All talk .. No substance ..
by Prem Kumar on Apr 11, 2008 09:26 AM   Permalink | Hide replies

Last year rediff had article on Car running on water.

News articles talking about technical possibilities are pretty useless.

Some Scientists only talk things.
They never do a damn thing in their life.

Barking dog never bites.
Book writing scientist never does any product in real life.

  RE:All talk .. No substance ..
by hategowdas on Apr 11, 2008 09:42 AM   Permalink
At least these people have brains to write about innovations tell me your contribution towards beautiful world

by Vijai Sharma on Apr 11, 2008 09:47 AM   Permalink
Mr Premkumar,

Every new breakthrough idea looks stupid at startup. 30 years back who thaught that everybody will be keeping phone in pocket ad computer in hand. If you donot understand science then it is better not make comments??

by Sam on Apr 11, 2008 10:07 AM   Permalink
Sir... Please look back at History... who said hand phone could not have been introduced 30 years ago.. it was not done purposefuly... the so called CDMA technology was used in World War 2 itself... what are you talking about Science... when did electricity actually come.. 200 years ago... this world is Multi Million years old and human beings have been living for millions of years now.... All this so called science is pure crap and waste of money... across the world so much money is being wasted in this so called science which generates no direct revenue.... Look at the amount of money we waste in Defence and astronomy... Let us feed people yaar... there are so many who are dying of Hunger... let us look at ground reality rather than appreciating these so called glorified useless scientists

by Vijay on Apr 11, 2008 10:30 AM   Permalink
Feeding hungry people does not get any return. They will only blame you that food is not very tasty. Investing in science will get you returns. Why do you think US is a economic super power. It is their technology and military. It came from these wasteful investment in astronomy.

by Mohammad Ghasletwala on Apr 11, 2008 11:40 AM   Permalink
You are forgetting one most important things. Till hundred year back there were hardly 1 billion humans. Now we are 6 billion. And they all the surviving pretty decently. All because of science. The hunger that you are talking was there 100, 1000, lac years back also. If you see all the history, the world is relatively more peaceful and less hungry that it was in old ages. And all because science. Remember you existence is because of science. What you wrote is because of science. If you don't like science please don't use internet. You are at mercy of science remember. In way science is some incarnation of god (if god exists), please respect that.

by Sam on Apr 11, 2008 12:15 PM   Permalink
am not here to listen to stupid philosophies....

RE:RE:All talk .. No substance ..
by Sanjay Sen Choudhury on Apr 11, 2008 12:30 PM   Permalink
Then talk sense & give us your "Pearls of wisdom" Sam.

by Sanjay Sen Choudhury on Apr 11, 2008 12:28 PM   Permalink
Well said Mohammad G. You can't argue with fools like Sam who are alive today due to science & continue with their day to day activities made easier by science. It all depends on one's outlook. even villagers use science & technology.

RE:RE:All talk .. No substance ..
by sudipta kirans sarkar on Apr 11, 2008 12:48 PM   Permalink
Well said Sanjay!!!. Great Work Prof. Suman Guha Mozumder!!!

by RajneeshChandraMohan Jain on Apr 11, 2008 01:46 PM   Permalink

It might be true lot of innovative breakthroughs looks stupid. But you gotta remember that lot of stupid ideas look stupid also.

http://inwww.rediff.com/money/2008/apr/11elec.htm