Do you know only 2 percent of Indian population pays income tax? That means you and I have to bear the burden of running the country. The rest 98 percent either shows low income and gets away scot free or does transaction in cash and cheats the nation. The only way out is to make sure everyone of us pays taxes. Hence, indirect taxes should be kept higher to spread the tax burden equally. Today you pay taxes to the tune of 1 Lac per annum and the same is distrubuted among the vote banks by the politicians as if it's their father's legacies... Moreover do you know that MPs take home tax free salaries!!!! This is in additions to all the commissions they take.... Hence, I fully support the increase of petrol price. In fact it should be totally market driven. Also indirect taxes in all comodities should be increased....
RE:Rmove subsidies increase indirect taxes
by bee suman on Jun 05, 2008 11:09 PM Permalink
wrong. 11.68% of indian population in year 2003 was it payer.
by Dipak Bose on Jun 06, 2008 10:39 AM Permalink
Rs.120,000 Crores of direct taxes are uncollected. Rs.150,000 Crores of loans taken by the rich Indians are uncollected.
all these would be sufficient to cover the subsidies for the public sector oil companies.
Private sector oil companies should be nationalised and their past profits should be confiscated for the public.
The Government earned a fortune from the OIL Pool when the price of oil was low and from the Customs&Excise duties on oil( which is half of the retail price), but it gave these away to the big corporations as tax concessions.
by ugly on Jun 05, 2008 04:45 PM Permalink
Where did you get this percentage ?? Is your percentage correct?? I am really surprised.
by Common Admi on Jun 05, 2008 06:14 PM Permalink
Yes, Mr. Bharat is absolutely correct. It is only the salaried class that gets taxed. Even the big business houses, though they get taxed, but the taxes on their income is much less than what it should actually be because they show a lot of bogus expences.
Their was a proposal earlier that no income tax should be levied on the salaries but sales taxes and other indirect taxes should be increased, which was later shelved.
by Vivekchand on Jun 05, 2008 06:05 PM Permalink
Dear Sir, You are under misapprehension that people are not paying taxes. Have you ever thought that how a person will be able to pay any kind of tax leave alone the income tax when he cannot meet both ends. It is the affluent society who does not give tax. Because they know all sort of ideas to escape from paying taxes to the government. Poor people have no knowledge or ideas so they willy nilly pay the tax or rather government squeeze them and collect the tax from them. Moreover an ordinary person also gives taxes by way sales tax/VAT, etc. whenever he purchase goods or material from a shop.It is actually the rich and the corporates who get away scot free. You need to think sincerely and broadly and not to have a narrow thinking about the poor & middle class people. How come you have rightly said the MPs and others enjoying tax free salaries over and above the commissions and allowances and other funds. Even the public money allotted towards development fund (MPLAD) that too many are pocketing. The recent Writing off of farm loans - do u think is there any genuine beneficiary. This is actually a biggest scam behind this. It is very easy to gamble with others money. Enough money is being collected by way of tax. But it should be put to genuine use. Instead the said money is wasted and stolen by unscrupulous elements. This is known to every one concerned. But keeping a blind eye.
by Rubin Cherian on Jun 06, 2008 06:53 PM Permalink
What Bharat said is true to some extent. Just that the stat isnt 2 % but 20%. The main defaulters are the Big Business houses, the families of the so called infamous, 'everywhere welcomed' NRIs who are 'helping' the country, our dear Polititians...and the burden is borne by the common man...