From the begining Indian Education System is superior. Indian English also much superior gramitically than English people's english. Once Former Defence Minister Krishna Menon told at Heathru Air Port to English Press People about Indians speaking English "We Indians learnt English Language, where as you people picked up that Language". So our educaion system and that too Engineering are always superior quality. In those days Sir M. Visweswaraiah, Studied Engineering in India only and became the best Civil Engineer in the world. Till today, what he rendered his service in India and that too particularly in Maharastra and Karnataka States is a bench mark for further developments. Now a days our Indian Boys/girls are going to USA to get MS Degree there, (which is not equivalent to our IITs, IISC, BITS PILANI, ROORKI and many more Engineering College Degrees.) just to exhibit the vanity. More than students, their parents. Many Indian Engineering degree Students without getting MS Degree are working in US, since 15 to 20 years with high salary and good positions. Now a days many Indian engineers are coming back to India once for all, which makes in US short of Engineers. There is no other go to them to recognize Indian Engineering Degree. Not only in America,but in entire European countries are also facing this problem.
RE:Indian Engineering Degree
by mpc on Jul 05, 2007 12:27 PM Permalink
"Now a days our Indian Boys/girls are going to USA to get MS Degree there, (which is not equivalent to our IITs, IISC, BITS PILANI, ROORKI and many more Engineering College Degrees.)"
Are you comparing MS degrees in the US with MS degrees from India?
What is your qualification dude?? Have you attended any of teh US institutes?? Dont indulge in self opiniated rants unless you really have done any research on this!!!
One simple question - How many IIT'ian BTechs do their MS & PhD in India?? While IITs are good for undergrad courses mainly because of a high level of academic input and a good faculty - undergrad courses do not need much in terms of research and facilities. When you talk of MS and PhD, you are essentially talking of research. None of the IIT's have that amount of investment as research funds. Our institutes basically "re - search" and that is precisely why bright undergrads from IITs prefer US as their destination for higher studies and research. The selection criteria for admission to IITs for MS is a pathetic GATE exam; those opting for admissions are even moree pathetic...students from nondescript private colleges aiming at getting some brand value under the garb of doing an MS from an IIT. Many of tehm even end up doing household chores for their profs...and you talk of IITs being superior to US univs when it comes to an MS.
RE:RE:Indian Engineering Degree
by sandy shensun on Jul 05, 2007 12:41 PM Permalink
MPC... u suffer from extremely low self esteem!!!! which is typical of desi emigres to US.. for them US is the mecca and they hav no qualms about running down the very country and its educational system which made them what they are.. this is from a student of IIT and MS in US and have seen both sides of the coin.....
RE:RE:RE:RE:Indian Engineering Degree
by mpc on Jul 05, 2007 12:57 PM Permalink
Sandy, fyi, I dont lack any self esteem. I've denounced admits from Ann Arbor, TAMU, Berkeley etcetc, denounced cushy jobs offers outside India. But thats not the point. I dont glorify all US univs...but talking of an MS or PhD, I simply cant buy the thought that a top 10 US univ would be rivalled by an IIT... No not even by miles (I speak of facilities and funds for research here).. And you being from an IIT must be one helluva loser or must have been admitted to one pathetically ranked US univ to think otherwise. And you would not realise that coz academics was not on your agenda. You wanted a job in the US...typical of those who get frustrated in India. Having worked with a few MS candidates from the IIT, I know where many of them stand, even what they did to complete their MS degrees at IIT.
by dg on Jul 05, 2007 01:25 PM Permalink
Have you read an article written by a higher official of TATA groups about IITs B.Tech students. It was published in Hindu.
You people have money so have wonderful JEE coaching for some long time and getting in to IITs and then going to US for higher studies. People who does not have money studying in state board and struggle a lot to get in to IITs for MS and PhD.
If you ask all prof in IITs about M.Tech and B.Tech students then they will always express their angry on B.Tech people and say good about M.Tech people.
These B.Tech people does come to the class and learning nothing and finally placing in a financial company.
If there is 20% of B.Tech people in IITs studying good then it is a wonder for Profs over there. But if even 85% of M.Tech people studying good then it is not a wonder for the same Profs.
Speak with some IIT Prof about the current B.Tech studens
by dg on Jul 05, 2007 01:18 PM Permalink
Dude, Have you ever written GATE. Go to IISc and do your MS or PhD over there.I am sure that you will be kicked off.Getting PhD from IISc is the difficult job. Dude doing MS or PhD in above 50 ranked universities is for better than doing in IITs.
I hope you know Mr.Narayanamoorthy(founder of Infosys)has done his M.Tech in IITK. I hope I dont need to tell about him to you.
One thing that you have to have in your mind that if you are good you can shine. There are some MS students in IITs who is doing for better than B.Tech.
You have to come to IITs and see what these B.Tech people are doing.
by mpc on Jul 05, 2007 04:47 PM Permalink
dg...you have just answered my question...doing PhD from IISc is indeed difficult...or rather made to look difficult...why because you need to satisfy your prof's ego..listen to his tantrums...be a victim of his bias on grounds of region, language, caste...bla bla bla..
Even worse, I've known of cases when a female lecturer had trouble getting her PhD for want of sexual favours from her male guide...
Prof's who are two generations old never like Btechs for they view them as mavericks, they envy Btechs for the salary they get as freshers...not because they are dumb...
