I watched Guru movie recently and to be frank I was very disappointed with the movie. It's OK (average) kind of movie but nowhere near Classic. The climax was really aweful. It definitely copied the scenes of Aviator movie in which the arguments go for more then 1/2 hour. It was so horrible to see in 4 1/2 minutes he is able to change the complete views of judges which is truly a INDIAN HERO story (usual stuff).
There are many scenes which were not required at all for the story. It starts well but not so good on ending.
It was very sad to see how GURU becomes successful and profitable by cheating on government. There must have been a better way.
There are many people in the world where the business are successful with family related people.
I would recommend all to watch Aviator if you haven't so far.
RE:Guru Movie and Family
by yalla on Feb 05, 2007 11:15 PM Permalink
Well I think you need to see movie once again, he didnt change the view of judges, he had to pay for 2 cheatings, which were proved against him. He was just telling them how the actual system is.. Nobody is listening to newcomers. You know my suggestion is.. Keep watching it until you understand it.. Like you know in indian school they used to punish you for your good to read/write a lesson 5-10 times.. just like that.. Believe me its for your own good.. You will get it..
RE:RE:Guru Movie and Family
by Lakshmi Narasimhan Deenadhayalan on Feb 06, 2007 12:06 AM Permalink
What you said abosulutely correct.the film showed how he become a great business tycoon from a difficult situation. It showed how red tape in india affects business growth. Due to reliance lakhs of common benifited a lot and country benifited a lot. I hope that our government policies are changing and bocoming industry friendly.
RE:RE:RE:Guru Movie and Family
by Ravi Sastry on Feb 06, 2007 12:24 AM Permalink
the movie is bull shit, honestly, if you understand movie making and keep track of hollywood movies, any TDH can tell that the court scene was taken directly from AVIATOR. though the court scene of AVIATOR is really good, in GURU you start thinking of amitabh instead of guru bhai or abhishek. whats the need for GURU to immitate Amitabh Bacchans style ? do you call it acting ? actors should get into the mindset of the protogonist and theres something called originality which is lacking. can you call GURU as a model ? is this what Dhirubhai really did ? cheat the Govt and made money for self and share holders ? if so, nothing gr8 about it. even i can cheat and make money, wheres the morality ? FYI...watch AVIATOR and better, watch Pursuit of Happyness, now will smit shows what acting is all about. you dont have to shout on-screen to show your passions and emotions, its the power of expressions and the feelings and the manner in which you convey them. Bollywood seriously lacks it. why the hell cant bollywood come up with really good original stuff ? i was totally dissappointed to see this GURU movie in NY halls. Abhi, sorry, i didnt enjoy your 'acting' and thumbs down to yet again flop director Mani Ratnam.
RE:RE:RE:RE:Guru Movie and Family
by AA on Feb 06, 2007 12:41 AM Permalink
Yes, Ravi, I completely agree with you. There are many movies(not only holywood but also non-english) now which are giving strong performances even with a simple story. Movies like Miss Little Sunshine is the best example you can get.
Movies like Babel, The Persuit of Happyness, Little Miss Sunshine, Children of Men, Take the Lead, Walk the line are the best movies to support this.
Mani Ratnam at the end turned out to be a COPYCAT and interested in making only commercializing. Where is MANI we seen in Bombay, Roja.
Bollywood needs
Originality, Movies with no commercial aspect, No multistarrer (Only for getting the basic revenues and all else bull shit), More practical aspects of life n Society, Movies in the perspective of a common man and not NRIs, crazy rich people.
AND MANY MORE..........
Hope for better movies from bollywood in the remaining 2007.