work
RE:RE:RE:RE:RE:My Review of 300
by Sanjit on Mar 20, 2007 04:59 PM Permalink
Sorry i disagree with ou. They *should* be ashamed of it. Let's say i wrote a *graphic novel* of Indo-Pak war of 1971 and portray Pakis as demons and eight legged monsters, barbarians etc. And i make a movie out of it. Will you still say it's correct to do so? Movie based on comic need not be historically inaccurate. If you use real names, real people and real history then it's your DUTY to be historically as accurate as possible. Sorry the filmmakers of 300 were so blatantly ignorant (?) of this simple fact.
by roshan rawal on Jun 01, 2007 05:49 PM Permalink
Lateral thinking Pradeep, proud of you! I too have been reading different souces and they all contradict in terms of size of Persian Army. You seem to be a History stalwart. But yes one thing is for sure, Spartans rocks.