Mtechs provide a meek picture...one that is submissive....ready to dance to their tunes...Mtechs help profs in conducting tests, correcting assignments, typing their technical papers...you know more like errand boys...Again this is generalization and there still are outstanding Mtechs too and this generalization excludes Computer Science & Electronics guys & most of the MTechs from IITD/B/K/KGP. Most of the IITM Mtechs suck big time...they not only lack personality but IQ also.
Anyway you know the truth that lies beneath. What more to say?? An yeah it hurts to know the truth.
by dg on Jul 05, 2007 11:35 PM Permalink
It seems you are the great personality of India. You idiot know the fact that IISc Profs papers are recommended for noble lecture.
Don't tell me IIT B.Techs. The top official of TATA company wrote a article that now a days IIT BTech students dont even know the fundamental of Science.
I know how you people entering in to IIT at B.Tech level. It does not simply telling their knowledge instead it tell about their wealth. What ever knowledge that you guys get is just artificial.
You B.Tech people does not have time to attend the class and have more time to watch blue film in the hostel.
by kundan kumar on Jul 05, 2007 01:30 PM Permalink
Are you crazy dg?....How can you even dream of comparing M.Techs with B.Techs....?..On surface..may be you get these feelings..what these B.Techs are doing and all....just think of your quality and their quality..there is simply no comparison...You should not be foolish enough to compare GATE with JEE....I appreciate your need for self-esteem and self-confidence..but acquire it through truth and not through motivated manipulations of some careless observations....Of course..I never studied in B.Tech. in IIT...but I did my M.Tech. from IIT Delhi.
by dg on Jul 05, 2007 01:45 PM Permalink
Oh. I thing you are the most intelligent. Dude, preparing four years for JEE by spending more than 5 lakhs money and finally getting in to IITs is not a big deal. Entrance exam are meant to test your knowledge and preparing like this and writing exams is completely not making any sense. Where ever you go what is important is your knowledge. I dont know about IITD. I do have done my course work with dual degree people and B.Tech(Final year) people and I really wonder by seeing the knowledge that they have. If you are a Chem Engg then I can give some example.
There are so many people from M.Tech level getting good job and going to better place for their Phd when compare to B.Tech people.
Are you mad that you don't believe the knowledge rather than just a Brand name. There are so many people at M.Tech level doing far better than B.Tech people. Atleast in IITM. Come to IITM and see.
Dont you read my lines about Infy founder. Still you are just talking about just the brand name(B.Tech IIT).
by Karthik Karthikeyan on Jul 05, 2007 01:47 PM Permalink
There is some spelling mistake. In first line It should be I think.
by Karthik Karthikeyan on Jul 05, 2007 01:54 PM Permalink
By mistake I have written like that. It should be I think in first line
by mpc on Jul 05, 2007 05:27 PM Permalink
dumb dumb...
i)I dont know of today's GATE but the GATE of yesteryears was indeed pathetic...it was sort of a replica of an IES exam. I mean arent you doing specialization within a particular branch when you want to pursue an MS. Why on earth should you cram/remember unrelated stuff of all eight semesters when you want to know something which is very specific or you are clear about what kind of research interests you. Dont compare GATE & GRE. GRE & TOEFL are only tools to establish that the guy is fit to study in US- i.e. knowledge of written/spoken English or rather lack of it is not an impediment to his taking the course and he has the bare minimum quant aptitude.
I don't say that the US system of admission is fool proof but the intentions are right...Your SOP matters a lot...atleast the admission council knows which direction you are headed towards..
ii) No offense towards private colleges..its is democracy afterall...I lament the lack of number of good insti's. Though I personally feel these private institutes are an enormous national waste...What I hate is passouts from pvt colleges who go on to do their MS from IIT's or NITs when asked where did they pass out out from never reveal where they did their BTech from but promptly mention IIT. Whom are they cheating afterall?? The gap b/w IIT BTech and IIT MTech is huge.....accept it...even the faculties know that..even you know that.
iii) they (top 1000 JEE rankers) dont need to cram stuff like you morons coz the
by mpc on Jul 05, 2007 05:32 PM Permalink
iii) they (top 1000 JEE rankers) dont need to cram stuff like you morons coz their faculties are well oiled and they can think out of the box. And dont tell me they dont remember their branch. Those inclined towards acads anyhow pursue their PhD from the top 5 US univs...but how would you have known this....you would have been busy cramming for GATE...not that the BTechs would have interacted with you anyway.
iv) I dont intend to do my MS from an IIT...I've been fortunate enough to have been exposed to stuff which could qualify close to research in IIT in the first few years of my career and I managed to outshine collegaues who were IITM MS/MTech...I'll leave it for the losers
by Krishna on Jul 05, 2007 01:00 PM Permalink
Hi MPC, btw, did u get thru GATE exam? How much do u know abt it? it is much more tougher than going thru GRE & Toefl and somehow managing to get an admission and fellowship in a US university. I know one of my friends who passed his BE with lot of difficulty in clearing his subjects(in many subjects, he appeared twice or thrice. And later managed to get admission in US after wasting 1 year. He finally is an MS. I am sure he wouldn't have thought of attempting GATE and he would be the first person to confess it.
by max on Jul 05, 2007 12:07 PM Permalink
i agree we take it as education and other side world they make education as business and create a hype about there standards.